We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #91 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very nice hotel in a good location. Excellent staff & well managed. Easy excess to French Quarters, River Walk & Casino.

Room Tip: upper floors any direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your compliments on our staff; I am glad they were able to assist you. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed the location of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place and access the to the sights of our city.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    321
    199
    79
    41
See reviews for
168
242
40
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The biggest thing the Westin has going for it is the view from the lobby. It's probably one of the best in the city. It's a good location, walking distance from the French Quarter. The restaurant I cannot vouch for because I did not eat there. There is a very cool green lounge there that is worth a stop before heading out.

The hotel room (King) was of reasonable size and clean enough. The property seems a bit worn and dark when you are anywhere from the lobby. The hallways are tired. You will have what you need in a good location, but if you are looking for something with some 'charm', I might recommend you keep looking. Good for a business traveler who does not care about such a thing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are glad you found our location to be convenient to the sights and attractions of New Orleans and that you could see it all clearly from our lobby and guest rooms. We're also happy to hear you stopped by The Green Bar; we hope you enjoyed one of our specialty cocktails from our brand new menu.

Thank you for the feedback on the conditions of our hallways, it is very useful as we are prepare to make improvements in the future. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Top Contributor
668 reviews 668 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
565 helpful votes 565 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The location of the Westin is very good, just one block away from the aquarium, just on top of the shopping center and a 5 min walk to Jackson Square.

The public areas are impressive, with large windows over the french quarter, all clean but with some marks and tear and wear.

The staff was friendly and attentive and helpful wth advice about NO.

The breakfast buffet is overpriced if you buy it extra but in case it is included, a nice selection of cooked and cold items with lots of fruit will wait for you, again with the wonderful view.

The rooms are as expected from a Westin large, a very nice and comfortable bed, all amenities you expect form Westin are too be found. All was clean and the view over the river was a huge wow effect.
In the end, the three point rating is due to the thinness of the rooms and the resulting lack of sleep quality. You could literally hear the people in the room next to you undress and every word spoken (TV!) came through pretty clear. If you are a light sleeper, not a hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. I am thrilled you enjoyed our location and the stunning views from the lobby, restaurant and guest rooms; it truly is a "Wow" factor.

Please accept my apologies on the noise level; we are sorry you did not feel well-rested as a result. We will do what we can to make your sure your next stay with us is as relaxing and rejuvenating as possible.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltona fl
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The view is fantastic. Location to the quarter is perfect. Parking is steep 36$ a night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed the location and views at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location is great but this hotel is DEFINITELY NOT up to Westin standards. I honestly am shocked it still has a AAA four diamond rating. The public areas are falling apart. Libby elevator broken entire stay with doors stuck half open. Definitely not inviting. Every elevator had dents in the doors and wallpaper was peeling all over.

I will say the rooms look updated. They're fine but nothing special. Not as cozy and upscale as other Westins I've stayed in.

Service was average. Not mean but not especially nice either.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
I'm sorry to hear our hotel did not meet your expectations or standards. I apologize for the inconvenience our elevators may have caused due to the maintenance being performed during your stay. Your business is very important to us and we'd like to know what we can do to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place has a couple of strong things going for it and a couple of things holding it back. First the good. Location. As far as large name brand properties go, the Westin is in a terrific location. Close enough to Bourbon Street, but not so close that you get the street noise and foot traffic. The hotel is also very close to the Algiers Ferry and Harrah's Casino and situated on top of small shopping mall anchored by a Saks Fifth Avenue. Because it is located on top of the shopping mall, the hotel's lobby is on the 11th floor of the building which makes for a terrific lobby view, but a slow elevator experience. You have to catch the elevator to the lobby, then another elevator to your room. We were visiting the Westin with the Kiwanis International Convention, which made some elevator waits unbearable. Management should have been more aware of the convention schedule and directed guests to use the service elevators temporarily in addition to the regular elevators. This would have sped up the wait time. The rooms themselves were standard issue Westin with nice bathrooms and their signature bedding. The hallways could stand a little paint and the carpet is dues for replacement. We didn't use the pool or room service, so no comment on those. The wellness center was average. Embassy Suites are really setting the trend for high-end fitness centers, so Westin should take a que from them. This gym had the essentials, but nothing more. Because of the unusual layout of the hotel, the gym is on the 14th floor and the pool is on the top floor. I prefer that these two amenities be co-located, but there isn't much they can do about that now. Generally a nice property with a great location. The hotel should pay more attention to details (paint chipping, worn carpet) though...do that and this place would be top-notch.

Room Tip: High floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a most descriptiive review of your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to have the Kiwanis Convention members stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and view from our lobby yet I apologize for the delays you experienced with our elevators. Your feedback is very important to us as we are continually improving areas of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The beds were absolutely fantastic- clean and comfortable. The room was very clean and we had a nice view over the Mississippi. The service was lacking and food overpriced. The amenities were sub par- no continental breakfast was included in the room price as most 4 Diamond locations. I could've gone to a Days Inn to receive a better breakfast- one that didn't consist of bruised fruit and a biscuit sandwich. Our keys had also been demagnetized several times and wouldn't work for the pool door on several occasion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our Heavenly beds as well as the view from your guest room. Please accept my apologies on the quality of your breakfast as well as the sensitivity of your guest room keys. Your feedback is very important to us as we continue to ensure, provide and serve the freshest of all ingredients and offerings. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.