We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Pelham to your Saves list
The Pelham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
1 review
“Great location, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a blind shot. Looking for a hotel with "ambiance" but clean and quiet. Nailed that in one. Location realy worked for us with good access to french quarter and warehouse district. Easy walking distance to all, even with a family member recovering from illness. Really really happy with staff. Brandon and Thomas on the front desk were always helpful and friendly with good suggestions and great attitudes. Only caveat was that our room had no windows. Not really a big thing as dark and quiet was good for rest and recovery and we didn't come to spend time in hotel except for sleep and showers but next time we'll ask for at least one pane to avoid the "pitch black stumbles". In a city with so many choices, we will happily stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    99
    44
    20
    18
See reviews for
46
82
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Love staying at non-chain hotels when I am traveling domestically. The staff was very trustworthy and kind. The rooms were very ornate and recently updated. The hotel is old and beautiful. I felt like I was at a beautiful bed and breakfast. 12foot ceilings. Four poster bed. Drapes, the whole deal.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room is only 5steps from the lobby. We loved our location. Remember, New Orleans still off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I really liked this hotel. I stayed with two friends for 3 nights here and was really pleased with the place. The staff are really friendly and welcoming and the hotel itself is nicely decorated. Our room was very comfortable, clean and a decent size for the price. We ate in the Ruby Slipper that's next door and we had delicious breakfasts every time. It's really close to the French Quarter and Charles Street for the streetcars. I would definitely return here if I'm lucky enough to come back to New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to parouse the French Quarter and still want to experience a classic new orleans hotel, this is the place for you. The Pelham is quite charming. The lobby is neatly decorated. The ceilings are high. The bathroom is nice.This hotel is not modern and sleek. It is old fashioned and needs a little updating. The beds are springy and the pillows felt old. Also, they seem to be understaffed. Besides that I enjoyed my stay, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked this room in the car within miles from New Orleans… What the score!

The corner room on the fourth floor was phenomenal... Cozy, private, clean... There were no shortcomings to this room and we recommend this hotel to every one!

There weren't any problems with the water temperature as others have stated.

We never got around to eating at the Ruby Slipper however they were very accommodating in filling my 3 quart air pot with hot water for tea every morning.

Our reservations were for 2 nights but we ended up extending it a night, and I wish we stayed longer, and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Convenient location for easy access to downtown areas. The rates were very reasonable, and the room was very clean and amply furnished, although the water was not a warm as we normally prefer. We found the staff to be very friendly and prompt in responding to requests, as well as reliable with good restaurant recommendations. We will recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a corner room with windows it was clean and had the high ceilings. Only issue was that it was hit and miss on whether you could get hot water for your shower. That was a let down. Staff was helpful, price was decent, and location was excellent. The Ruby Slipper resteraunt attached had a great breakfast and there was usually a line up to get in. I liely would not stay there again would chose to shop around for a different place for some variety. I would definitely go to NOLA again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Address: 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.