We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Promotional Rates
Ranked #11 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

The room rates seemed high for the size of the room, but when you stay at a historic hotel in a downtown location, that's to be expected. The room was clean and comfortable. A few channels on the television were difficult to watch due to static - don't know how this can happen with cable TV. The windows were single-glazed, meaning that noises from the street could be heard in an 8th floor room as if they were just on the other side of the glass - like the guy playing his harmonica until 2 AM. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. The hotel itself was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the in-house restaurants were very good. The pool area was a relaxing place to not only swim, but also just sit and read the newspaper. If you forgot anything there's a Walgreen's across the street. Bourbon Street is 1 block away. Restaurants, art galleries, shops and historic sites are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,463
    741
    218
    109
    59
See reviews for
362
971
95
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We're regulars to New Orleans. Thought we'd try a new place. Monteleone is pretty from the street and beautiful in the lobby. It's a nice, old, charming hotel, but I have to agree with most of the recent reviews - it is not cheap, the rooms are terribly small, they charge for internet access ($10 a day), and it can be noisy. The rooftop pool is very nice and warm. One big problem: for two of our four nights there, our neighbors next door had all night parties which kept us awake the entire night. We complained to management. They sent up security (who made as much noise as the guests). Quiet for a half hour, then the party resumed. Very aggravating. Probably should have kicked them out. The hand slap was not effective. Course, this IS New Orleans...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Miss.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for three nights with our two youngest children, ages 3 and 5. We were pleased with everything. The staff was outstanding and eager to help in every way. The room was nice, beds soft. The roof top pool was very nice, and we swam every evening. No real complaints.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

For the rate we paid, the hotel is not worth it. Accordingly to locals, the Monteleone sold the hotel a few years ago and things have never been the same. Though the hotel is historic, the hotel people are indifferent to you. No help with bags, etc.

The one thing going for it is it's location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

My husband and I visited New Orleans this past weekend to get away without the kids. We splurged on a Junior Suite at $259/night. The room was perfect. The bathroom had a huge jacuzzi tub and a separate two spray shower. There was no view from our room on the 4th floor as we looked out on to the back of buildings, but our room was off to the side in side wing and was exceptionally quiet. Our favorite thing was the location of this hotel. Being just on Royal at Iberville allowed us to return to our room easily while enjoying Bourbon Street on Saturday night. I would actually go back to my room to use the restroom instead of attempting the bathroom at some of the bars! We would definitely return to this hotel!
We also got a couples massage at their AriaSpa. This spa is no frills, but the massage therapists were very good and it was very convenient being located in our hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed at the Monteleone for a wedding in March. The check-in was easy and quick. The problem was with the size of the room. We stayed in a Traditional King and it was tiny! There was barely enough room to walk around once we put our luggage in there. There is basically the bed and a small desk up against a wall. The other main problem was with the tiny bathroom. There was no counterspace for my makeup bag! It was very dated and not very comfortable. For the rate we paid, it was not worth it. Another negative was the slow elevators.
But there are some positives as well. The location is great- very close to Canal Street, the French Quarter and Jackson Square. Also, the Carosel Bar is great! It slowly revolves and fun atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

My laptop and printer were stolen from my room. Housekeeper had only other access and hotel did nothing to help me--say I am SOL!!! Then charged me to use the internet!!!

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Amex, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.