We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best kept secrets in New Orleans.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #94 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best kept secrets in New Orleans.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Try to take advantage of their special rates. We found it on a blind bid. I have seen this property for years and was totally surprised at how The Westin out performed in every category. A first class facility and a super location for ease in seeing the French Quartet. Staff was friendly and most helpful. Service was prompt. No complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    273
    173
    71
    36
See reviews for
142
209
33
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Yes the elevators seem to be an issue loud guest in the halls at all hours and drunk doesnt help i had to park my SUV across the street and for$30 a day verses $18 at the hotel it would not fit in their parking low 6-4 clearance . The hotel location is great and the room was nice and room service good too i would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The lobby and rooms are very nice, the rooms are a good size with nice decor, super clean, with a good size bathroom but the lighting in the bathroom is the worst for a woman that I have ever seen. They use super bright florescent lighting which shows every flaw! The A/C uses an old water cooler type of system and you can only have either hot air or cold air but you cannot switch back and forth. New Orleans was hot in the daytime and freezing at night so we had to call maintenance each day and night to have it manually switched back and forth between heat and AC....also only two out of four elevators were working and one of the maintenance men told us that it is an everyday issue. The hotel has three sets of elevators, one for parking, one for the rooms and another to get down to the street level. This makes for lots of wasted time at the elevators especially since they don't work half the time. We were on the 26th floor so the stairs would not have been convenient either. But the staff was extremely kind and helpful in apologizing... we were given 4 free drinks in the bar as well as 2 free breakfasts for the inconvenience. The price per night was also extremely inexpensive so overall it turned out to be a very nice stay in a very nice hotel. The location is great too, all the attractions can be walked to easily. If they fix the a/c and the elevator problems then it would get 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

During our recent stay in December 2012, the elevators were being repaired and had not been in full servcie for the past month. There were waiting times as long as 20 minutes for the elevator, and hotel management avoided any discussion of the problem. Rooms are in the average range; clean, a bit dowdy. Breakfast buffet is quite nice. Location is on the edge of the French Quarter. On the whole, the Monteleone is more attractive and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a reservation for a busy Saturday; Arrived at 2PM and had to wait until 5PM for a handicapped accessible room to be cleaned. Entered the non-smoking room to be overwhelmed by stale cigarette smell and a bathroom door difficult to open. Trying to clear out the smell with the AC only to find it did not work. The hotel had no other HA rooms available to move us. They fixed the AC the next morning and deoderized the room which only lasted one night. One would think that the cleaning crew would have reported a broken air conditioner, badly fitting bathroom door and smelly carpet/drapes. Only 1-2 elevators worked most the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about the experiences you encountered. We have a 100% smoke-free policy and when it is violated we do all we can to refresh and create a safe, smoke-free environment. We appreciate your feedback on our air conditioning system. We have informed our maintenance and engineering department of your concerns and they are currently working toward a solution.

Your business is very important to us. Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Warmest regards and Happy Holidays,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am platinum for life with starwood and have 100 nights in their hotels this year so I know what a hotel is supposed to be.

I was invited back to this hotel by the management to make up for the bad experience I suffered here in September.

I stayed here 5 nights and It was worse this time! There was a dog barking in the adjoining room! Security came up to verify that there was indeed a barking dog. In violation of Hotel rules ,the owners had not told the hotel of the dog or complied with the hotels rules to register the animal.

Not only did the hotel not stop the barking,they didnt even throw the people out of the hotel.

I got to spend 24 hours with a barking dog!.

I wouldnt stay in this hotel for free!

Room Tip: do not stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Please accept my most sincere apologies for the disturbances you experienced on your recent stay with us. We understand that our guests want to unwind and relax and we understand your disappointment by not being able to do. Your business and continued loyalty, as a Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest, are very important to us. We would like to do all we can to welcome you again in the future.

If you would like to discuss your concerns any further, please contact me at yourexperience@westinneworleans.com

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Do not go to this hotel until they replace their old elevators. They have replaced one, but on a recent stay at the hotel, the other three constantly malfunctioned (not stopping at floors to pick up passengers primarily). The elevator lobby would fill before an elevator would stop. Guests started getting on when one stopped without regard to the direction (if you wanted to go up, but the elevator that stopped was going down, then you'd get on, ride to the bottom and go back up; if you wanted to go down, you'd get on the one going up, ride to the top and then go down). Guests were in an uproar for the 3 days I was there!

Fitness center under renovation, so equipment was in a meeting room--no shower or other facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I am very sorry to hear about your recent experiences with our elevators. We are currently undergoing an elevator modernization project which will drastically improve their speed and consistency. We appreciate your patience during this time of progress.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Amex, AAA Travel Services, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.