We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Elegance and Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We planned a trip to New Orleans, before the Super Bowl wasdecided. Once we discovered that the Saints would be playing the week-end that we would be in town, we were mixed with excitement and fear over the crowds. The Hotel Monteleone handled the throngs of excited fans with grace and style. You would have never known by the positive attitudes and clenliness that anything of great importance was occurring this particular week-end. The front desk was more than helpful, kind, patient, and had positive attitudes. The Carousel lounge was beyond full with over excited patrons, and service was somewhat slow, but, the bartenders were pleasant and making the best of an over the top situation. The hotel was clean, and remained clean despite the number of people and overzealous patrons. Everything went very well, on a very difficult and exciting week-end in New Orleans. Our room was on the front of the hotel, and yes, as the celebration continued, over the Saints win, into the wee hours of the morning, it was somewhat noisy, but nothing that you couldn't tune out and sleep right on through. We were in New Orleans in what has been determined to be the most exciting week-end, ever, in New Orleans, and the Hotel Monteleone handled it well, and with totally positive attitudes and style. No employee was short tempered or negative, down to the housekeeping staff, as we had a delayed check out. Everyone was nice, and the hotel handled the throngs of people with styel and utmost grace. We didn't utilize the pool, but did check it out for future stays, and it looks absolutely fantastic and inviting. It was heated, and very nice, on the rooftop. Overall, I don't see how anyone could go to New Orleans and stay anywhere but at the Hotel Monteleone. It was the best of the best, in New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    863
    262
    123
    63
See reviews for
462
1,198
113
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Old fashioned historic hotel in a prime sightseeing location. Half block from Bourbon Street. Nice gym with a great view but no free weights. Small rooftop pool (not big enough for laps).

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

I had a fabulous time at the Monteleone. The rooms were very nice. The bed was so comfortable and the staff was great! Right in the heart of the French Quarter, it is a definite must stay!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

hotel gave room key to someone not in my party. I found the guy asleep in the bed . . . after he had hit the mini-bar. I feel fortunate that he wasn't a theif, rapist or murderer. Hotel initially said they would investigate and then said it never happened. i have stayed here many time - but never again. Mistakes happen - even crazy mistakes like this. But the hotel refuses to accept any responsibility. Yikes!!!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noniches, Ronald Pincus, General Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
We have thoroughly investigated the January 26, 2010 comment from billieb123. It is and has always been the policy of Hotel Monteleone to require photo identification of anyone requesting a guest room key to assure the requesting individual is the legitimate registered occupant of the room.
In this particular instance, no additional key was made by our hotel staff. An audit of the electronic guest room lock indicated that the only entries to their room were by the keys given to the registered occupant, billieb123. The safety and well-being of our guests is a priority, and our employees are very knowledgable of our security policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We were very happy with our accomodations here. The room was clean and in good condition the staff were helpful. The mini fridge had two bottles fall out and I took them to the front desk and they did not charge me for them. The rooms compared to the other two hotels we have stayed at in the area were average size. I don't know why all the hotels here have such small rooms. One nice benefit of this hotel is that it is a quieter area than Bourban but, within walking distance to all the night life.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Hotel is beautiful and service was very friendly and helpful. Of course location is fantastic. We stopped into the Carousel Bar for a drink and it was charming. We ordered room service for breakfast a couple of times and the food was very good and it was delivered at the exact time we wanted. We had two separate stays in one week. The first stay we were given a Preferred King Room but not charged any extra. It was a corner room with great views of the city. It was a nice size. During our second stay we were surprised with a beautiful suit and again did not have to pay extra. Again we had great views of the city. The bed in the suit was more comfortable than the one in the first room. The only negative thing I can say is that they charged us twice for our second stay but reversed the charges before I noticed it and when I told them I was charged bank fees they reimbursed me immediately. In fact, they reimbursed me more than the bank had charged me. All in all, we had two wonderful stays and are looking forward to returning to the Monteleone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

6 of stayed here in 2 rooms. First mistake! I forget how small double beds are, and there is no room for a cot. In fact...we didn't know where to put our suitcases. I've stayed in small NYC hotels..but this was small! Toilet flushed LOUD!! Cleaning staff started cleaning at 9am on sunday. Check-out was 11am. We were woken up by them vacuuming above us and banging on our door to service the room. We were not checking out until monday so we found that annoying. Hotel is close to Bourbon St, Canal St, etc. But also right next door to the police station. Every morning we heard sirens! One of my friends said she heard a shooting friday night, but I did not. You definately heard people on the street, and we were on the 10th floor. Spa wasn't that great either. 55$ pedicure that was just so-so...and had to sit for 1hr for polish to dry because they have not heaters. Also, the bar staff was rude. We weren't able to all fit at the carousel so we sat at a table...no one else was there, and the waitress was like..oh did you want something. Most of the staff at the front desk had a european accent and never understood anything we asked. We asked the bellman for a cab for 7am the next day for the airport. We got to the lobby at 6:50 and a different bellman was harrassing us for being late? WTF? anyway..wouldn't stay here again, I thought it would be cute and quaint..but it was a disaster

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.