We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location, great service, terrible A/C, no windows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pelham to your Saves list
The Pelham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Littlerock
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location, great service, terrible A/C, no windows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Pros -
Location
Price of room
customer service
great restaurant next door
atmosphere and history
comfortable bed

Cons -
LACK OF A/C (really hot and stuffy)
No windows to open
$30 car valet daily

Room Tip: Bring a small fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    115
    49
    21
    19
See reviews for
54
89
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Located steps from the French Quarter, casino and Warehouse District. The staff were amazing & fantastic breakfast at the Ruby Slipper located within the Hotel. Joseph was extremely helpful and loved his recommendation of The Chophouse restaurant located just down from the Pelham. During our 3 day stay we had the unusual experience of when we could make our room available so they could install double glazing to our windows which the manager promised would only take an hour, when we arrived back that afternoon the windows had being installed and we could not believe the difference during the night, it was so quiet and peaceful. Our room was beautifully appointed, carpet was dated, new bathrooms, antique furniture. Loved the Pelham. I will def stay again!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I recently travelled to New Orleans and I needed nice, inexpensive place to stay and Pelham was just it. Great location!Quiet area and the best service ever-thank you Thomas for your excellent service, you should be promoted or get a raise!!Hopefully we will see you in Montreal sometime:)Joseph- you were cool too:)Whenever I will be back in New Orleans I will stay in this hotel again if Thomas is still working there.
To all the people with AC problems-ask how to fix it and the stuff will help you...And if you do not like the room you get(cause some of them do not have windows) ask for another one,if one is available I'm sure the boys will change it for you
The resto was very good as well-I totally recommend it

Room Tip: Some rooms have no windows (so choose wisely) and AC has a movement detector- you can override it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed at The Pelham for a wedding and throughly enjoyed our stay.we stayed in room 201 with a king,beautiful room,new bathroom,high ceilings,friendly informative staff,Hotels restaurant Ruby Slipper serves a fantastic breakfast,but does not open for dinner,we had to wait 30 minutes to get in,highly recommend .Fantastic Location

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Pelham is an old property with a lot of charm. Clean rooms, nice bathrooms and helpful staff. The problem is that the air conditioning system is on some sort of motion sensor so that when it does not sense movement, it shuts off. The default setting is a hot 78 degrees and no ceiling fan. That's fine during the day when you are out because it cools down pretty quickly when you return. But the problem is that it also shuts off while you are asleep because it senses no movement. So it stays at 78 degrees all night. We've stayed at the Pelham twice with a/c problems both times but like every other thing about it including location and the coffee in the lobby. Would give it 4 stars if not for the a/c problem. B/t/w, there's a great inexpensive neighborhood bar/breakfast cafe (Ruby Slipper) next door. Hotel is right behind the casino and an easy walk to the Quarter.

Room Tip: Not the first floor. Some rooms even on upper floors do not have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We recently came to New Orleans for the NCAA final four games. We loved the location of the Pelham because it was pretty close to the Superdome and the French Quarter.

The woman at the front desk was not very friendly. Our room wasn't ready when we got there, but that's understandable since it was a couple of hours before check in. We had to ask about valet service and if there was somewhere we could check our bags. I felt like we were a huge disturbance to her.

Our room was on the first floor. If you are given room 104 check out or ask for a different room. It has no windows, no tub (shower only), the headboard backs up to the elevator so keeps you up all night and the lobby music echos so loudly you can hear it in the room. The people working the front desk make no effort to keep the lobby quiet so you can hear people coming in and out all night.

The room was clean and I enjoyed the charm of the hotel. If we were in a different room I think we would have had a completely different experience.

Also, if you do the valet service plan to ask for your car 45 minutes before you need it, not the 15 minutes that they suggest.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here for seven days while we attended a conference and did a little sight seeing. The staff were all friendly and extremely helpful with anything. The room was pleasant if a bit small, nice high ceilings and old-timey trim. Beds were clean and comfortable and the bathroom was newly renovated and clean. The attached breakfast restaurant was great, food prices were reasonable for New Orleans and everything from a simple porridge to a fancy french toast with bananas foster. The location was great, it was quiet at night and right on the edge of the French Quarter. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to almost anyone. If you like generic, fancy hotels then you probably won't like this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Address: 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham Hotel is in the heart of what you come to New Orleans for. Only minutes from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, the Riverwalk and the Warehouse District, distinctive styling, uncompromised convenience and a friendly staff await you. Historically located on a site that was formerly the plantation of Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, founder of New Orleans, the Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old-world European grace. The hotel offers the luxurious living standards of elegant New Orleans combined with personal attention and an unwavering commitment to your happiness. This historic landmark hotel offers 60 uniquely appointed guestrooms featuring grand 18-foot ceilings, original old brick walls, crown molding and 10-foot-tall windows. Each room is fitted in imported white linens, duvets and antique furnishings. In-room amenities include a self-programmable safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and radio alarm clocks with iPod/MP3 connections. Marble floors, granite vanity tops and curved shower rods adorn each bathroom. Adjacent to the Pelham Hotel is the highly acclaimed Ruby Slipper Restaurant, featuring local flavors such as BBQ Shrimp & Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. Surf the web or catch up on some work with peace of mind as all guests of the Pelham Hotel can enjoy free wireless Internet access! Hotel is 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.