We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the mark in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top of the mark in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hotel Monteleone has a long tradition of providing a historical, elegant, first class accomodation in New Orleans. Location, service, food, bar...can't beat this hotel. It has it all. Not unusual to meet guests who have been coming for 20-30+ years and experienced staff who have been there as long as well. That speaks volumes for seasoned travelers.

Room Tip: Solo travelers will be in the heart of everything, with the Carrousel Bar being a favorite spot for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,432
    729
    216
    109
    59
See reviews for
352
952
95
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is one of the Historic Hotels of the World. It is a stately, beautiful hotel with fantastic staff. The rooms are really small but adequate as you will probably not spend much time in it. The location is perfect. It is within walking distance of everything in the French Quarter that is worth seeing and experiencing. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food and service were both great, if somewhat pricey. You can also not miss a pink drink in the Carousel bar - we received a voucher for a complimentary cocktail at check-in, which was a nice touch. There is not really parking available nearby so you have little option but to use the valet parking offered by the hotel. Nice service but costly at $35 per day. Overall good experience and beautiful, elegant establishment.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so elegant, beautiful, and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Sad. The bar & location are excellent. Major upgrades have occurred to the property. But the service is LOUSY. Totally unprofessional & condescending when confronted. That tells you upmost managment is in on it; at the Monteleone the customer is wrong. Come for a drink & stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Best Things About This Hotel: The Ernest Hemingway suite (1600) is just delightful (see my photos). The suite has two rooms, a living area and small kitchenette and a bedroom/bath combination. The living area is well-appointed with period French furniture, a pull-out couch, and a peaceful light green décor. There is plenty of seating - a couch, three chairs, and full bench, and there are two French doors exiting to a balcony space overlooking Royal Street, with Bourbon Street visible in the distance. The kitchenette has a small refrigerator, icemaker and plenty of barware for a party/drinks before a night on the town. It also closes off completely from the living space with a fixed and folding doors. The master bedroom has two French doors, one of which exits to the pool area and the other to the balcony overlooking Royal. There are no closets, but a large armoire is available for hanging clothes. Of note, there is an adjoining room that you can book to add sleeping space to the suite and it has 2 double beds. The location is unmatched, close to Canal, Decatur, and Bourbon Streets, as well as Jackson Square. Royal Street is wonderful for shopping - antiques, clothing, and especially art/prints. Housekeeping does an excellent job of cleaning and there were more towels than 10 people could have used! The Carousel Bar is a great meeting place, and the space in general in the bar area is more than sufficient to find a seat. Service was outstanding at the bar! Had a wonderful martini recommended by the server - an aignette (sp?).

Things I'd Like to See Improved: There was a long line at check-in, but only two agents were working the desk. A manager should have noticed and increased staffing. I know the Big Easy is slow in pace, but really? When I checked in, I asked if my suite had a sofa bed (as my sister might be joining me for a night); I was told 'no'. When I got to the suite, I found that it did indeed have one, but the suite did not have what was needed to make up the bed (necessitating a call to housekeeping for sheets, pillows and a blanket. The front desk should be more knowledgeable about the rooms in their hotel, especially the suites. Housekeeping only left three coffee pods for the Keurig coffeemaker. At the price of this suite, I'd expect more. The suite is on the 16th floor, and when the hotel is booked (conferences, events like football games), it is quite the wait for an elevator. Lastly, valet parking runs at glacial speed so leave PLENTY of time if you are retrieving a vehicle. Our shortest wait was 20 minutes (and this was NOT peak tourist season in LA); one time the gentleman finished his breakfast (no joke!) before retrieving our car. I hope he was not getting paid for that time. Just unacceptable.

Despite these missteps, I would absolutely stay here again for the convenience of the location, the historical significance of the hotel, the incredible views from the rooftop, and the most unique bar in New Orleans (did I mention that the Carousel Bar rotates?). Even if you don't book a suite, there are plenty of affordable room choices for any budget.

Room Tip: Face Royal Street or get a room high enough for great views in any direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in November. Your remarks regarding check-in have been brought to the management team for review. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Close to everything in the French Quarter, Jackson Square, St. Louis Cathedral, and the downtown business district. Very nice hotel. Room was comfortable, but not large. Bathroom was very spacious and modern. Nice exercise room on top of hotel. Added advantage was that it was very close to, but not right on, Bourbon Street, so it was fairly quiet. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect trip! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel and our stay there. Earl in the garage was awesome as were the other staff members. Rooms were great and hotel is right by everything in the French Quarter. New Orleans was a great place to spend Christmas

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Jetsetter, Amex, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.