We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel that gets the basics right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Royal Crescent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Royal Crescent to your Saves list
The Omni Royal Crescent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #35 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel that gets the basics right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed here for four nights. The hotel is very clean, staff are generally helpful, it is quiet at night and is generally a good hotel to stay in. Although not technically in the french quarter it only takes around five or ten minutes to walk to bourbon street. The hotel is located on a quiet side street, yet is only five minutes walk from bustling canal street with all of its bars and restaurants; once you cross over canal street you are in the french quarter.

We parked our car two blocks away on magazine street for $15 per 24 hours, which is a competitive rate in central new orleans. We always felt safe walking from the hotel to the french quarter even after dark. We didn't use the hotel restaurant so cannot comment on that although it always looked empty every time we passed it. We did try the outdoor hot tub but left quickly because it is not all that well set up, perched on a ledge on the hotel roof. The one small complaint I would make is that they don't provide a dedicated guest computer with internet access; instead they will let you use a staff computer at reception but obviously only for a short time.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a relaxing city break in new orleans with the opportunity to sleep soundly and do lots of sight seeing by day and evening.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Thank you for writing a review of the Omni Royal Crescent. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize that we don't have a dedicated computer for guests, but if you do need to use a computer during your stay we would be happy to provide you access to the Omni Royal Orleans' business center in the French Quarter. We hope you will stay with us next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    282
    64
    35
    18
See reviews for
85
347
46
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Found this hotel on tripadvisor & liked the combination of location and price and how it looked on google streetview (marker in google is off)

It exceeded our expectations!!

We parked right in front of the door to check in. Roshawn greeted us with a smile and checked us in like we were expected. When I asked about Wifi she mentioned that it was not free but with the Omni club it would be be complimentary along with a paper and coffee or drinks in the morning delivered to the room and got us signed up immediately!

The room (704) was clean and nice with a king bed and a view of other buildings. It was quiet and we were only a few blocks from Canal and the Harrah's casino. Also within walking distance of the French quarter. We were able to find Self Parking down one block for $15 Dollars for overnight for 24 hours! Hotel has valet parking only.

Tried the diner off the lobby (dress it ) it was good, would have liked breakfast all day. Had some free cocktails as part of the omni club on Tuesday night in the lobby.( Cocktails got its name after a location right here in 'Nawlins ). You hang Red or green beads on the door Red - Do not disturb / Green - Service.

Check out was a breeze. Chris L. at the front desk was very nice and helpful and let us print out our boarding passes and called us a cab.

Thanks Omni Crescent - we will tell our friends!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for signing up for our free Select Guest program. The free WiFi and morning beverage service are great perks. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

My family of ten travelled to New Orleans for my wedding over Easter weekend. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Omni Crescent. The staff were friendly, courteous, and helpful, especially when my fiance and I needed computer and printer access for marriage license info. They added a baby crib to my brother-in-laws room for his 1 year old, also. The roof-top hot tub and fitness center was great. We enjoyed lounging there, though the hot tub was HOT! The bathrooms in our rooms were huge. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. The one problem we had was getting our cars from valet parking. I think the valets had a problem with the elevator in the parking deck at one point and were very busy because of the Crescent City Classic on Saturday. Luckily, the hotel is close enough to everything in the quarter to walk to. Stay here! It is a hidden gem!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate being called a hidden gem. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMV
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I visited the Omni Royal Crescent for my Birthday which was on Easter Weekend. Upon arrival, the staff was very pleasant and professional, I received a hand written card from the manager of the hotel welcoming my stay and thanking me for choosing the Omni Royal Crescent, out of all the hotels I've stayed in, I have NEVER gotten such a nice jester/greeting as this, I thought it was very personable and it made a lasting impression with me. The hotel is in EXCELLENT location, short walk to EVERYTHING and away from the noise on Bourbon St. for a good nights rest. The rooms are on the small side, but yet they were comfortable(especially the beds). The lobby was nice and clean. The only recommendations I would have for the hotel (to change) is to do some updating within the hotel such as rooms and hallways, and I think the bar should stay open later then what it does, to accommodate the late nighter's and fix the sidewalk outside of the hotel, outside of those things, you will not be disappointed and I would stay again upon returning to NOLA!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
We're glad you chose us. We hope you had a great birthday weekend at the hotel and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My wife and I visited New Orleans over Easter weekend from Los Angeles. We are a member of OMNI (which is easy to register and become). We got a free soft drink of choice in the morning, and free internet service. I have to say the location is really good. It is so easy to walk to the various hot spots in the French Quarter. We had considered the other Omni Hotel near Bourbon Street, but we are glad we chose this one instead.
Though I wouldn't rate this hotel up with the looks of some other Omni Hotels I have stayed at, it is still very nice and very clean. The Wi-Fi is a bit questionable at times.
The value is definitely good, as we got a great rate for the long weekend.
The staff is very nice and helpful. They also can help you to arrange a TAXI to the airport. We came back late the night before check out, and happened to ask them how long it would take a TAXI to get to the airport in the morning. They told us 20 minutes and offered to schedule a TAXI for us. The next morning, the TAXI arrived right on the dot timewise, and it indeed took 20 minutes.
Overall, we like this place. The location is very close the Mississippi River, and all great bars & restaurants of New Orleans. It would be hard to find something better in all aspects. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Thanks for writing a review of the hotel. We're glad you enjoyed the location and took advantage of our Select Guest program which also comes with a free morning newspaper. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We were upgraded at no extra charge so i'm a litle biased, but generally the hotel is very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms nice. Bed and pillows were really comfortable.

Hotel could use some updating. Our room was very nice, but the carpet in the hallway and the elevators (for example) should be updated.

You really can't beat the location. In the middle of the french quarter, but still quiet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly will consider the carpet and elevators in our next update. We're glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the location. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Our stay was wonderful. The staff made every effort to ensure we were comfortable. The beds were divine. I almost didn't want to leave the hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
We're glad you enjoyed your stay so much you wanted to stay longer. We hope next time you're in New Orleans you'll stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Royal Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Royal Crescent

Address: 535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Royal Crescent 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Royal Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Royal Crescent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.