We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Stay at Monteleone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
128 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Stay at Monteleone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

A group of us went to NOLA to celebrate my 40th Birthday. We all stayed at Monteleone. I have not stayed here in over a year, and after reading some of the recent reviews I was concerned that something had changed. In the past Monteleone has been perfect all around. The recent bad reviews make no sense. They must be very picky people or not real reviews.

From the moment we walked in every person was very friendly and helpful. Some of us drove in and others flew. Some of us had suites, others basic rooms. We were also a large group of women, so we were high maintenance. I can't think of any service we didn't use. Every person we dealt with had a smile, and got to know us. If we saw a staff member on the street, they would say hello. Even the house cleaning would take a minute to give us advice on where to go and what to do. Concierge was very patient with us. We had many requests, and they did everything possible to meet those requests. On the first day one of the employees heard us talking about trying to get tickets to a concert. Later that day, he called us and told us he found tickets for us. (Thanks Rolando). We never had to do research on what to do, we just had to ask a staff member what was going on and they would rattle off many options. They really took a personnel interest in making sure we had a good stay at the hotel and in New Orleans. I don't understand the people who claimed the staff was unfriendly. Far from it.

All the rooms were great. The beds are very comfortable. I know some people feel that the basic rooms are very small. I guess I have seen much smaller in New Orleans. In one of the smaller rooms at Monteleone we had 9 women in the room visiting. A really small room would not fit 9 talking women. (I did hear that 3rd floor rooms are the smallest, but have not been in a 3rd floor room) I stayed in a 2 room suite. It was AWESOME! In the large sitting room there was a 1/2 bath, and lots of seating. We had views of the river and royal street, corner room. The bedroom was a good size and very comfortable. The main bath was very big, with a wonderful shower and a great jacuzzi tub. We also had a more basic suite that is also nice. It is two rooms, but seperated by french doors and just one bath. This suite is also very large and a good place to entertain, but there is one bath and it is basic.

Room service was great. They do close early. At 10 pm. But the front desk has a bunch of menus from restaurant that deliever to the hotel. We ordered from one place around 3 am, and got great food delivered in 15 minutes to our room.

The pool at the Monteleone is a great place to visit with people, or relax by the pool. It is laid out so you can do either.

It did take awhile to get one of our rooms, but we all wanted to be close together. It was not a problem though. They took our cell # and our luggage and called us when the room was ready. Not a big deal. The only other thing about Monteleone is dealing with the different towers, or whatever they are called. For example, a group of us was on the 15 th floor. To get to the Pool we had to take the elevator down to the 14th floor, walk down the hall to another set of elevators and take it up to the Roof. Not a big deal, just confusing at first.

I was also impressed with the security at the hotel. Late at night it was great to see a security presence.

Location has been mentioned often. If you are going to be up late at night this is very important in The Quarter. Monteleone is a great location for late night, both safety and convenience. Tons of excellent restaurants are right there. It is also great to have a Walgreens next door. There is also a liquor store 1/2 a block away.

Can't wait to return. Thanks to all at Monteleone.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,587
    1,049
    323
    149
    81
See reviews for
636
1,563
133
807
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We have stayed at the Hotel Monteleone previously, so we knew the quality and location would be good. We were not disappointed this time. The hotel is still very clean and comfortable. The floor we stayed on was extemely quiet. Overall, it was a good experience. The Carousel Bar in the lobby is always a treat. The price of $149 per night for a king room was very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

My family and I decided to take an end of the summer getaway before school started. We drove to New Orleans and stayed at the Montelone Hotel. I found a great deal on the hotel. All of my requests were met (non-smoking, high floor). We had a lovely room that overlooked the Mississppi River. No noise whatsoever.
We visited the fitness center and the lovely rooftop swimming pool daily. Great views from both facilities. Never went to any of the restaurants, but my husband and I did visit their famous Carousel Lounge for a couple of free drinks (part of the the package).
Our only complaint about the hotel, (but I understand that is typical for NOLA), was the cost of parking. At the time, we probably paid close to $30 per night. So be prepared!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

This hotel is very good at doing the things you don't care about, and bad at doing the things you do care about. People offer to carry your bags 5 feet to your car, and give you a gracious "Welcome to the hotel" spiel when you check in. On the other hand, when you arrive in the morning and can't check in until 5pm, that's annoying. When you find several dirty towels in your shower, that's annoying. When you have to wait 10 minutes in line to get to the front desk, that's annoying. The only upside to this hotel is the location. Other than that there isn't much reason to recommend it. It's a bad hotel trying to pretend it's a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel was in great condition and is in an also great location. However, the service as this hotel is extremely rude and inconsiderate. For the amount of money being paid, we as customers should expect a certain level of service and hospitality. My fiance was sick one evening and we were trying to find something as easy as a piece of bread or bagel. The front desk staff referred us to the mini-bar items, all of which she was allergic to. After countless calls, no one at the hotel could offer anything to satisfy our request. I will never again willingly stay at this hotel, or a Summit hotel for that matter.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mibelle1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

The hotel is just as beautiful as the pictures on line. from the moment we stepped out of our cab the service was first class. The one thing we love about New Orleans is that everyone is so gracious and the Monteleone gets it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We will stay here again. The hotel has an aged elegance but is not out dated. The staff was prompt and courteous. We almost never waited for an elevator. The rooms were very comfortable and upscale with great views of the city or the river, we had two rooms. The location was great, not too close to Bourbon St. but not too far either. Easy walk to Jackson Square. The pool was on the roof with a great view and a bar too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,796 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,055 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#6 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,500 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 155 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.