We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of NOLA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #87 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
McComb, MS
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of NOLA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was great! Very helpful valet named Don! He was great! The views from the rooftop were the best! The roof also has a heated pool, that was awesome. The bed were top knotch. Everything about this hotel was tops, from the front desk to the shower heads. I may never stay in another hotel in NOLA again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your compliments on our staff at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us, especially the Heavenly Bed and Bath, our heated rooftop pool and the service.

We can't wait to welcome you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    387
    217
    85
    45
See reviews for
215
288
45
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the Westin nearly every time I visit the Big Easy. I went with a girlfriend in October for the Chargers/Saints game and stayed for 4 nights. How disappointing this trip was most particularly the game score (Chargers lost) but also the condition of the Westin The room which always has a nice view, had worn and dirty furniture (I even took pictures), not all the bath products stocked and unplugged lamps that the cords were impossible to even find to reconnect. We also had no robes or slippers. On the last day of our stay we came back in the afternoon to get ready for dinner to find a letter on our desk stating that the health department had issued a warning that we could not drink the water or even SHOWER for 24 hours or until futher notice! It went on to say that the hotel had water available in bottles if we needed any. But why had they not let any in our room at that point? We had to trek down to the lobby and wait with others in a rationing line to get 2 bottles = small ones. Even though the water issue was not the hotel's fault, one would have thought at nearly $250 per night that we would have been treated better or that thought would have been given to how to better compensate the guests.

The Westin was also hit with the last hurricane and lost rooms and windows so the lobby and other areas smelled of paint and who knows what else. I think we should have received an email from the hotelin advance letting us know of the damage and the problems it would cause to deteremine whether we wanted to stay or not but we did not.

Starwood needs to make a big investment in upgrading the Westin in NOLA - it is still a great location but we won't be back until we hear things are back in order.

Room Tip: The higher the better with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your continued loyalty to the Westin brand and we apologize immensely for your recent disappointment. To begin, we apologize that the health department warning occurred during your stay. In instances like this, we do all we can to lessen your inconveniences and provide our guests with the essentials. Moving forward, we will certainly take your concerns into consideration. Secondly, we appreciate your business in the wake of recent Hurricane Isaac. While we did experience the brunt of the storm, we were able to remain open and work through the circumstances. As a result, we are currently updating and improving many areas of the hotel including new carpets, refreshing the spacious, well-appointed lobby and modernizing the elevators. We appreciate your understanding and patience and invite you to consider staying with us again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This Westin is a very clean and comfortable facilities. I do disagree with the other reviews where the place has out-of-date rooms. I used one of my suite night upgrades and was able to be upgrades to very spacious suite that had French doors to the bed and an amazing view of the Mississippi.

I will add this Westin does lack some amenities and service seen at other Westin properties. 1) my suite did not come stocked with water (free or for sale) and there was no regular sugar in the coffee tray, 2) there were no towel racks in the shower room (so I had to walk out to the bathroom out-cove), 3) the elevators are the slowest and the most dinged up cars I have ever seen, and 4) during check-in the front-desk actually gave me a room that was already occupied.

I don't mean to be nit-picky, but these are noticeable things that may cause drama to high maintenance individuals. I found all of these things minor, except for the elevator issue. This was an issue since I was in NO for a local wedding, a group was there for the color run, and couple were there for a wedding. There's a third party parking across of the entrance so car logistics are great, but having to use 2 elevators to get from room to ground any bottlenecks can delays and nuisances.

I would recommend this hotel for any circumstance. The location is prime for shopping, close to the ferry and port, far enough from Bourbon, yet close enough for the antique shops of the French Quarter.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your suite upgrade and the views of the river. Please accept my apologies for some of the experiences you encountered; inconsistencies with room amenities and the delays with the elevators. I have notified our Housekeeping department of your comments and we are working toward a heightened attention to detail to ensure our guests satisfaction. Additionally, we are undergoing an elevator modernization project which will drastically improve their speed and consistency. We appreciate your patience during this time of progress.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This property is well situated in downtown New Orleans. It is attached to a shopping center, across the street from Harrah's Casino, on the river and on the edge of the French Quarter. The staff was helpful and friendly. The property is currently undergoing a rennovation which does make the elevators run a little slow. Carpeting needs replacing but that is part of the rennovation. Our room was spacious and had a nice view of the river. We ate breakfast in the restaurant twice and the service was great as was the buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your detailed review of the The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We're glad you enjoyed our very convenient location as well as our helpful and friendly staff. We appreciate your understanding and patience while we transition and make necessary improvements to ensure our guests loyalty.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our refreshed hotel on your next visit!

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans LA.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We are from New Orleans and wanted to have a stay cation. we do this from time to time.The hotel is out dated. The location is pretty good but you will hear train horn because it is right by the train tracks. The elevators have to be the worst ever and dirty. We had to ask for a different room because of the fumes of paint and all of the materials were outside of our room. From the time we check in and the time we checked out we had dealings with five different front desk clerks. This hotel needs to change staff ASAP. So rude and not polite. When I went back to work friends asked me how was the hotel all I could say is I would not stay at the Westin. This great city has a lot better hotels to pick from. I hope they can get a new staff before The Super Bowl. We are not people who are hard to please.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the experiences you encountered, especially with service. Your concerns are very important to us and have been addressed with the appropriate departments. In addition, we are currently undergoing an elevator modernization project which will drastically improve their speed and consistency. We appreciate your patience during this time of progress.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Everything at the Westin Canal Place was wonderful (surprisingly so ...). I was there participating in a dance competition and did not have high expectations. BUT ... the room was huge and beautiful, with a lovely view. The staff at the hotel could not have been more accommodating, even going in search of the mini pain au chocolat I had loved at breakfast the day before when it was not on the pastry tray! When I asked for milk for the coffee, they brought it and poured for me. The banquet food was much better than most, spicy New Orleans fare at one dinner and a tasty, medium-rare filet mignon with a piece of Dijon chicken at another. The facilities were top notch as well. The only confusing part was the different elevator banks that went to different floors, but there was always someone around to point me in the correct direction if I appeared unsure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. I'm glad you enjoyed the Grand Ballroom for your dance competition as well as the food and banquet staff. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and we're thrilled to have exceeded your expectations.

We can't wait to welcome you on your next visit to New Orleans.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Perfect location a block from Canal Street just at the corner of the French corner. The rooms are large, spacious, great view of the Mississippi River, beds are fantastic. Service is prompt with classic southern hospitality. One surprise I had was the brilliance of the restaurant: the food is excellent and the view is great. 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your compliments on the southern hospitality you experienced at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We're thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay and our location as well as the food in our restaurant. Our Executive Chef will be quite honored!

We can't wait to welcome you again on your next visit to New Orleans

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#15 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
French Quarter
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,351 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Starwood, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.