We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Atmosphere, Excellent Location, Wonderful Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
canada
1 review
“Beautiful Atmosphere, Excellent Location, Wonderful Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I recently stayed at the Monteleone and was pleasantly surprised with the friendly service and welcoming decor of the hotel. It could not be in a better location, a block from canal street, bourbon street, and a few blocks from decateaur street...everything worth seeing is within walking distance. The beds were lovely and comfortable and the bathrooms were very clean. The only complaints I would have would be that our mini fridge was out of order, which I have seen as well on other reviews and that the pool was quite crowded some days. I would definitely reccomend the Monteleone to someone looking to stay in the french quarter for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,302
    976
    303
    138
    72
See reviews for
561
1,423
124
724
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

My family and I stayed for 4 nights. The Monteleone was in a perfect location in the Quarter. We could walk to everything, and nothing was far. The hotel rooms were smaller than what we normally stay in, but they were perfect for sleeping. The beds were great. I usually have problems adjusting to a hotel bed, but I slept great every night. We were on the top floor, and did not hear street noise. Our friends were down 2 levels, and did hear a lot of noise. I would recommend picking a room that does not face the main streets. The staff was exceptionally great!! I have stayed at the Windsor Court, Sheraton, and Ritz Carlton while in New Orleans before. The Monteleone has everything these did, but at a better price.

We took the kids to the zoo, and a Swamp Tour. They had a blast!! We also did a horse and carriage ride at night where they took us around for 30 minutes to show some sites. Great time, and would do it again when not so hot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Glad you had such an enjoyable experience. Thanks for the positive review. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay in the French Quarter. Getting there by car during the day can be a hassle, because they are often closing off the street for events. If you're going to do your own driving, you might want to stay nearby at the Marriott or the Sheraton. But if you're cabbing it and want a nice place that's an easy walk from everything in the Quarter, this family-owned hotel is as good as it gets.

Rooms can be a little on the cozy side, but are beautiful and immaculately kept. Service is wonderful. They were keeping all the room termperatures at 60 degrees F when I was there in late July, which was a bit chilly. But that initial burst of cold air sure felt good when you walked in from the balmy French Quarter. The Carousel bar is exactly what it sounds like - a bar where the customers' seats rotate around the bar.

Mr. B's restaurant is right across the street, while Brennan's is halfway down the block, and Dicke Brennan's is around the corner. You can eat with the whole Brennan family in one week without hardly leaving your hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
Thanks for the positive review. We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Indiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We recently spent two night at this property when traveling to New Orleans with friends. Our decision to stay here was based on our desire to find a hotel in the French Quarter at a decent rate - this fit the bill. Being a weekend in the summertime, our rates were $109 for the 1st night and $99 for the second night - you'd be hard pressed to find anything else of this quality for those prices.

Highlights of this hotel: smooth check-in and check-out (front desk staff is very friendly and professional...we arrived quite early, but they took our info, allowed us to store our bags, and called us when our rooms were ready), rooms are very clean, nicely decorated, and have fantastic showers and beds (as others have mentioned, yes, they are small, but most historic properties have this issue...how much time are you actually spending in the room?), location is ideal...still within the FQ, but away from the chaos (be sure to wander across the street to the Mr. B's Bistro for a meal or drink...also Royal St. has many antique shops and fun, little boutiques), proximity to a really great bar...you have the Carousel Bar right in the lobby (it really is as special as you may have read in any number of travel guides...there's just a very nice vibe there. Although the actual carousel is the prime seat in the house, we preferred one of the tables for two by the windows overlooking Royal Street - a prime people-watching spot).

We really only had one negative experience at this hotel at that occurred at the rooftop pool. First of all, be aware that this pool is VERY small and VERY crowded...we're talking so crowded that you can barely move in the water. Chairs and chaises are plentiful, but with so many people gathering there, it's almost impossible to find a spot to even put your belongings. Our issue involved the small poolside bar. There was only one bartender on duty and when my husband went up to the window to grab a couple drinks, this server continued to take orders from others, even though my husband had been waiting patiently for some time. At one point he told my husband, "I'll be with you next," and then proceeded to clean counters behind the bar and then turned and once again, waited on female patrons who had lined up. The minute my husband turned around to leave, the guy dropped everything he was doing and then offered to wait on him, even calling across the pool area - it was just crazy; obviously he was playing games. What's that all about? Now normally, we would never do this, but after that treatment (and in protest to the bizarre bartender) my husband went to the nearby Unique Grocery (yes, that's the name), bought a few beers, and brought them up to the pool area where I was finally able to get a table and chairs. Now, we are generally rule-followers and understand the protocal behind not bringing in outside beverages, but after wasting 20+ minutes at the bar and then receiving that treatment, we didn't think twice about our "crime."

Other than this, we had a wonderful stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience, the Executive Office is reviewing your post and would like to be able to speak with you. Please email kcouvillion@hotelmonteleone.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The hotel is in a great location. It's surrounded by great restaurants and art galleries.
The interior is beautiful. I found it to be very clean and well maintained but that doesn't mean it's not without problems. Personally, my room had a broken refrigerator and slow draining bathroom sink. The WIFI did not work well in my room. I spoke to several people about it and the WIFI charge was removed from my bill. (Thx)
The staff behind the lobby desk and at the front door were delightful to talk to. They are very busy but always had time to answer our questions.
The homeless people hanging around the hotel is a real concern. Maybe a security officer at night outside the hotel would help.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience, the Executive Office is reviewing your post and would like to be able to speak with you. Please email kcouvillion@hotelmonteleone.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We got there and we were checked in early just as we requested. The room was slightly smaller then what we expected but none the less very cozy.The shower was so fantastic that my boyfriend couldn't stay out of it. Also, the bed was super comfortable. He has back pain and after a nap or so he said he always felt good. As for the location, It was right inside the french quarter but far enough away from Bourbon St. The WIFI sucked as we couldn't really log on but they were kind enough to take the charge off the bill. Over all, we really needed the rest so this place served its purpose for the three days we stayed there.We will definitely go back. I just hope that next time the refrigerator will work. Also, the maid service was really slow but once they get in they do a great job.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
Thanks for all of the positive reviews. We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I won a trip to stay at the hotel. The staff were warm and friendly, opening doors and asking if we needed help. The rooms are small, but nicely decorated. The prices in the restaurant were way overpriced for the quality. However, the service was great. The location was great, just a block over and you were on Bourbon Street, but still quiet . Would definitely stay again, but wouldn't pay to eat (our food was free).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.