We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Royal Crescent

Save Saved
You added The Omni Royal Crescent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Omni Royal Crescent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #30 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfortable and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My friend and I decided to take a girls trip to NOLA and we were happy to have stayed at the Omni Royal Crescent!

Unfortunately our first encounter with an employee wasn't the best, as she was far from warm (Note to the hotel manager, we checked in the morning of Nov 15th and the employee was a young woman with long dark hair). Instead of hearing "welcome to the omni" we heard "whats your confirmation number?" At first I was a little unsure as to why we had decided to stay here. Luckily once we got to our room and settled in things were a little better. When we returned to the front desk for directions, a very different, warm and welcome young woman (blond hair pretty accent) was there to help us. I believe we only saw the one unfriendly employee one other time during our stay, but we were sure to avoid her. Everyone else in the building was very warm, and accommodating. Since we were new to the city it was nice to have restaurant recommendations, and to know where NOT to go in terms of safety.

The room itself was small but very comfortable. The bed was soft, and hotel services were very happy to supply extra pillows and towels when needed. The bathroom was always stock with necessities. It was nice to have a small fridge in the room for leftover because there are SOOO many good places to go eat.

If you stay here please remember the red and green beads on your door. The unfriendly woman at the desk didn't tell us that you'd need to put one or the other on your door knob each day. The red beads were a do not disturb or do not clean. The green beads would read we have left the room please clean. We did wake up late a couple of days and still had the chance to hang the green beads on the door even after 2pm and our room was still cleaned and taken care of.

We did not end up eating downstairs at the restaurant, but please note that Mother's Restaurant (which is very well known, and home of the original Po'boy) was VERY close by (about 2 blocks down and one over).

We were very happy with our choice to stay close to the french quarter but not in it. You are only about 2 blocks away from the french quarter and all of its fun! We did plenty of tours (haunted, swamp, city, plantation, etc) and some of them were even willing to drop us off at our hotel which was nice and convenient. By the way I highly recommend Haunted Tours and Cajun Encounters.

Overall I would highly recommend the Omni Royal for the price (we got their online special of $144/night) comfort and value....I really don't think you could wrong! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the Camp Street side of the hotel, as the Gravier side has construction going on. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're sorry for the initial encounter at check-in, but glad that the rest of our staff was able to make you feel comfortable and answer any questions during your stay. We hope to see you next time you're in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    269
    62
    33
    16
See reviews for
83
338
46
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed at Omni Royal Crescent in November 2012. My wife and I both like Omni Hotels in general due to the overall quality and service we have received at multiple locations. This hotel maintains the excellent standards of Omni. Check in was seamless and our room was ready. We stayed in room 707, a corner room. The room and bathroom were clean. The bed was very comfortable. The view isn't the greatest and the room had windows on two walls that let in a lot of light. The shower is big with plenty of hot water and a good shower-head. Unfortunately there is a lot of construction going on in New Orleans right now. A hotel across the street had a crane going all day and was noisey. Also the truck noise from the street was more than I expected. The location is very good for the French Quarter, it is a easy walk to the Quarter and Harrahs. Parking is an extra charge in addition to the room charge. Parking is off site and you have to call down ahead of time to have the valet bring the car around. Overall a very god stay, just a little noisey after 8am.

Room Tip: High up, away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay, but we're sorry for the noise. Unfortunately the construction is not under our control, so it's a bit louder during the day than usual. We're happy to provide ear plugs upon request or accommodate a room change if our occupancy allows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Central location just a few blocks from Harrahs casino, nice walk to the french quarter and not that far from Bourbon street. All staff was young but professional and knew what they were doing. Rooms were nice and clean but not a a good view of the city. One of our only complaints that are room had not been attended to when we returned from sight seeing after being out from 10 am to 5 pm. Overall a good experience would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Omni Royal Cresent. As frequent visitors to New Orleans we are always looking for nice hotels that are a little quieter, but close enough to the action. The Omni Royal Cresent fit the bill.
The room was very nice, the service was great and I truly felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed here. I like the clean appearance of the hotel and the rooms. The beds are comfortable the bathrooms are small but all is there that you need. It is always a bargains on Hotels.com. I would reccomed this to anyone who is looking for a good hotel near the fun of the French Quarter but not directly in it. It's two blocks to the Quarter.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel has a great location, 10 minute walk to the French Quarter, close to lots of ammenities, restaurants. 15 minute walk to Superdome and New Orleans Arena. Very clean, great staff, would stay again. The only downsize is the fitness facility only has 2 treadmills and 2 ellipticals, very small and limited.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is two very short blocks west of Canal Street, and thus extremely close to the historic French Quarter. It has all of the charm of a small, very well-run boutique hotel. The staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful. I can recommend without reservation. The only downside might be the restaurant. They do a good job, but they did not get overwhelmed by simple things: like busing tables for new customers and, in general, keeping up. But not a major concern.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Royal Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Royal Crescent

Address: 535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Royal Crescent 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Omni Royal Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Royal Crescent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.