We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always have a good stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
iluvdatiger
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always have a good stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for the LSU vs Ohio National Championship game. I have stayed here at least two other times and have had nothing but good experiences. The hotel and staff are all friendly and helpful. The Carousel Bar is a favorite of mine. One time we had a pretty small room, but the other times, we had a good size room and during this most recent visit, we had a suite! The rooms were very clean and nicely updated. The bedding was good quality. I slept on the couch one night and was just fine. This is a great stay during christmas time too and you can get a better rate during december. Good place for couples to stay.

  • Liked — great location in the quarter
  • Disliked — I liked everything!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,431
    729
    216
    109
    59
See reviews for
351
952
95
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

For years we have stayed at the Monteleone because of the location, and the room was pretty fair for the price.

However, we have learned that you must bring the booking information with you, because you may get a hassle from the front desk. Once we checked in, only to recieve a call from the front desk asking us to leave the room becuase the people that booked the room were going to be arriving soon. (They did not believe that we were "those people").

Each year the rates continue to climb, and the service continues to decline. There is no sense of urgency about repeat business, and for the first time in 10 years of booking rooms for Mardi Gras, we are looking to stay someplace else. Mainly because we understand that we will not be missed.

I have stayed in New Orleans many times over the years, and know that there are friendlier places, that are just as comfortable, and want us to come back.

  • Liked — My familiarity with the location.
  • Disliked — The hassle from the front desk.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Stayed at the Monteleone over Christmas (excellent prices available over the holidays). Our room was 3rd floor right over the entrance, but the noise on Royal St. rarely bothered us over our 5 night stay. The beds are outstanding -- my wife and I both slept like logs. The rooftop pool is heated (really heated, like bath temperature) and we were lucky enough with the weather to spend Christmas day getting a tan drinking beverages that we bought in the Carousel (the poolside bar was closed for the winter and/or holidays I guess). Only real difficulty was the valet service which kept losing the info on our car and slowing us down somewhat (we were in no hurry, so no biggie). As it turns out, while we were waiting for our car in the lobby, we were twice entertained by Christmas activities (an adorable choir of 5-year-old girls and some historical re-enactor types including "Papa Noel"). All in all, very festive atmosphere at the hotel during ostensibly a "dead" part of the tourist season. Didn't eat at the Hunt Room or the Cafe so can't report on those, but did spend some time in the Carousel Bar, which is everything a good hotel bar should be (try the Abita Select on tap -- it's awesome!). And as everyone has pointed out, the location is great -- easy walking distance to Bourbon, Canal Street, the CBD, the riverfront, and the St. Charles streetcar.

This was our second visit to the Monteleone, and it won't be our last. It's a lovely place with a great old-world vibe to it.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The parking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Just got back from New Orleans. Our stay at the Hotel Monteleone was just fine. The room was nice, no complaints. Make sure you ask for a room with a view, (may be an "upgrade"); certain wings of the hotel building are "U" shaped and the room windows face in toward each other.

Everything about the hotel was very pretty, I just would have liked to stay in a hotel with more windows and sunlight and a nicer lounge area. The carousel bar was pretty, but small and the spinning I could do without!!! I'm really not complaining but to me a clean room is fine, it's the lobby, lounge, bar area that really make a hotel. We stayed with friends and we'd meet at a different hotel for a drink, instead of our own, before heading out. The Omni on St. Louis, and the Sonesta on Bourbon are places to check out if you enjoy a little relaxation and a nice cocktail before or after heading out into the fun of New Orleans!

Go to Mr. B's across the street for lunch, a GREAT restaurant with a real old time "business lunch" feel.

  • Liked — Beautiful renovated hotel, good gym, nice rooftop
  • Disliked — Lounge, evening restaurant.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

The hotel is beautiful and the location can't be beat. Book a room larger than just the standard room. The rooms are nicely furnished and beds are comfy. Everything was perfect during our stay but we did not have to valet park and the line Sunday morning for those retreiving their cars was quite long. The pool are is very nice and the pool was heated above 90 degress - it was in the 50's. The location is ideal.

  • Liked — historic, location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

I was in New Orleans attending a conference and did not have a choice in which hotel I stayed. This hotel turned out to be ideal. It is an older hotel with a lot of charm and character (I usually go for the more modern hotel when I travel in American cities). The location is perfect too, right in the middle of the French Quarter - a couple of minutes to walk to Bourbon St but just far enough away from the noise. The street itself has several good restaurants, gift shops, coffee shops etc. I walked to the famous "Cafe Du Monde" easily from here. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — Comfort, charm, convenience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

This letter is to inform you of our negative experience with the hotel’s valet service. Upon receiving our vehicle from valet, we were making sure our belongings were still there. We discovered that the emergency cash that was hidden in my car was missing. Only a person that put a lot of effort into digging through my car could have found this hiding place. After speaking with the transportation director he informed us that the valet is not responsible for our vehicle. We tried to self park the car upon arriving to the hotel but we were told we had no choice but to valet. This makes us suspicious that the hotel may condone the act of theft and possibly even promote the valets to thoroughly search each car to “see what they can find” as a “bonus”. Although the manager spoke with us he did not seem very concerned at getting to the bottom of the situation. He seemed more concerned about getting us out of the lobby as to not cause a seen in front of other guest. After speaking with several other people from Baton Rouge about our experience, we were told other horror stories concerning Hotel Monteleone’s valet service that had taken place this Mardi Gras as well as for the Kenny Chesney concert just a few months ago. You can be assured that we will never return to this hotel and will be spreading the word to as many people as possible about our experience and the experiences we have learned about from our friends concerning your hotel. To add insult to injury we had to pay $30 for valet to rob us.

  • Liked — It was a nice hotel and nice location.
  • Disliked — Absolutely horrible valet service. Took forever to get the car parked and had items stolen out of car.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Amex, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.