We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Crescent Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #43 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Avery, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This was our third stay in this hotel, and we keep returning for a reason...the staff is so friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless and well-appointed, the restaurant is very good and also convenient, the location is excellent, and the service provided to Select Guest Members cannot be topped. We had an upgrade and a discount certificate, and we were upgraded to the Omni Suite on the top floor, which was even more of an upgrade than we booked. I have always loved the bathrooms at this hotel, and in the Omni Suite we had an extra half-bath. If you like thick, fluffy towels, luxurious robes, and excellent bathroom amenities like quality lotions and shampoos, then you'll love this place. Omni Hotels are special and inspire loyalty for a reason--they offer superior quality for an affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2010
Thank you so much for the kind words about the hotel. We especially love the last line of your review and appreciate your continued patronage. Let us know how we can make your fourth stay just as memorable as the first three.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    320
    76
    39
    26
See reviews for
109
405
48
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed in a light-filled corner room on the 7th floor with huge windows (including the largest window I've seen in a bathroom.) Everyone at the desk was friendly and always helpful with any problems. The room was spotless.
If you are signed up for the Omni "Select Guest" program, you receive free internet plus a newspaper and hot and cold drinks delivered to your door in the morning. Both the tea and juices were top-notch. After staying in multiple hotels in New Orleans, this hotel would be my first choice on returning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
We're so glad to be your first choice hotel when you return to New Orleans. Thank you for the kind review. We hope you can join us again soon for a Saints game or maybe Mardi Gras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

(Oct. 9-Oct. 11, 2009) When we are in New Orleans, we usually stay at the Omni Royal, but this trip we decided to try her sister hotel. The Crescent is adorned with art work, gilded mirrors, and beautiful marble floors. It's a grand scaled-down version of the magnificent Omni Royal. Our room was beautifully appointed, and the bed was SO comfortable. We enoyed our egg-themed breakfast at Dress It. The small fitness room had nice, clean equipment.
The ONLY negative comment that I have is that the hotel seemed understaffed. I noticed this from our arrival. There was no one to direct us and valet our car. Parking was not an option in front of the hotel, so we had to make the block. Check-in was rather SLOW & my husband had to carry our luggage as there was no bellman. These aggrevations are not encountered at the Omni Royal, that's for sure. There was only one waitress at breakfast, and she seemed stretched thin. With all of that said, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Omni Royal Crescent. I offer my negative comments only as constructive criticism. I noticed that the manager takes the time to read and respond to TripAdvisor posts. I think that is great and shows that he cares greatly about his guests!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Thank you for your praise for our hotel and also your critique. We are sorry we were stretched thin during your stay and that the service suffered due to it. We will make sure address the issue and provide more direction at valet, a faster check-in process and luggage assistance. We’re glad you decided to try the Royal Crescent because of your great experiences at the Royal Orleans. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

My new husband and I just spent our Honeymoon at the Omni Royal Orleans. this hotel was amazing. We got a great deal on the room by purchasing 21 days in advance. We also signed up as a select guest. This is a great deal. You get free internet, a free beverage in the morning and a few other perks. The staff was amazing and treated us like royalty. The concierge was very helpful and was able to answer any question we had. They sent us to great restaurants that were within our budgets. The room was an adequate size and the balcony was wonderful. We will go back and stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
Note – this review is for the Omni Royal Orleans in the French Quarter not the Omni Royal Crescent. We appreciate that you took the time to review the hotel. The Royal Orleans is a great hotel and the balcony rooms really lend to an authentic New Orleans experience. Congratulations on your wedding and we hope you come back and celebrate more special occasions with us. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

