We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Welcome To New Orleans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Pelham to your Saves list
The Pelham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A Great Welcome To New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A friend and I stayed here together while she went to a conference at the Sheraton and I enjoyed the French Quarter Festival. Her company paid for the room and I do not know what the rate was so it is somewhat difficult to determine if the value of the hotel lives up to the asking price. The hotel is in a good, not great, location between Canal Street and the French Quarter. What makes this hotel is the staff. They were not what I would describe as the most professional, I did have to adjust to the laid back NOLA attitude, but every employee from the front desk, housekeeping, and management went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. I knew I was in New Orleans when the person on the front desk was of undetermined gender, he/she was very nice though and answered all of my questions. It is clearly an older hotel and that is reflected in the little things. In the picture of our room you'll see two four poster beds, one of which is missing the top part of one of the posters. There were two chairs, one very comfortable and one an "antique" straight back chair with a broken spring. The latch on our door was broken and there wasn't any point turning on the TV as it was mostly snow. (Of course who has time to watch TV when you're in New Orleans!) That said, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean and spacious, and the water pressure was wonderful, the WIFI worked fine and there were plenty of towels. There was no coffee maker though which was annoying. There was a Keurig coffee maker in the lobby but with everyone competing to use it it was just as easy to go buy a cup while out and about. Our room was near the elevators and we never heard any dings. While we were there the hotel was full of French tourists and I never heard any noise from the other rooms or in the halls. The vending machines are in a strange place, they are tucked away in the stairwell on the ground floor. Unfortunately I didn't get to try the restaurant next door as there was always a line which must tell you something about how good the restaurant is. There aren't any computers to use to print boarding passes but the General Manager was kind enough to let us use his office. As a former hotel manager myself I was a bit nostalgic sitting behind an extremely messy desk in an extremely messy office. Though I imagine someone less familiar with the hospitality industry might find the experience somewhat disconcerting. The GM did say they were working on getting something set up for guests use soon. Overall we had a wonderful stay at this hotel and have no complaints. I would stay here again IF the price was right. I personally wouldn't pay more than $130 a night to stay here maybe $150 during a festival.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    99
    44
    20
    18
See reviews for
46
82
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This older hotel is several blocks south of the French Quarter and 3/4 mile northwest from the Convention Center. I stayed 4 nights for a meeting at the convention center. The hotel accommodations were very good, but not stellar. Two queen beds in a relatively small room. Just coffee in the lobby. My favorable perspective was influenced by only $170/night (Orbitz) which compared extraordinarily well to nearby convention hotels. I stayed during the end of the French Quarter Music Festival and the street noise level was minimal on the 4th floor. I had a window in my room (see other reviews). The only problem walking to the convention center is when it rains (heavily) in New Orleans. Puddles are deeper than they appear. Compensating for the distance to the convention center is the proximity to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Was down in New Orleans this week for a conference and couldn't get into the conference hotel, and I've never been happier. The conference hotel was nice enough, but the Pelham has charm. It's perfectly located so you can walk to everything, and the price was better than the conference hotel!

Overall, the room was very clean, and the vaulted ceilings and decor really add to the New Orleans/French Quarter charm. It was a great experience. The staff was very helpful and it lived up to every expectation. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice hotel if you are not looking for any amenities. Only coffee maker was down in lobby, one wine key for entire hotel and as stated before very dark rooms. We paid over $300 a night. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.. The Ruby Slipper connected to the Pelham was fabulous.. Location was good.

Room Tip: Window room..upper floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent hotel right next to French quarter. Very safe and clean. Great staff. Easy to get everywhere in downtown New Orleans from this hotel. We have a family of five and the room was great. The hotel was parking for 26 a night. The rooms are quiet and nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good value. Very attentive & friendly staff. Just out of French Quarter, so quieter. It could use a little updating but, overall, nice hotel for the price. Be sure to ask for room with windows, and even then rooms need more light .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is a good value. Very attentive & friendly staff. Just out of French Quarter, so quieter. It could use a little updating but, overall, nice hotel for the price. Be sure to ask for room with windows, and even then rooms need more light .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Address: 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.