We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Monteleone, but encountered some issues!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Papa Noel Promotion
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved the Monteleone, but encountered some issues!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2004

My friends and I stayed at the Monteleone during the Essence Festival last year. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, although the first room we were in was small, but we were moved to a bigger room. The hotel workers were very kind and helpful and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Our main issue was being scammed by a so-called friend that we met the year before, so be careful, especially when it comes to the cab/hotel fees. Overall my friends and I enjoyed ourselves despite some of the issues we've encountered. This hotel is in the perfect location to everything (i.e., Bourbon St., Walgreens, police dept, ect.). Also, we would recommend that you eat breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, instead of ordering room service because it's a lot cheaper. We would visit the Monteleone again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,879
    863
    260
    123
    63
See reviews for
460
1,194
113
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2004

As previously stated many times on this website, the location is perfect, just one block from Bourbon Street. The rooms however were so small it was almost depressing. The beds however were extremely comfortable. The noisy construction woke me up every morning. Be aware of the doorman trying to trick you into getting a taxi to the airport when it's typically cheaper to get the shuttle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2004

I stayed at the Hotel Monteleone with two friends for a conference and sight seeing. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful especially the huge grandfather clock at the center of the lobby (great picture spot!). You cannot get a better location in N.O.!! It's in walking distance of everything!!
BUT we encountered some specific problems with the hotel service. The first night we were there, my friend noticed a permanent brown stain on the pillow case so she turned it over. The next night we had a pillow fight and as she lifted her pillow the SAME stain was still there! I guess they did not change our sheets.
The next problem occured with the doorman. When we arrived to N.O. we scheduled & paid for the airport shuttle on the day of departure. The day we were leaving, the doorman said that we had no reservations for a shuttle, but he can "hook us up" with his taxi driver buddy. We kindly thanked him and asked for our shuttle since we already paid for it and it was much cheaper, but all of a sudden he starts to argue with us and begins to yell at one of my friends. Within 5 min. we had a full blown argument on the curb in front of everyone, he threw the reservation tickets at my friend, and with anger he "allowed" us to get into the shuttle, while he removed people that did not have reservations. Overall, it's a great hotel, but stay away from the hotel workers!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2004

We booked under the special summer rate of $88, which already had us really excited. The location was excellent...within walking distance of many attractions. The original room we were given, room 534 (BEWARE any rooms that end in 34, or are on a corner) was WAY too small. You could not open the armoire and walk by the bed, nor could you get into the closet with someone standing near you...and the bottom armoire drawers had to be perpetually opened, because the bed was in the way! Also, the bathroom was extremely cramped, and the knob for the shower kept popping off. WELL, THAT WASN'T THE WORST OF IT. At 6:30AM, construction was started outside (I think they were pressure washing the building) and did not stop until 8:00AM. We had a wonderful view of the rooftop of the buildings nearby (awful!) as well as the side of the Bienville side of the Hotel (even worse). We did bring this to the hotel's attention, and surprinsgly, we were moved to the 14th floor, and to a much more spacious room (through a tiny gap in the scaffolding, we could see the Mississippi). At that point, our feelings about the hotel were changed, even though we felt slighted the first night we were there. Front desk service was good, the concierge was helpful, and the overall experience, apart from the first night, was about par for what we expected from New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2004

Our seventh anniversary trip to NO, but our first stay at the Monteleone. We shopped as usual for a "deal" and the B&B special at $129 including full American breakfasts for two reeled us in. We expected sort of bargain accomodations-WRONG! Our room was beautiful, service excellent, terrific view of the French Quarter,and every staff member made us feel that making our stay enjoyable was their top priority. The gravy on the breakfast buffet was the best ever BAR NONE and the location could not have been better. Looking forward to our next stay at this wonderful hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2004

We stayed at this hotel on May 10, 2004. It was beautifuly decorated, clean and the staff was wonderful. I felt very safe in this area of the quarter and if I came back to N.O. this would be the only place I would stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2004

I would go there again and again and again. The beds are the best, the view is wonderful, and the location is great. Royal Street is wonderful to take a stroll. You are in the heart of the French Quarter and everything that you would want to enjoy about the Big Easy is at your fingertips.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.