We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried and True” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Covington, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tried and True”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is my favorite place to stay in the French Quarter, and I am a local. If I plan to be in the quarter for any overnight event or occasion this is where I stay. We love the quaint but modern feel to the hotel, the location, the bar scene, and the clientele. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and well presented. You feel both right at home and extra special at the same time. Additionally, the location allows you to safely visit all the best restaurants and attractions, and I feel completely safe at this hotel. The night guard has been there many years and watches over the place like it was his own. I truly love this hotel and am always excited to be there.

Room Tip: Just ask and they will do all they can to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We love it when locals choose us for a weekend French Quarter get away!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,307
    977
    303
    138
    72
See reviews for
561
1,424
125
725
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at The Hotel Monteleone for The Tennessee Williams Literary Festival in April 2014 under a festival package for $199 per night (FAR below the standard rate). Due to the historic charm and ambiance of The French Quarter, most of the hotels are highly overpriced. The Hotel Monteleone runs as high at $350-400 a night on weekends. Was our small and basic room really worth that price?....... NO! The room consisted of a king size bed, little walking room and small restroom with nice granite countertops. However, this is The French Quarter and you're paying for the experience. With that in mind, the Hotel Monteleone is a slice of historic Heaven! The lobby is beautiful and leads into a classic carousel bar. Who wouldn't want to roam the same halls as Truman Capote and Tennessee Williams? That's what we came for. The staff of The Monteleone is one of the most hospitable, friendly, helpful and accommodating that I've ever met. They truly go out of their way to impress. Academy Award Nominated Actress Diane Ladd was staying in the hotel while we were there, as part of the literary festival. She's a hoot!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so glad you had such a good weekend staying with us during the The Tennessee Williams Literary Festival, and that you found our staff to be hospitable, friendly, helpful and accommodating! We certainly agree. Please come and stay with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were fortunate to pick Hotel Monteleone on a whim . It is the ONLY place to stay in the French Quarter. The location is perfect with easy access to everything and away from Bourbon Street. The Hotel itself is beautiful, clean and the service amazing. We booked tours through their conceirge which was effortless on our part. The room service breakfast we had was delicious and quick. Our flight was not until later in the day, and when asked they allowed us a later time check out time. Our experience at Hotel Monteleone made our holiday a holiday. We LOVED, LOVED, LOVED our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor Review! Your trip to New Orleans sounded like it was amazing and we are thrilled that our staff was able to help!! Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I wasn't sure I was going to like this hotel from the pictures because I am very picky about bed linens and bathrooms, etc. and this was a trip with my girlfriend who are as well. This hotel turned out to be great, it was clean and the service was good plus its a block from Bourbon so it was walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so thrilled your trip turned out better than you expected!! Please come and visit with us in New Orleans again soon for another great girls trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiln, ms
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Monteleone was a special treat from my daughter. One night was wonderful but more would have been better. The location is perfect to walk to everything in and near the French Quarter. The hotel it self is so beautiful, 24 hour room service and a roof top swimming pool. My granddaughters loved having a door man. First time I stayed in a hotel that had plush white robes hanging in the closet for you. Enjoyed everything about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so glad you had a good stay! We hope next time you can enjoy more than one night with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We picked this hotel as the other reviews were so positive. It really is a hotel with style in the heart of the action. After an initial glitch where the 3 of us were to share a small double bed (was it the fault of the agent sending through the wrong information??) and a night in a room with no window, we then had a great room with a view to the west. The rooftop pool and the exercise room were a hit and we met some great people up there. Our best times were just hanging in the lobby waiting for friends to arrive, drinking cocktails at the Carousel Bar and trying to work out how the barmen get in and out! The rooms (we saw or stayed in 3 different ones due to the glitch) were clean, beautiful and comfy. Walk out the door and be right in the action. We'd recommend Frenchman Street over Bourbon Street if you don't want to see the sleazy side of the bars.

Room Tip: If you use an agent to book this hotel, ring the hotel and check there are enough beds for the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so glad you had such a great trip!!! The Carousel Bar is a personal favorite of ours too! Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

the hotel is old but they keep it so clean, the room a little small but comfortable, good location to walk to in french quarter. we just unlucky got the room on the side that have no view, our friend got an awesome view of the water, good looking gym and pool but we didn't get to use it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks you so much for your feedback! We hope to see you soon for another great visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.