We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great price, great room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pelham to your Saves list
The Pelham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Aztec, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great location, great price, great room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

5 stars! The Pelham is a very nice and affordable hotel right in the French Quarter; $89 a night + tax. We used the garaged valet parking so we would not have to look for parking ourselves. Valet does run about $10.00 more a night than finding your own paid parking, which is common in New Orleans. Very nice room with great air conditioning and a very nice staff. Three or four blocks from bourbon street. Close to Mississippi river and trolly for those who dont want to drive there. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    110
    47
    21
    18
See reviews for
52
87
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

So close to Bourbon street. Nice place to stay for the reasonable price

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for the first weekend of Jazzfest. Our group is always on the lookout for decent hotels in a decent location for a good price. Last year we stayed at the Cotton Exchange. Like the Cotton Exchange, this was a funky old building and was not run by a national hotel chain. I thought the service was better at the Pelham than the Cotton Exchange. Our group had 5 or 6 rooms and all were fine. My wife and I stayed on the first floor. Ours was a small room with very high ceilings and windows facing the street. It feels like they might have carved this room out of the first floor lobby at some point.

Read through reviews on Trip Advisor before hand so I knew what to expect. One of my friends got the room with no windows on purpose (he is a bit of a vampire). Our room was cleaned everyday. We had fresh towels everyday and had great water pressure. Some of the rooms on higher floors did not have great water pressure. Staff was very helpful with all my requests.

My suggestion is to stay here if you are looking for a good location at a good price. Ask for a new room if you don't like yours. They seem to come many varieties. Ask for help with the A/C on your first day as there is a feature that shuts the A/C off if you are not in the room. (It looks like some folks had issues with A/C turning off while sleeping.)

Overall - great value. Not a place I would recommend to those that like everything to be just right. Great place for people that won't be spending much time in their room, but want a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for windows (not something you would normally think to request). Ask for a room above the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

When looking at hotels in NOLA I initially wanted to stay at a cosy bed and breakfast either in or close to the French quarter. However, all the places I though looked nice was either too expesive or allready fuuly booked. then I came across the Pelham and it suited all og our needs. The location is perfect. Just across the street from the French quarter but without all the noise. Also really close to the casino and the Riverwalk. We also got a really good rate.
The room we got was large and fairly clean although, as other reviewers have mentioned, a bit in need of refurbishment. Beds were comfortable and bathroom was spacious but with bad ventilation. the only thing I missed was a fridge or mini bar. Staff was kind and helpful.
There is no restaurant at the hotel, but you can get a decent breakfast at the restaurant next door. There is also a breakfat buffet at the casino and an IHop on Canal street. The French quarter is allso full of restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The only true good thing about this hotel is the locating. It's very close to bourbon st and around the corner from the casino. So that's great. The hotel has a kinda old school theme to it, which wasn't bad at 1st. The room we were in didn't have any windows. None. We were so close to the elevator that ER felt like we were in the elevator. The walls are paper thin that you can hear every word people are saying even if they are whispering. Sad day, great city. Poor girl.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have only stayed in big name hotels before in New Orleans. Stayed at the Pelham after a referral from a friend, and was I surprised. This was a great location and great features as well. The staff were great and full of great information about the city and on going events. You get to experience New Orleans charm in the city as well as at the hotel. The best kept secret in New Orleans is The Pelham Hotel. Can't wait to stay there on my next trip, as they were making some really cool improvements to make the experience even better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great location! Old building. THIS PLACE NEEDS TO BE REMODELED ASAP!!!!! Our room was on the 4th floor. We took the elevator up and when we stopped at the 4th floor the elevator dropped (this is every time your on the left elevator). I felt like I was on the tower of terror in Disney! The hall smelled like mold. When we entered the room we looked around and we noticed it was missing a window. VERY strange! The room was very small and tight! The walls were cracked and in the bathroom the wallpaper was peeling and there was water damage. The bed was SO uncomfortable and the sheets were paper thin. The one bed had 4 pillows while the other had 3. Shower SUCKED! The shower head was so small it was horrible! The water pressure is the worst I have ever seen in a hotel! Turning on the shower was so confusing too! On the 3rd day one of us was taking a shower and the water just stopped! We called down to the front desk and they said they city was working on the water system and wouldn't be back up until 7pm (mind you it was 3pm) There was one trashcan and that was in the bathroom only. TV was Small and half the channels were not working. No pen and paper in the room either! I went to go get ice (which is on the 1st floor) and as I enter I can barely open the door because there are new windows wrapped in plastic and mattresses and bikes in the vending area! Some of the staff at the front desk were nice and some weren't Thomas (I think that was the guys name) was very helpful! We asked him what he thinks is the best food and the best places to go! He said if we need anything to ask him since he lived in New Orleans his whole life! The girl on the other hand was clueless and when I asked he a question she replied with "Um I 'm not sure, and I don't know really where anything is! How do you work in a hotel and not know anything about the city? Overall I wouldn't stay here ever again! They have a lot of issues to fix in this place!

Room Tip: Free wifi no window in 4th floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Address: 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.