We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views But Filthy Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Woodstock, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views But Filthy Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We chose the Westin despite its $270 per day price, because of the brand and the hotel's location near the French Quarter and Riverwalk. The hotel actually begins on the 11th floor. We were impressed by its sweeping views of the French Quarter and the Mississippi River. Unfortunately, most of the chairs and sofas in the lobby were heavily stained and clearly had never been cleaned. A coffee table had a broken leg than nearly collapsed on my friend's foot. The room was no cleaner. Everything looked dirty, shopworn and in sore need of replacement. The hotel also had grossly inadequate elevator service which meant the people left coffee cups, soda cans, etc. lying around during the wait for the elevator which often exceeded 10 minutes! Service in the bar and dining room was fine, despite a waitress dropping TWO trays of dishes and knocking over a room divider. The concierge was friendly and helpful. No complaints at all about the staff, but the place was inexcusably dirty.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel if cleanliness matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    302
    163
    83
    58
See reviews for
136
232
61
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for three nights at the Westin Canal Place. The location is unique as it's directly on top of a very nice, luxurious shopping mall. We were in town for a convention, and it's about a 15 minute walk to the farthest end hall of the convention center (we were in "D" I believe). So, not too bad. The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful in suggesting things to do in the city with a 2-year old. We settled on the Audubon Zoo and had a great day, when not attending the convention.
The Westin itself was just OK. The air conditioner rattled all night, and so they moved our room the next day and EVENTUALLY gave us a substantial monetary credit to make up for it (when initially offering an insulting sum). It's above a standard hotel, but not much. Somewhere sandwiched between 3 and 4 star. I'd never intentionally seek out that Westin again, but it was OK.

Room Tip: A room facing the river is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Try to take advantage of their special rates. We found it on a blind bid. I have seen this property for years and was totally surprised at how The Westin out performed in every category. A first class facility and a super location for ease in seeing the French Quartet. Staff was friendly and most helpful. Service was prompt. No complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Yes the elevators seem to be an issue loud guest in the halls at all hours and drunk doesnt help i had to park my SUV across the street and for$30 a day verses $18 at the hotel it would not fit in their parking low 6-4 clearance . The hotel location is great and the room was nice and room service good too i would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The lobby and rooms are very nice, the rooms are a good size with nice decor, super clean, with a good size bathroom but the lighting in the bathroom is the worst for a woman that I have ever seen. They use super bright florescent lighting which shows every flaw! The A/C uses an old water cooler type of system and you can only have either hot air or cold air but you cannot switch back and forth. New Orleans was hot in the daytime and freezing at night so we had to call maintenance each day and night to have it manually switched back and forth between heat and AC....also only two out of four elevators were working and one of the maintenance men told us that it is an everyday issue. The hotel has three sets of elevators, one for parking, one for the rooms and another to get down to the street level. This makes for lots of wasted time at the elevators especially since they don't work half the time. We were on the 26th floor so the stairs would not have been convenient either. But the staff was extremely kind and helpful in apologizing... we were given 4 free drinks in the bar as well as 2 free breakfasts for the inconvenience. The price per night was also extremely inexpensive so overall it turned out to be a very nice stay in a very nice hotel. The location is great too, all the attractions can be walked to easily. If they fix the a/c and the elevator problems then it would get 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

During our recent stay in December 2012, the elevators were being repaired and had not been in full servcie for the past month. There were waiting times as long as 20 minutes for the elevator, and hotel management avoided any discussion of the problem. Rooms are in the average range; clean, a bit dowdy. Breakfast buffet is quite nice. Location is on the edge of the French Quarter. On the whole, the Monteleone is more attractive and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a reservation for a busy Saturday; Arrived at 2PM and had to wait until 5PM for a handicapped accessible room to be cleaned. Entered the non-smoking room to be overwhelmed by stale cigarette smell and a bathroom door difficult to open. Trying to clear out the smell with the AC only to find it did not work. The hotel had no other HA rooms available to move us. They fixed the AC the next morning and deoderized the room which only lasted one night. One would think that the cleaning crew would have reported a broken air conditioner, badly fitting bathroom door and smelly carpet/drapes. Only 1-2 elevators worked most the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about the experiences you encountered. We have a 100% smoke-free policy and when it is violated we do all we can to refresh and create a safe, smoke-free environment. We appreciate your feedback on our air conditioning system. We have informed our maintenance and engineering department of your concerns and they are currently working toward a solution.

Your business is very important to us. Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Warmest regards and Happy Holidays,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
Westin New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Amex, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.