We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen & Crescent Hotel

Save Saved
You added Queen & Crescent Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen & Crescent Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   344 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
kbr0095
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Let's face it, when anyone visits New Orleans (and especially the French Quarter), chances are they're spending minimal time in their room; It's just one of THOSE cities, whether you're a partier or not.

So taking that into consideration, the Queen and Crescent is the perfect hotel. My girlfriend and I have taken two trips to the city and in both instances, used an opaque site that sent us here. For the price and location, there aren't many places in the FQ/CBD (French Quarter/Central Business District) that can beat it. Yes, there are plenty of higher end boutiques and big name chains that provide more amenities, but we never use the room as anything other than a place to sleep and shower. The Queen and Crescent more than suits our needs and for that reason, will continue to stay here for all future vacations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    152
    126
    112
    145
See reviews for
60
208
34
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a quick little getaway trip to New Orleans. The hotel is in the old HQ of a former railroad called the Queen & Crescent railroad hence the name of the hotel. They have a small bar and decent lobby. The rooms are somewhat small and could use a renovation. There is also no closets to hang clothes but they do have a small armoire with a in room safe which came in handy.

The biggest problem with the rooms to me was the small bathrooms with no shelf space or room to put anything on. These really need to be redone and dont know why they did not think of this when they converted the building to a boutique hotel. New Orleans is full of boutique hotels. The big selling point for me was about this hotel was the free valet parking and I am giving them and extra star for this. Almost every hotel I looked at was charging $25-30 per day for parking so over a 5 day trip this adds up. That and it was also pretty close to the French Quarter with all the great dining options and nightlife there. Harrahs casino is also very close.

The free breakfast is ok but nothing special however the dining area (the bar area) is very small for the size of hotel this is and is hence very crowded. They do have a small business center also which is nice. The staff at the hotel were generally great and provided good service although we did not need anything out of the ordinary during our stay but they did have some good recommendations on places to eat a couple nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location on a quiet street downtown New Orleans. I had meetings on Poydras Str which was just around the corner from the Hotel and a few minutes walk to the fun places on Canal street. I preferred the newer property from the main building. The Room i was changed to (810) was nicer, cleaner, well lit/brighter, bigger and better. The cooling system was great. I used the Business center and was happy, high speed and free internet service.

Indeed, the Hotel has great potentials.

The Main building needs to be up graded, staff need to be more professional, some areas need to be cleaner; because its antique doesn't mean it should be dirty. rm 1105 had no hot water -when i complained maintenance said it was because the hotel was not full. the Hotel needs more lighting in the Lobby and rooms and security. I will pass on the "complimentary breakfast" - dont even bother!.

Room Tip: I preferred the newer property before the main building if you enter from Poydras Street. The Room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Alright, will establish right up front, if you want new and full of bells and whistles, this place won't be for you. However, if you want a place that is not too far (within walking distance to the French Quarter), and the price for the location is decent then this might be a good place. The breakfast is free, not much to rave about other than it's free. Standard fare of juice, muffins, coffee, hard boiled eggs, cereal. But it's free, and that's more than you might get at other hotels. It is an older hotel, so there are flaws, but the bed was comfortable and really, other than sleeping, you won't spend much time there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanell D, General Manager at Queen & Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Queen & Crescent. I'm glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. Keep an eye out for our complete renovation to take place next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having read some of the earlier reviews, we were skeptical of what we might find. Arrived at hotel to check in, it was beautiful, bar was open. Our room had 2 doubles, wonderful French furniture............very nice view of St Louis Cathedral outside window. Very nice, clean bathroom with plenty of towels, etc. Desk, TV and drawers for our clothes. Closet nice size, iron and board provided. Hair dryer provided. Only drawback was door to room was a little hard to open. Breakfast was good, as who needs all the trimmings when you are going out to eat good food all day? Bagels, cereals, breads, milk, OJ, plenty of coffee, tea and hard boiled eggs. Overall, I would say very good hotel and the price was unbelievable. Please don't let the earlier reviewers put you off. Hotel has been completely renovated. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: No smoking on 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Although a little off the beaten path (Canal Street and the French Quarter), the Queen and Crescent was a great place to stay - the room was large, with an exposed brick wall and marble-floored bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was scrupulously clean. I was very impressed with the hotel - the quality was as good or better than some of the larger, chain hotels on Canal, and significantly less expensive. The only thing that I would wish for at the Queen and Crescent is a better breakfast - although there are several restaurants in the immediate area with breakfast - especially Mother's on Poydras Street - it would have been more convenient to have more selection at the continental breakfast offered at the hotel. Overall, I would rate this hotel very highly, and would recommend it to anyone going to New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanell D, General Manager at Queen & Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the Queen & Crescent Hotel. We strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests, and it's great to hear that our efforts have paid off. We'd love to have you stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans. Keep an eye out for our complete renovation to take place in the next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located 5 minutes walk from French Quarter. Stayed in the annex building separate from the main hotel - not convenient. Room was comfortable and clean - room door electronic key mechanism was faulty, taking ten minutes plus to open the door each time. Valet car parking is overpriced compared with others, but the service was efficient. Breakfast was included, but it was the breakfast from hell - room too small for the number of people, very crowded with standing room only, decoration shabby, food selection poor and barely even a basic standard, ran out of milk and staff refused to replenish. The breakfast and management spoiled an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the main hotel building - not the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen & Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen & Crescent Hotel

Address: 344 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen & Crescent Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Queen & Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen And Crescent Hotel
Clarion Collection New Orleans
Clarion Collection Queen Crescent
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen & Crescent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.