We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Papa Noel Promotion
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for Essence Festival. What a great property. Perfect walking distance to Bourbon street and all of the great eateries. Rooms were a perfect size and I liked that they had a refrigerator. It didn't really get too cold, but it served its purpose. Gym was nice too.
I would definitely consider this for my stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us over Essence Festival! We are so glad you had a great stay and hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,795
    837
    249
    119
    61
See reviews for
440
1,148
110
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern US
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I was in New Orleans for business and the hotel was obviously a place for both business and leisure travel.

I was tired and attempted to check early but my room wasn't ready. This is where the hotel excelled-- staff person (she had should-length blonde hair-perhaps Stephanie was her name) went out her way to come up with a solution . I can't say enough about how impressed I was and they now have a customer forever.

The rooms are a nice size and seem clean . I originally thought the comforter was a little old timey, but it was appropriately consistent with the theme of the hotel.

The bar in lobby is very cool. It is on a carousel and has a very cool vibe. The crowd is very diverse with good conversation. Give it a try .

The location is great. The walk to Bourbon Street and restaurants is less than 5 minutes. There is a pharmacy in easy walking distance .

You can't go wrong with this property.

My rate was $179/night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are thrilled you had such an amazing stay with us at the Hotel Monteleone and that we now have a customer forever! Thank you so much for your great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was awesome! The lobby was very pretty, and it's location makes it very convenient for the guests to diffuse into the New Orleans culture. The pool was very nice and unique but the workout facility should of had free weights instead of the six machines. Besides that, everything was really nice and the people at the garage were great. Ask for Earl when you're there because he's the man. I would use this hotel again if I come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are so glad you had a great trip with us!! We can't wait to see you again on your next visit to NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Friendly, professional, attentive staff, beautiful styling, creative food and drink -- this hotel is a wonderful travel experience by itself. The perfect location within the French Quarter made it all the more exciting and fun.

Room Tip: High floor, river view suite was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly, professional and attentive. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel has a lot to offer for the price. The lobby is gorgeous. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The locations is perfect in the heart of the Quarter two blocks from Bourbon Street. The rotating Carousel bar is a fun place to hang out. The roof top pool is small, but very nice. The gym has a great view overlooking the river. We ate at the restaurant one night; the food is good but there are much better places to eat in N.O. (like Mr. B's across the street). Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are so glad you found our hotel to have a lot to offer!! That is what we strive for! Hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great hotel, the location was perfect to walk around in the French Quarter, The Hotel was clean & the service was great. We ordered room service and the staff were very prompt & nice. This is my second birthday weekend. Will come back again for another. Thanks!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for a great review and we hope you had a very Happy Birthday weekend!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Ga.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a beautiful hotel in the heart of the French Quarters. We were referred to the Monteleone by the wedding party. Crystal Chandeliers, marble floors, attention to detail are all part of the experience of staying at hotel Monteleone.LOVED the specialty drinks in the bar area. The hotel reminds me of the Waldorf in NYC. It's an old classic, richly appointed like the Waldorf. We did not have a view in our 6th floor room but didn't care because we were out and about every day and night. Don't miss the Cafe Beignet a block and a half away. We have eaten at Cafe du Monde several times and honestly Cafe Beignet is better. Our service wasn't the best but the Beignets were fresher and better. Our rehearsal dinner was at Galatoires a short walk away. The hotel is on Royal street which is blocks or maybe even one block from Canal and Bourbon streets. My 88 year old mother in law could walk it. Oh and the POOL top bar is wonderful. Be sure to check it out.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet but I was told some rooms could be noisy like those in Manhattan. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are so glad you have such an amazing stay with us at the Hotel Monteleone! It sounded like the perfect trip. We hope you had a fantastic rehearsal dinner! Please come visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.