We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ole olde classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Ole olde classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The classic remains well maintained and beautiful. After a longer than expected check in, our rooms were just as we requested. Loved the rooftop view during sunset by the pool, Carousel bar with jazz and being in the heart of Bourbon street. But the icing on the cake is when the car is loaded and a handsome man hands us the keys with his smile and sends us off with nice words, friendly attitude of a gracious host, Townsley Hamilton, memorable to the end.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Your trip sounds like it was amazing!! Please come and stay with us again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,302
    976
    303
    138
    72
See reviews for
561
1,423
124
724
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the French Quarter, easy walking distance to everything. The rooms were clean and comfortable... all of the staff was friendly, helpful, and always available. and, of course, one of the most classic Hotel Bars in the world...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so glad you had such a great stay with us! We hope you come back and visit us again soon in New Orleans!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Let me start by saying that I am in the hotel business and have had the opportunity to work in several fine hotels as well as being a guest in many. But Monteleone has a special charm to it. First visited the hotel as a young child when my Grandfather would take us there for vacation. Have been back several times and each time I enjoy this hotel more. It has the charm of an older hotel in the French Quarter, but providing the amenities and services that are expected in a hotel of this caliber. I would truly prefer to stay at Monteleone than at Ritz Carlton just down the street. This hotel has gone through many renovations in the times I have visited, and they have done them right. The roof top pool is rather small, but quaint and still fulfills its needs. A must do is to have a beverage (or two+) at the Carousel Bar. The staff of the hotel was very friendly, from the Doorman, the Front Desk staff, the Room Attendants, Servers and Bartenders and the Concierge. I believe the name of the Concierge was Anne (?), but she was very knowledgeable and interested in making sure I was safe and enjoyed my visit to its fullest with her suggestions in my five days there. This hotel is a nice ritual for me that brought back many memories and enriched them even more with this last trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We love hearing about our returning customers!! Thank you so much for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

GORGEOUS lobby. Friendly staff all around. Luxurious rooms and comfy beds. And my favorite place, the bar! Amazing drinks, friendly and playful bartender. Such an iconic and interesting experience whether your lounging in the swanky lounge or actually sitting on the carousel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received with us! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is my favorite place to stay in the French Quarter, and I am a local. If I plan to be in the quarter for any overnight event or occasion this is where I stay. We love the quaint but modern feel to the hotel, the location, the bar scene, and the clientele. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and well presented. You feel both right at home and extra special at the same time. Additionally, the location allows you to safely visit all the best restaurants and attractions, and I feel completely safe at this hotel. The night guard has been there many years and watches over the place like it was his own. I truly love this hotel and am always excited to be there.

Room Tip: Just ask and they will do all they can to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We love it when locals choose us for a weekend French Quarter get away!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at The Hotel Monteleone for The Tennessee Williams Literary Festival in April 2014 under a festival package for $199 per night (FAR below the standard rate). Due to the historic charm and ambiance of The French Quarter, most of the hotels are highly overpriced. The Hotel Monteleone runs as high at $350-400 a night on weekends. Was our small and basic room really worth that price?....... NO! The room consisted of a king size bed, little walking room and small restroom with nice granite countertops. However, this is The French Quarter and you're paying for the experience. With that in mind, the Hotel Monteleone is a slice of historic Heaven! The lobby is beautiful and leads into a classic carousel bar. Who wouldn't want to roam the same halls as Truman Capote and Tennessee Williams? That's what we came for. The staff of The Monteleone is one of the most hospitable, friendly, helpful and accommodating that I've ever met. They truly go out of their way to impress. Academy Award Nominated Actress Diane Ladd was staying in the hotel while we were there, as part of the literary festival. She's a hoot!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so glad you had such a good weekend staying with us during the The Tennessee Williams Literary Festival, and that you found our staff to be hospitable, friendly, helpful and accommodating! We certainly agree. Please come and stay with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were fortunate to pick Hotel Monteleone on a whim . It is the ONLY place to stay in the French Quarter. The location is perfect with easy access to everything and away from Bourbon Street. The Hotel itself is beautiful, clean and the service amazing. We booked tours through their conceirge which was effortless on our part. The room service breakfast we had was delicious and quick. Our flight was not until later in the day, and when asked they allowed us a later time check out time. Our experience at Hotel Monteleone made our holiday a holiday. We LOVED, LOVED, LOVED our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor Review! Your trip to New Orleans sounded like it was amazing and we are thrilled that our staff was able to help!! Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.