We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant hotel room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Q&C Hotel

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Q&C Hotel to your Saves list
Q&C Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   344 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Queen & Crescent Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unpleasant hotel room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room smelled of previous human inhabitation! Wallpaper was peeling in some places. Mildew around the bathtub. The bedroom was dark enough that even the cleaning crew missed a couple of items belonging to the previous occupants. The wifi in my room oscillated between 1 and 0 bars--so usage was pretty-much impossible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    154
    129
    112
    145
See reviews for
60
210
36
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is small but has as much charm as any other hotels in the area. It's so close to the Quarter that it's worth being a little outside of the craziness of it. Staff was friendly & accommodating. I'd definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Key West
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Queen and Crescent suited our purpose. It is an older hotel that is not "institutional" in feeling. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was basic and clean. The only downside was that in the room two chairs were provided and one was especially uncomfortable for the four days we stayed. The breakfast was also basic, and we found the coffee to be very "weak" and so we went out for coffee/breakfast every morning. We don't select a hotel for upscale purposes as we are usually "out and about." Overall, we would stay here again because for the rates and the location, along with cleanliness it met our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel reminded me of Disney's Tower of Terror, only for real. It was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at, and I am an experienced business traveler. My wall had a hole in it that I stuffed tissue into to make sure nothing got in or out. I had a spider in my bed. The bathroom was filthy with dirt, mold and peeling wallpaper. My iron, safe and lamp didn't work, and God forbid you ask for a replacement. The staff was rude. And the breakfast, I'm not even going to go there. Save yourself and stay somewhere else.....

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our hotel was well situated near Canal and the Latin Quarter, comfortable and convenient.
However, considering the price we paid, our room was not well appointed, was stingy with toiletries (no hand soap), was a bit shabby and could have used a good cleaning.
Breakfast indifferent. Even so, Queen and Crescent Hotel is
acceptable as a place to stay while exploring this exciting center of the city near the river.

Room Tip: I asked for and got a quiet room on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days while on a coach trip. I had no control of accommodations, would have been more demanding if I was paying. The building is from the early 1900's; quaint. Rooms are small with too much furniture. Bathrooms are for one person. They offer wifi, but I couldn't get it in my room. Continental breakfast was a joke but cereal is always an option.
It is a popular location, close to the French Quarter and Harrah's.
You only sleep or nap in NOLA so it's tolerable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Some friends and family traveling in a small group decided to stay at this hotel this year due to the cost and I generally meet with them so I stayed as well. Simply note that this hotel is really only worth it if you are looking for one of the absolute cheapest places to stay within walking distance of the Quarter. It's about 3 blocks from Chartres, about 6 from Bourbon. Simply put, you have to seriously not care about the hotel and just want a small room to sleep and shower in. In which case, you might be satisfied. But you won't be pleased. And if you're expecting anything more, you will be highly disappointed. This hotel has two buildings. It appeared that rooms 1-12 were in the taller building while 13-24 or so were in the other. The taller building had very slow elevators while the other building they were fine. Two elevators in each. The rooms in both seemed borderline ridiculous unless you're staying by yourself or a spouse and love old traditional. They were small, some smaller than small. They seemed dirty, grimy. The carpets were dirty. Everything was broken. My room door wouldn't always open and the bathroom door didn't want to stay shut or lock. We had to rig up the door just to keep it shut. It was one night so I didn't bother alerting staff. Staff seemed to smile at first but they were unhelpful after that. But it's also a budget hotel, so don't expect room service or someone to take your bags at the entrance. The tv was really messed up. The first remote didn't work. Then when we did get a working remote, it appeared all the channel labels and actual channels didn't line up at all and some were even nonexistent altogether. You only had about 15 channels and nothing premium. I still don't think I ever found ESPN. I think it was ESPN2, and a lot of local stations, seemed like two for each network. So don't expect to watch much tv, which isn't what you go to NOLA for but sometimes in the morning or late evening you might want it on for a bit between excursions. But don't expect sporting events or movies.
I will say that the location and the room seemed to be quiet. I like cheap but this was just too ridiculous for my taste not to mention there's far better around the city. I wouldn't want to stay here again. If I had to, I supposed I'd be willing to suffer again for the sake of family but having stayed at the LaQuinta right across the street, I'd rather just find a room there and meet up every morning. And I think most of the group agrees.

Room Tip: I don't know which building is better. They both have their pros and cons. Stay in the shorter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Q&C Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q&C Hotel

Address: 344 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Queen & Crescent Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Q&C Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel - Renovation Complete September 2014 Don't just visit New Orleans. Savor it - at Q&C. At the heart of storied and soulful New Orleans is Q&C. Tucked between the French Quarter, the Warehouse/Arts District and Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, it's the perfect launching pad for your escapades-no matter what you're seeking. While the hotel is committed to the timeless spirit of Southern hospitality, they're not your daddy's hotel. The Q&C team is devoted to spreading the gospel of New Orleans's greatest undiscovered experiences to all its guests - whether you're a Saints fanatic, music aficionado or simply in town on business. This historic building was completely re-imagined in 2014. The design of Q&C embraces the historic bones of the building, giving guests a peak at the past with a glimpse of original brick walls and wood floors, while thoroughly catering to modern sensibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Q&C Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen And Crescent Hotel
Clarion Collection New Orleans
Clarion Collection Queen Crescent
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q&C Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.