We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a well-located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Q&C Hotel

Save Saved
You added Q&C Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Q&C Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   344 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Queen & Crescent Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Port Huron, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a well-located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Before reserving the room at the Queen and Crescent, spent some time on Trip Advisor reading the reviews of this and other hotels. Had it not been for the fact that many other hotels were booked for our travel dates, I would likely not have made this my first choice based upon the comments of other reviewers. We did book here, though, and our experience with the hotel, the staff, and the location was quite satisfactory.

We arrived rather late after a drive to New Orleans from Orange Beach, Alabama and there was a group of three being checked in ahead of us by the one young lady, Jon'taine, behind the desk. (While staying there, I never saw more than one person working behind the desk, which may account for long lines at peak times.) We experienced no delay. My wife was concerned about finding a decent restaurant at that hour and Jon'taine retrieved a brochure and checked off several nearby places and gave us her recommendations. We engaged in a bit of small talk and found her to be very pleasant and helpful.

We were given room 514, which another reviewer here mentioned as a good room and we found it to be comfortable and generally clean, though some of the grouting around the bathtub was mildewed. The room furniture is older, but goes along with the overall age of the hotel. The bed was comfortable. Didn't notice until the morning, but the shower curtain was missing. After speaking to the maid, she put up a new one straight away. I should mention that this room is in a building next to and separated from the main hotel. Others had mentioned security as a concern, so I was happy to see that entry to the building required a key card.

The breakfast offered was simple and consisted of hard-boiled eggs, bagels, muffins, cereal, toast, juice and fruit. The breakfast room seated about twenty or so, which made it easier to engage in conversation with the other guests. I spoke with several people over the three days we were there and no one spoke about the hotel at all, which led me to believe they had no complaints of any consequence.

Based upon others reviews, we did not use the valet service. There is a 24 hour parking lot at the corner of Poydras and Camp which offers in and out privileges for $25/day. Right next to the hotel and no waiting for the valet!

Finally, I want to say that a smile and a modicum of respect can go a long way to improving interactions with service personnel. Yes, it is their job. Yes, they get paid to do it, but they are also human beings. Enough of my preaching, hope you enjoy your stay if you choose the Queen and Crescent!

Room Tip: We were happy with room 514. You do overlook Camp St. and the exit from a parking garage, so if str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    154
    129
    112
    145
See reviews for
60
210
36
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place could use a few minor improvements to be a fabulous hotel, but was clean, comfortable and the location couldn't be better.

There were a few glitches: The line to check in took almost half an hour. They were completely full the night I checked in, and there was a lot happening in the city the weekend I stayed, so this was understandable but having an extra person at the front desk would have helped. The room was clean but a bit worn (piece of peeling wallpaper, some chipped paint, small crack in the bathroom sink) but the room, although small, was otherwise clean and comfortable. The TV was also the smallest TV I've ever seen, but that didn't bother me - who goes to New Orleans just to watch TV? Also the $9.95 a day "amenities fee" was a nuisance. They should have just rolled that into the price of the room or even better, only charged for wifi and calls if you actually used it - which I didn't.

But these are all relatively minor complaints. The decor and atmosphere was very pleasant, I thought. I got a great deal on the room, the location was super convenient to the French Quarter/convention center/all of the tourist sites in New Orleans, room was comfortable and quiet, and staff was very friendly. I didn't get to enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast as I was running a half-marathon early the first morning and had to leave early for the airport the second day. But it was nice knowing it was there!

Basically, I would say for the price, this place was very adequate, friendly, and pleasant. Definitely not a resort but a very nice place to stay if you're in New Orleans for business or vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Attended a lovely wedding and reception in NOLA this weekend..WE DO NOT RECOMMEND THE QUEEN & CRESCENT!!!! We are local folks and our experience there, as well as many others in attendance at the wedding, was AWFUL! Line to check in upon arrival was out the door and took us an hour, the checkin system was archaic, the front desk people (although system not there fault) were abrupt and rude. The mandatory $9.95 "amenity fee" was a joke...stated that it included local and inhouse calls, wifi, and gym...however, we had NO HOT WATER, no clock, a safe that didn't work, a 19" tv with 8 channels, 2 of three lamps burned out, missing hardware on drawers, and horrible lighting in the bathroom...amenities?????

Room Tip: Everyone else I talked to at the wedding had a similar poor experience....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We checked in last night and the front desk lady was rude and the lobby was so dark and creepy. We went to the room which for $800 for 4 nights was super over priced. The room we got didn't look anything like the pictures and after checking out the staff I honestly was afraid to let them clean our room. The couple across from us checked out early as well. I could hear them shower...not somewhere I wanna be. The breakfast was just bagels and cereals. We literally priced lined another hotel (royal st Charles) and walked there from this hotel. Never again. It's super creepy and hidden fees do not make this a Bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Staff was very helpful and welcoming. Our room was charming, quiet, roomier than I had expected, well appointed, perfectly clean. The location couldn't be better-- within just a couple blocks of the French Quarter, but out of the way enough that our seventh-floor room was blissfully quiet. We got a good rate and knew about the daily surcharge and parking fee ahead of time, so that didn't surprise or bother us. For New Orleans hotels right at the heart of things, this was not unreasonably priced. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

There were beer bottles all over our room (windowsill, trash can) when we moved in. I brought one down to the front desk and said "These are all over our room- can you check to see if you put us in a room that wasn't cleaned?" The staff person's response was to take the beer bottle, throw it away and say "anything else?"

No apology, no effort to make it right... needless to say, don't stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, U.K.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed for one night after the Super Bowl 2013 weekend. The hotel is located just off Canal Street and a five minute walk to the French Quarter. The hotel itself is now looking a bit dated and is fraying at the edges. My room was on an upper floor so I did not suffer from any noise. The room was on the small side but with an adequate bathroom. The plumbing is need of attention, I am sure the noise of the pipes when I took a shower must have annoyed my fellow guests. Reported this and the fact that my in-room needed new batteries to reception on my way out for the evening. Neither were rectified before I checked out next morning. Seems a great location for the mardi gras as they were building the stands in the same street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Q&C Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q&C Hotel

Address: 344 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Queen & Crescent Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Q&C Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel - Renovation Complete September 2014 Don't just visit New Orleans. Savor it - at Q&C. At the heart of storied and soulful New Orleans is Q&C. Tucked between the French Quarter, the Warehouse/Arts District and Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, it's the perfect launching pad for your escapades-no matter what you're seeking. While the hotel is committed to the timeless spirit of Southern hospitality, they're not your daddy's hotel. The Q&C team is devoted to spreading the gospel of New Orleans's greatest undiscovered experiences to all its guests - whether you're a Saints fanatic, music aficionado or simply in town on business. This historic building was completely re-imagined in 2014. The design of Q&C embraces the historic bones of the building, giving guests a peak at the past with a glimpse of original brick walls and wood floors, while thoroughly catering to modern sensibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Q&C Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen And Crescent Hotel
Clarion Collection New Orleans
Clarion Collection Queen Crescent
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q&C Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.