We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Value, Nice Modern Version of an Omni” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Crescent Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #48 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Value, Nice Modern Version of an Omni”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I highly recommend this. Staff was great. Room rates were reasonable. Rooms and fitness center area were a little small, and the restaurant closed a little early. However I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

The Omni Royal Crescent is an ideal place to stay in New Orleans. Although this is a boutique style hotel, the place offers lots of value.

Rooms:
The nicely decorated rooms have been renovated, featuring a large marble bathroom, flat screen TV, a safe for your valuables, a fridge, and plenty of lighting.

Location:
The hotel is located just two blocks away from the French quarter, yet is far enough away that it's peaceful late at night. I was in town for a conference so the Morial Convention Center was an easy 10-minute walk form the hotel.

Amenities:
The sixth floor has the a rooftop deck with wading pool, exercise room with TV, and sauna. Even two yoga mats were available.

"Dress It" is the on site restaurant. They offer a breakfast buffet for $14.99. It may sound pricey but there was a vast selection of breakfast foods to suit any desire.

Taxi Service:
The hotel can make arrangements with a taxi company to take you to the airport once your stay has ended. Just let them know what time you require a taxi the night before.

Cool hallways:
Although not very necessary in March, I can see how having ultra cool hallways can be a relief in those humid summer months.

Professional front desk staff:
I found them to be very cordial and on the ball. I ran out of tissues and requested a new box, which arrived less than 5 minutes later. The staff wish you well when you leave for the day and welcome you back when you return: a very nice touch.

Elevators:
My room was on the sixth floor but the wait time was very short every time, even on checkout day.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
We're glad to hear you think we're an ideal place to stay in New Orleans. Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Though I did not notice that our reservation only specified the number of adults (3), not the number of beds (2 that I had specified), the hotel did agree to upgrade us (for no extra cost) to a king suite because one room with one bed, with an additional cost for a rollaway was not acceptable to us. Not only was the suite quite spacious but housekeeping did a perfect job for the three days of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank painterhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Omni Royal Crescent for 4 nights and we were extremely satisfied with this little boutique hotel. I have always been an Omni fan and love their morning beverages & free internet for Omni Select Guests. This trip proved to be another great experience with Omni. The front desk staff, Sarah, and the Loyal Ambassador, Bradley, were most helpful and friendly. We were offered a free upgrade to the Junior Suite and there was a separate sitting room with 2 single sofas, an ottoman, a coffee table and a flat-screen TV. We spent lots of relaxing afternoon hours in the sitting area chatting, taking a nap, watching TV, and we did feel that Omni was “a home away from home”.

Though a room with no view, the bedroom was quite big with a King bed, a single sofa, a huge desk and another flat screen TV. However, the bed and the TV cabinet were so close that we could not even open the cabinet door all the way to get to the fridge…no big deal, just a little inconvenient! The bed was very comfortable but I missed the fluffy duvets like those offered by Sofitel, W, St. Regis & Westin. The complimentary morning beverages (2 drinks per guest) were most remarkable and a great start in the morning.

From other reviews I read that Omni Royal Crescent’s bathrooms were small and there were only half-size glass doors that failed to keep the water to the showers or bathtubs. That was NOT the case in the huge marble bathroom of the Junior Suite. We had a big bathtub with a powerful jacuzzi and double shower curtains. The bathroom was SOOO big that you could actually put a dining table in the middle. The vanity countertop was over 8 feet long!!

The location of Omni Royal Crescent was excellent and we felt quite safe walking back to the hotel from the French Quarter at night as there were other pedestrians on the streets too (Sheraton & La Quinta were just round the corner). It’s only a 10-minute walk from Bourbon Street. Most of the streets in the French Quarter and Central Business District (where Omni located) were washed and cleaned early every morning, but the smell of garbage on basically all streets in the French Quarter was terrible. We were glad we did not stay in the French Quarter as I needed to use my asthma puffer every morning when walking in the French Quarter before 9 a.m.

Walking to Café du Monde was only about 10-15 minutes and we had no trouble getting a seat for 2 of the mornings that we went before 9 a.m. Their beignets were excellent and delicious (way better than a lot of our donuts here in Canada) but I found the café au lait too milky. If you don’t want to have beignets, sorry, just get a drink as there was no other food choice. One morning we had breakfast at Daisy Dukes (only $3.99 before 9 a.m.) on Charters which was a 5-minute walk from the hotel.

From New Orleans’ tourism website www.neworleanscvb.com I was redirected to get some fantastic restaurant coupons and was able to use $5 to buy a $25 gift certificate. You need to do some homework and specify which restaurant it's for. On some days you could get them for $2 - a $23 discount! Just be careful that they do have a minimum charge and only 1 certificate could be used per table per party per month. I also bought a New Orleans Entertainment Book for less than $20 and we got lots of 2-for-1 coupons for great attractions like Steamboat Natchez, museums and Grayline tours (the Hurricane tour, Laura Plantation tours & swamp tours are must-dos). There were also some coupons in the New Orleans Official Visitor Guide 2011 that you could get for free. We saved over $300 on food and sightseeing in 4 days.

New Orleans is a great place full of history and life and we would definitely stay at Omni Royal Crescent if we are to visit the “Mardi Gras World” again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wismergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thanks for choosing to make us your home away from home on your visit to New Orleans. It sounds like you saw a lot during your four day stay. We hope you'll come back and explore more of the city in the future and we hope you'll stay with us when you do. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethel, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday. We absolutely enjoyed it! The service was exceptionally well.Since I had joined their Select Member program when I made the reservation, we were upgraded to the Omni suite! The bed was comfortable and the views were amazing! The bathroom was marble and large enough for 2 people to get ready in.

There is 1 and only 1 problem: there is a goofy glass half-door for the shower that doesn't keep much water in the tub.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BR_Medic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thanks for choosing to celebrate your wife's birthday with us. We're glad you had such a great stay and we hope you'll come back next year to celebrate again. It's great to hear we lived up to our reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel back in December and have to say that it is a great hotel in a great location. It is in a quieter area of New Orleans but not a far walk from all the main attractions. The staff was very friendly at and greeted us each time we walked through the lobby. We were given a complimentary upgrade upon check-in and were surprised at the size of the room compared to other accommodations in New Orleans. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superspy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed at the Omni Royal Crescent. The location is great - 2 blocks to the French Quarter, but still quiet. The only complaint was the room's window faced a wall. However, this did make the room very quiet at night. What set the hotel apart was the service of the front desk - they truly wen out of their way to make our stay fantastic

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reliv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
We're sorry your view wasn't more impressive, but we're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the service of our front desk staff. We hope you'll join us again next time you visit New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,246 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#26 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,066 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C Hotel
Q&C Hotel
#9 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Address: 535 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing