We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facilities of a 4-star, services of a 5-star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Royal Crescent

Save Saved
You added The Omni Royal Crescent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Omni Royal Crescent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #25 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Connecticut
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Facilities of a 4-star, services of a 5-star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

A terrific bargain, great location, lovely hotel.
Many of the benefits of a boutique without the cost. The front-desk staff here is beyond phenomenal - the attentiveness, service orientation, and "welcoming" spirit are unmistakable. It's the sort of reception & continuing service that we've always enjoyed at top-tier Montreal hotels: You're never at risk of being ignored or treated like a number, and get the definite message that your business is appreciated.
Services here are exceptional for the price: Free overnight shoe shine. Join the Omni loyalty program and get free-wifi and free morning beverage delivered to your rooom. (Tip: Save a couple of these cards, so on your final morning you can get both o.j. AND coffee. Take along a breakfast bar, carry the tray to the sundeck and enjoy a relaxing fresh-air morning poolside with a newspaper & mini-breakfast. Greatly relaxing way to prep for the journey back home). Need a printer? They allow guests to email the front desk with a word document or pdf & they'll print it for you. (Hugely helpful if you're attending a convention).
Housekeeping is first rate, too. There seems to be a good number of staff folks, and they're always pleasant.
Service and value are pretty much the reason for my high rating here.
The building itself is older and doesn't qualify as a 5-star. Rooms are fine - good space, nicely decororated. There's no New Orleans theme to the decor, though, which seems like a missed opportunity.
My seventh-floor room was quiet - it's an older downtown hotel, but not like so many where the street noise really blasts through. Bathrobes provided, excellent bathroom amenities, and overall generous storage space.
The lobby is modest and small, the gym is fully suitable without being any kind of "wow" ... and the pool is strange. It's an outdoor, very very large hot tub- you could probably fit a dozen people or more. But the water is barely above pool temperature. So it's not functioning as a hot tub, and it's way to small to be a pool. The sun deck is small but very pleasant - in the good weather, this is a great city for lying in the sun but there are very few spots to do that.
The pricing here is excellent, and the value is undeniable - especially if you join the Omni loyalty program and make use of its offerings.

Room Tip: 7th floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for all the compliments about our staff and we hope to see you in New Orleans soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    232
    57
    28
    12
See reviews for
72
280
45
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Choose this hotel for our week long stay in New Orleans. Perfect! Two blocks from Canal Street, we were able to enjoy all the fun, music and crowds in the French Quarter and return to a peaceful oasis at night. Within walking distance of all attractions and the streetcar lines. This hotel offers a lovely room with excellent service. The front desk staff was delightful and more than happy to help with any questions we had about the city. Anna and Sarah knew all the best tours and places to eat and were happy to share that information.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Booked this hotel for 200 euros for 3 nights. Was pleased with the price until we arrived.
It turned out we could not escape the valet parking of the hotel since there were no parking garages nearby. That alone added 30 dollars + tax a night to the room. Above that you have to pay a ridiculous 10 dollars a night for the WiFi in your room since it's only free in the lobby. Rooms are clean but nothing special. Did not like that the air con was placed right next to the bed and because of that the wind kept blowing in my face.
The hotel is located just outside the French Quarter. Very close to Bourbon Street but in a quiet street. I did not feel very pleasant walking back at night since there are a lot of homeless people in the street and you have to walk through a quiet part of the city center.
Will not book again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. There is street parking available near the hotel, but of course that's at your own risk. Our valet is competitively priced for the city. While WiFi is $10 per night, it is free if you sign up for our Select Guest program which is free to join.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hotel is small, but in the ideal location for site seeing in New Orleans, we walked everywhere, room was clean and cozy (see pics). First room we were given wouldn't get warm. I called the front desk they sent maintianace up immediately, they couldn't resolved the problem so the manager switch me to another room which was a little smaller but very comfortable. The hotel restaurant has the best gumbo in town.I have no complaints about this hotel..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

very helpful wonderful staff. Very nicely appointed rooms. Couple blocks from the quarter - easy to walk back and forth and feel secure. We were in a group of 6 couples and we all really loved the hotel. Only complaint was the shower doors that covered only 1/2 the tub and caused water to flow on the floor that we mopped up.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Omni Royal Crescent, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thanks for posting a review. We're actually working on a replacement for the half shower doors so hopefully that will be fixed soon. We hope to see you next time you're in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This hotel is located close to French Quarter, easy walking to Bourbon Street, the convention center, and French Market area. You can easily pick up the trolley to the Garden District. Easy walk to most restaurants as well as Harrahs for their casino. The staff here is great and went out of their way to assist us. The rooms are on the small side, but so are most rooms in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - it may not be great, but at least you aren't on the interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The room wasn't huge, but was very clean and nicely decorated. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, within walking distance of everything. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni Royal Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Royal Crescent

Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Address: 535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Royal Crescent 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Omni Royal Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Royal Crescent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.