We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sabetha, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Location is strategic for the French Quarter. We arrived too early but the staff was helpful in checking our luggage so we could feel comforted as we walked the Quarter till the room was ready. That was so nice! Our room with King size bed & very small bathroom was much smaller compared to daughter's room with double beds & a huge bathroom. AND she paid less than we did. I will consider double over a king next time. They do have customer service down as the maid service and hotel doormen were exemplary. We really enjoyed the pool and its location on the roof- a haven in itself. Overall, a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Consider a double bed rather than King for more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We are so glad you had a nice and enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,157
    934
    286
    134
    70
See reviews for
519
1,342
118
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is really a nice historic hotel in the French Quarter.
August is the slow month and the rates are really reduced during this time.
The Carousel lounge is a one of a kind, with revolving seats around the bar and the mixoligists are inside the carousel .

Room Tip: Get a high room . Ask for a river view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We hope to see you again soon for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The Hotel Monteleone suited our needs to relax in the midst of the French Quarter to a T. From the moment we entered the lobby and were greeted by the doorman, to our vehicle door being closed by the valet when we left days later, every hotel employee went out of their way to see that our stay in the hotel was an experience to remember. They were also knowledgeable and helpful when making suggestions for places to fine and places of interest to visit. Located one street over from Bourbon....close enough.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again soon for another great trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The location in the French Quarter provides easy access (walking) within the French Quarter.
Everything about the hotel is wonderful including the computers in the business center. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We had a great experience at the Hotel Monteleone. Earl the valet attendant was especially helpful, and parked our Dodge like a Boss! He was very courteous and helped us with leaving the car parked while we walked around on our last day. Very impressed by his customer service. Thanks Earl!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us! We will make sure Earl gets the recognition he deserves. Thank you for all your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Excellent experience. Rooms are clean, bathroom is a little small but still comfortable. Love the staff and the hotel. This is our third stay this year. The hotel location is perfect for walking anywhere you want to go in the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Suites are very nice if you want more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We love hearing from our reoccurring guests. Thank you so much for staying with us during your visits to New Orleans! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This grand, old hotel is in a perfect location on the edge of the French Quarter. It's location makes it very convenient for walking around the Quarter and quiet enough for sleeping well at night. It is also home to the famous Carousel Bar.

Typical of hotels built in that era, though, the rooms and bathrooms are very small. Also, valet parking is a nightmare. We needed our car twice during our trip. Once it took 20 minutes, and the second time it took over a half hour. Also, The maids didn't get our rooms cleaned until almost 4 p.m., which was annoying since that was the time of day we wanted to come back to the hotel to freshen up for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks regarding parking and housekeeping are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.