After a one hour drive from Baton Rouge, my husband and I were exhausted after our wedding. We were glad to have a nice, quiet room so we could recuperate from all of the joyous festivities of our wedding day. We were very please with our room. We stayed in one of the Jacuzzi suites. We mentioned that we were going to be on our honeymoon in the "comments" section when we booked online, and a complementary bottle of champagne was waiting for us upon arrival. Totally unexpected, but a very nice touch. The hotel is not very far from the French Quarter. It was, however, quite a long walk to get to the French Market, and places in that area. There is no breakfast included, like some hotels. We had breakfast in their restaurant once, and it was not very impressive. There was no swimming pool, but a roof top Jacuzzi. It was too hot for it in Louisiana in May, but it was a lovely view. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your wedding. It’s a great hotel for decompressing as it isn’t right in the middle of the French Quarter, but not too far either. Congratulations on your marriage and please come back and visit us again for your anniversary. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It's a fancier place than I normally stay in, but it was a good price and I felt like I got something for the extra money. The furnishings were nice, the bed was both elegant and comfy, and everything felt a notch above the ordinary. The bathroom in particular was luxurious--spacious and well appointed. The tub was very deep, perfect for a really good soak. The room was spacious, especially for downtown New Orleans, where rooms can be cramped.

The location is about what you'd expect for downtown--parking is extra and has to be planned well in advance (you have to request your car a good half hour before you need it), but this is typical of all these downtown hotels.

The burger restaurant in the hotel was a bit clueless, failing to interpret a "how late are you open" question as meaning "because I might want to order something," and nothing too out of the ordinary food-wise, but otherwise fine.

In general I felt pampered and spoiled, and would go there again for an occasion worthy of such a stay.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
We’re glad to hear you chose to stay with us to pamper yourself. It’s nice to hear that our rooms are spacious and that you have room to stretch out which is not always the case in some older New Orleans hotels. We hope you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed for 6 nights in the beginning of August. My husband had a convention and I tagged along for fun. We needed a place that split the difference between the FQ and convention center since we would be without a vehicle, it had to be cheap since his work was not picking up the tab, and it had to be quiet since the hubby actually needed to sleep. I was a little nervous about this place due to some of the mixed reviews but it turns out my concerns were for nothing.

Just look at it on the map. It’s right on the edge of everything. FQ is two blocks away. The convention center is 10 - 15 minute walk. There’s more food and drink within walking distance than you can shake a hand grenade at. Don’t like to walk? Catch the trolley. The St. Charles and Canal lines are two blocks away. The best part is that due to it being out of the quarter and situated on a side street, the place was super quiet for a downtown hotel. I saw some people complain about the noise. Of course there’s going to be some – it’s an old downtown hotel. If you don’t want any street noise, stay on the 20th floor of the Marriott.

The only time we actually heard anything was Friday night. The club right down the street got going around 1 a.m. but it wasn’t really enough to bother me (side note – We had consider staying at Loft 523. This is the same club that everyone complains about there. It really is that loud. Our room was situated about 1/2 block away and we could still hear it.)

The room was immaculately clean and the hotel staff was beyond friendly. The room had all amenities that I would expect – coffee maker, mini-fridge, makeup mirror, decent toiletries, and excellent black out curtains. They have removed the weird glass thing in the shower and installed a standard curtain/rod. The AC and shower worked perfectly. One morning, our toilet decided to stop flushing. We told the front desk on our way out to breakfast and it was fixed by the time we got back.

My biggest complaint was the internet. It worked intermittently in our room. If you went up to the roof deck, it worked phenomenally (500 KB/s downloads). It wasn’t an issue of firewalls or technical problems on our part. It would just come and go no matter what channel you jumped on. But it was free, so you get what you pay for.

I think a lot of the bad reviews for this place come from a price vs. value conflict. We were able to get a nightly rate well under $100/night. At that price point, this place is an excellent value. For those who pay more than $150/night during standard rate times, I can see how they would be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2009
Thanks for writing a review of the Omni Royal Crescent. We’re glad you were able to take advantage of some of our great summer rates and get a good location near the French Quarter and the convention center. It’s great to hear that the service was prompt when the toilet starting acting up. In regards to the wireless signal, the walls in the building are thicker than most and can disrupt the signal at times. We’ve heard guests that have issues in certain rooms and not others, but the roof deck does have an unobstructed signal so it will consistently get speeds of 500kb/s and above. We are working on improving the wireless network so that the signal is fast and reliable in every room of the hotel. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New Orleans for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#31 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#7 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,887 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C Hotel
Q&C Hotel
#3 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#36 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Address: 535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.