We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelham

Save Saved
You added The Pelham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pelham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First off, the Pelham has a great location. It's a four-minute walk from the French Quarter and a 20-second walk to several trolley lines. You can rent a car if you want, but we walked everywhere with ease. Stumbling distance from Bourbon as well.

The rooms are nothing mind-blowing (at least ours wasn't), but the beds are comfortable and the rooms have a good New Orleans feel. Our room was windowless, so I can't speak to the view, but we were comfortable. The furnishings are sparse (TV, nightstand, a few lamps), but who goes to NOLA to sit in their room? I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We were on a tight budget and they never once offered something out of our price range.

We're planning to go back to New Orleans and the Pelham is high on our list of places to stay.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sleeping in a windowless room, there are some very affordable options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    81
    37
    15
    18
See reviews for
37
63
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Location of hotel was very good... within walking distance of main tourist attractions. Street was quiet with little traffic. Staff were friendly but not very helpful. Room was clean on arrival but no housekeeping during our stay. There was no window in our room ... so no view. Also the soundproofing of the rooms not great... noise from neighbouring rooms was disruptive.

Room Tip: ask for room with a window and view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Positive: We selected The Pelham based on Travel Advisor reviews. We used Booking.com for our arrangements. The location for us was prefect. Located in CBD just one block of Canal - a short walk to the riverfront, streetcars, French Quarter, the shopping mall, the casino. We enjoyed the fact that it was situated on a street not heavily traveled making the immediate surroundings quiet. The Staff was helpful and courteous. The four days we stayed there we were always warmly greeted when every we retuned from a venture. The room, an interior room with no windows, was nicely decorated, clean. Our room had 15 foot high ceilings so we did not feel claustrophobic. USA Today placed at the door daily. The air conditioning worked great considering the hot humid August weather outside. Shower only - which was ok for us but this might not be suitable for others. Great food at The Ruby Slipper - open for breakfast and lunch.

On the down side: The Wi-Fi signal was strong on the first day after that very weak - 1 bar. We had to depend on 3G connection. We could not get the safe to work properly. That was a little inconvenient. The price of parking is very high. This is not the hotel's fault. Parking prices in this area are high ($25 to $40 a day). This can take an unexpected chunk out of your travel budget. Ruins great deal you got on a room or rental car.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has windows and a bath tub if you need those for your comfort zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Staff lovely, very helpful. Lovely rooms, excellent aircon it was so silent! Perfect location, walking distance to everything. Reasonably priced. The only thing that's missing is a pool/gym but otherwise this place is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

In a normal hotel you go out to enjoy the city and when you came back at 3pm you find it nice and clean
NOT IN HERE
Both the housekeeping personal and the front desk guy made really lame excuses and I didn't got my room clean
We paid for 2 nights but only received service for one
I will never return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

From start to finish a great experience. I was a New Orleans native and this hotel and staff made my visit a homecoming to remember. It was my first visit back since I left for 5 years and staying at this hotel made my leaving again very difficult. From the outside; the hotel front with its classic New Orleans architecture and look; to the lobby with its awesome and authentic ambiance I was home. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and quick to tell us what the latest and greatest place to eat was. The rooms were clean, had great atmosphere and very restful after a hard day and night visiting the French Quarter sites. It was very hot and humid when we were there but the hotel was cool and fresh, and the air conditioning was ice cold; much appreciated. All in all this was a fantastic experience. The location is exceptional also, less than a block to canal and the quarter, and right up from Harrahs which my wife appreciated. I will be staying at the Pelham whenever I am in New Orleans, and because of the warm reception I will be back at New Orleans much more than I have been in the past. Compared to other very well known hotels that I have stayed in New Orleans, this hotel is an authentic and lovely New Orleans experience that I would recommend to anyone that wants to enjoy the French Quarter the way it was supposed to be enjoyed.

Room Tip: If have children ask about the windowless rooms for a great nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were recently in New Orleans for a quick visit and needed a simple hotel close to the trolley line, restaurants and the Quarter. I came across The Pelham on Booking.com and decided to give it a try based upon the reviews. I'm so glad that I did!

The hotel is above the The Ruby Slipper, which is a great breakfast/ lunch restaurant we enjoy visiting. It has apparently been under renovation and the service was great! Our room had an 18 foot ceiling, large windows with black out shades, 4 poster beds and a comfortable feel. The hotel is not modern, but has that perfect new Orleans feel. (There was even a wooden step stool tucked under the bed for climbing in) I found our room very spacious compared to previous rooms at the Hilton, the Omni and the Bourboun Orleans, but the bathroom not as new and comfortable as many 4 star hotels. This said, the bathroom had plenty of space, the products smelled wonderful and the water pressure was perfect.

Overall, this wasn't a 4 or 5 star hotel but it was a fantastic 3 on its way up! Not to mention, our rate was fabulous. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Address: 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.