We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good, breakfast poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queen & Crescent Hotel

Save Saved
You added Queen & Crescent Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen & Crescent Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   344 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location good, breakfast poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located 5 minutes walk from French Quarter. Stayed in the annex building separate from the main hotel - not convenient. Room was comfortable and clean - room door electronic key mechanism was faulty, taking ten minutes plus to open the door each time. Valet car parking is overpriced compared with others, but the service was efficient. Breakfast was included, but it was the breakfast from hell - room too small for the number of people, very crowded with standing room only, decoration shabby, food selection poor and barely even a basic standard, ran out of milk and staff refused to replenish. The breakfast and management spoiled an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the main hotel building - not the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    153
    128
    112
    145
See reviews for
60
209
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stood at the desk waiting to be checked in for 3-5 mins while the young lady behind the desk looked at pictures on her friends/co-worker Facebook page on her phone. I walked into the room & there was no freshness to it. It smelled like dirty carpet. The rest of the time I was here was ok, & the customer service from the people at the front desk was much better.Would I stay here again? No I wouldnt only because the rooms are so close to each other & neighbors have no respect for people who are sleeping. I like the fact that the hotel is walking distance to everything

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elwood, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I thought this hotel was great despite the other reviews. It was clean, modern and bright. The rooms maybe on the smaller size compared to most American hotels that I stayed in, but by no means a shoebox. They also have a business centre with a computer and free internet, which came in handy for us as most hotels only offer wifi. The front desk is more than happy to book and recommend tours for you, and we did the swamp one which was fantastic.
The hotel is in a great location, an easy walk to bourbon street and most attractions, whilst being in a nice quiet area of town. Stayed here for three nights and would definately stay here again. The breakfast isnt too bad either!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanell D, General Manager at Queen & Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again after our renovation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This touts "luxury hotel" on its website. Definitely not that. Our experience was pretty miserable. Long day of driving to arrive at a room with windows that you can't see through. So if you're at all claustrophobic you won't enjoy this place. So we asked to move to another room. The ladies at the front were nice enough I guess, but they seemed busy and slightly annoyed that I would want another room with REAL windows. Also, the air in the first room was clearly not working. It was stuffy and humid. Our second room had windows but the air was completely out. By then we had already moved our stuff across an alley and were exhausted and wanted a real hotel. So we went to the Hilton down the street. They didn't charge $48 for valet parking there. And by the way, the manager was not at all sympathetic to situation. This hotel shouldn't call itself a luxury hotel. They charge luxury prices (a $10 resort fee--they stick that to you at the front desk along with over-inflated parking fees.) The manager refused to refund my parking even though we didn't stay there. Never again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanell D, General Manager at Queen & Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is disheartening to hear that you felt the service you received was poor. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service to everyone. We do acknowledge that this is not by any means a luxury hotel, and we do not claim to be on our website. Your parking and resort fee as well as the room charges have been refunded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Wow, I haven't stayed in a hotel like this in a long time! It was very dated and dirty.We changed rooms three times because of filthy rooms. Stained sheets and comforters, dirty and rusted bathroom with holes in shower curtain. Dust on furniture and stains on carpet. Horrible service from the night shift clerk at check in. All I can say is "Wow, never again!"

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as a couple.
Rooms were tiny with barely enough room to move around the bed. Tiny closet, and a small , but clean bathroom to match. Carpet and the overall furnishings were very old and dated. Nothing much of a view either. I guess this is standard for a 3 star property.
Located on rather narrow street though the main, open street is within eyesight once you step out of the hotel. Decent walking distances to Harras Casino, River Walk, Canal
Street.
B'fast was very average (both taste and ambience), like in a average motel.
Ok service by the staff who does however greet you friendly, most of the time you see them in the property.
Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shreveport
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days in the adjacent buiding. We purchased the room through Book-it. We knew we weren't getting anything fancy, as we just needed a place to sleep and clean up. The location is great. There is a parking lot next door with 25.00/night parking. It's very close. There's a ammenity fee of 9.95 per day when you arrive. The hotel room was clean, our room was decent sized. we were on the 8th floor, and our view was obstructed by some sort of railing, but no big deal. The only thing i really disliked was the bathroom lighting. I wish it were brighter, because it's hard putting makeup on since it's kind of dim. Other than that, it was just what i'd expected. If you are expecting fancy, or anything even remotely fancy, this is not it. But, if you don't spend a lot of time in the room anyway, like us, then it's perfect. I would rather spend my money doing other things like eating, shopping, etc. I'd recommend this place.

Room Tip: In the adjacent building from the main lobby, The room on the 8th floor, room 214 that we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen & Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen & Crescent Hotel

Address: 344 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen & Crescent Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Queen & Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen And Crescent Hotel
Clarion Collection New Orleans
Clarion Collection Queen Crescent
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen & Crescent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.