We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Crescent Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #48 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I stayed at this hotel during the Essence Music Festival. We booked a suite and boy were we surprised. It was at the end of the hall, very private, with two separate sides (both had doors that could be closed). One room was the bedroom with a large king bed and the other was the living room with a sofa, dining table, chairs, and a fridge. I think the sofa converted into a bed. There were two full bathrooms as well! That was a huge plus for us. I would definitely stay in this room again. It is big enough to host a small gathering. The hotel and rooms are a bit old, as with any hotel in the French Quarter, so that was not a big deal. The location was fabulous! It was a few blocks from Bourbon, so we were able to walk to the nightlife and dine at great restaurants within a matter of minutes. Valet parking is very expensive, but again, this is not different from any other hotel in this area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanna95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

This hotel is definetly the only place I will ever stay at in New Orleans! I booked through a bidding website so you never know what to expect. When we arrived we were greeted by the friendliest people and given a HUGE corner room with floor to ceiling windows that overlooked downtown. All the furnishings were luxurious and the bed was so comfortable I never wanted to move! The bathroom was large with robes and nice soaps. The room also had a flat screen TV. One night I had a few medical issues and the staff went above and beyond helping me out.
This hotel is in the perfect location. It is two streets over from the french quarter, two streets up from the river area(casino) and two streets down from the St Charles Streetcar. Nothing is more than a 4-5 minute walk away. It is also quiet so you can get some sleep.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who asks!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCFTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Wonderful hotel in a great location. Stayed with a group of girlfriends over Thanksgiving. Rooms are small but you don't feel confined and the beds are comfortable enough. It's far enough away from Bourbon St. if you want something a little more quiet but close enough to still walk to all the action. They had a great bartender in the Touche lounge that made our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank se123Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

I was extremely happy with my three night stay here. Its a quick walk to the meat of Bourbon street, but out of the craziness. So you can party in the French Quarter and then rest your bones afterward in peace and quiet. The hotel is also just two blocks from the St Charles street and Canal Street streetcars. We actually stayed on the eighth floor where the rooms have very high ceilings.

The HVAC controls were awesome and quiet. How many hotels have you been in where the freaking AC is loud? Flat screen HDTV was nice, but I'm still looking for the Holy Grail of actually finding HD programming in a Hotel. We weren't there to watch TV, so I didn't care.

Bathroom was beautiful, but one nit....the shower glass only covered half the shower so invariably there was water on the floor.

The bed and linen looked great, but the bed oddly sloped to the middle. They just need some slightly firmer mattresses.

As an Omni select member (sign up for free) we got two free beverages each delivered to us in the morning. Normally I would say who cares, but after partying every night in this town, you need some serious hydration.

There was a city wide water pressure problem our first night. We returned to the hotel and the water didn't work in the toilet, sink, or shower. It worked the following morning, but the city had a boil drinking water warning for the entire next day and a half. The water problem was not the hotels fault and probably effected every hotel in the city. The hotel supplied lots of bottled drinking water for us upon request.

The open sky Jacuzzi pool on the 6th floor was a great surprise and the wife and I were able to hit it in private!

Wifi was free for Omni Select members too. On the eighth floor Verizon 3G was three times faster than the hotel Wifi. Yeah, I measured it.

I would stay here again at some point after I sober up from the trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dahacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thanks for your review! We're always looking for ways to improve and sometimes the WiFi signal in parts of the building is weaker than in others. We'll continue to look into boosting the signal in these parts of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I logged on to this site to warn others about my nightmare stay at the Ambassador, but figured that I should also write up the good - which is this hotel. I travel to New Orleans a lot, as I used to live there and it is one of my favorite cities, and for the value - this is my favorite hotel. The staff went above and beyond (going through the trash for me after I realized I'd left a (full) shopping bag after checkout) and the room was beautiful and quiet. This is nothing flashy like the W, or Le Pavillon etc. but it is a quiet, safe, comfortable, and really pretty hotel with a wonderful staff. Book early - unforthnately it was booked up for my last trip and I was sorely disappointed with where we ended up staying. Omni Royal Crescent is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolazona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
While our rooms are great, it's our associates that make this hotel a favorite for so many guests. We're sorry we were sold out during your last trip but hope to see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I was very happy with this hotel. I booked through a third party site that I hadn't used before and was guaranteed a late check in. I was dubious because i didn't arrive at the hotel until approximately 1am but to my relief the hotel were prepared and as other reviewers have mentioned a handwritten, personal note from the management, which I felt was a very nice touch. The room itself was beautifully decorated, very comfortable bed and spacious bathrooon. The room was also quiet even though I faced Gravier Street and the traffic and bustle of the CBD. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The attached restaurant Dress It, was an adequate meal and reasonably priced. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to enjoy New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

My husband and I eloped to New Orleans at the end of August and loved our stay at the Omni Royal Crescent. The hotel is unique and charming and the staff unbelievably pleasant and helpful. Our bathtub drain didn't work on our first morning there but after a call to guest services, it was fixed within ten minutes. The location is perfect, a short (sobering) walk to and from the French Quarter, while providing for quiet nights. Having traveled extensively throughout my life, I have to say that this hotel stands out as one of my all time favorites. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
We really appreciate your review. It's great to hear when we stand out as a favorite in the mind of a well-traveled guest. We hope you'll come back next time you're in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#26 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,242 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#16 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
#46 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Address: 535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing