We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Conference Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A Great Conference Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just got back from a week at the Hotel Monteleone. I stayed there almost a week during a conference, which was also at the hotel. Almost without exception, the Hotel Monteleone was fabulous. Great location, beautiful and historic facility, friendly staff, good place for a conference, excellent food, rooftop pool, rooftop gym, rooftop bar, etc.
So, the Hotel Monteleone is located one block from Bourbon Street and about a ten block walk from the French Market –just about perfect. New Orleans, and especially the area around the hotel, has a feeling of safety and comfort that puts you at ease to stroll the streets any time of day or night. There are numerous fine restaurants located nearby as well: NOLA, Deanies Seafood, and just too many others to name. There was nearly always someone across the street playing jazz or singing. The whole area just has a real nice feeling.
The hotel is an extraordinarily beautiful facility that’s been owned and run by the same family for some one-hundred and thirty years. The entrance to the hotel and most of the public areas in the hotel are white marble with beautiful crystal chandeliers. They’ve just completed a hotel-wide renovation so the place just sparkles.
The rooms are beautiful, with comfortable beds and well-functioning bathrooms. The bathrooms have all the amenities, including robes (I love having a robe when I’m away from home!). The hotel was full and my room was completely quiet at night. Housekeeping kept the room clean and neat all the while I was there. The one thing that I would change is the air conditioning system. It needs a better blower control. Aside from that minor complaint, the room was perfect.
The rooftop gym and pool facilities were also very well kept. The equipment all worked perfectly and the pool was heated just to the point where it wasn’t cold, but still cool. The view from the rooftop is spectacular and you can relax with a drink (at the bar on the rooftop) outside while looking at the Mississippi River and the town of New Orleans.
I’ve probably never encountered a more helpful and friendly staff. I was making reservations for numerous conference attendees and forgot to make a reservation for myself. Maray, one of the phone reservation assistants, was so helpful in correcting my mistake. I needed to change some of my reservations when I arrived and David, at the front desk, was also just extraordinary. He even offered that if I had any additional needs, he would be happy to help. The staff at the restaurant was lovely to both me and my guests. They made me feel like I was part of the Monteleone family.
The conference facilities were also very good. This, though, is where I would offer one suggestion to the Monteleone: Improve your Audio Visual offerings and support. The AV offerings were very expensive and not very impressive, and if you’re putting on a conference that really doesn’t work all that well. The AV staff was very well versed in the use of the equipment, but were a little too unconcerned about being on site at the right time and monitoring everything to make sure that it was not only working but working well.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are fine. I did not hear any complaints from any of the conferees concerning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in October. It sounds like a great way to spend a conference week. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone - business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,433
    730
    216
    109
    59
See reviews for
352
952
95
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel! Friendly staff! Great rates! Fabulous food! Superb service! We moved over to this hotel from the Royal Sonesta because they didn't have the vacancies available to book with them for our entire stay in NOLA. This hotel was by far so much better. My wife wasn't feeling well the day we were to check out and thankfully they had vacancy so we extended our stay by two nights and we didn't want to leave! Definitely coming back here on the next stop in NOLA!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We look forward to your return to the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel was perfect. Location, service, entertainment, food and bar. We couldn't have asked for more. The staff was attentive. Their recommendations were accurate. The Carousel Bar is worth a visit even if you don't stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't miss the live entertainment in their restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with the Hotel Monteleone! Thank you for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I admit in all my visits to NOLA, I have never sat at the actual carousel bar. I have watched many a Saturday football game in the rest of the bar, though. Pretty, friendly people all cheering for their favorite teams. While we where there, our small couch grouping changed four times. We met folks from Alabama, Ole Miss, A&M (boo!) LSU. Friendliest people in the world, all joined in their love for college football. In the lobby, multiple wedding parties were gathering and we even had a Second Line come through with one couple that just got married. The service was solid, the drinks well done. It's an event any time you are there but you can't miss a Saturday afternoon during football season.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
So happy to hear how you so enjoyed your time at the Carousel Bar. It is a very special place in New Orleans. We hope to see you for another spin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ville Platte
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a great couple getaway weekend at Hotel Monteleone! Super great location. Love the Carousel Bar! Great service. Appreciate the friendliness from the concierge to the bartenders. Smiles everywhere! Rooms were nice, bathrooms very small as is the way of most older hotels. Comfortable bed. No outside noise, but we were on the 10th floor. I would recommend for the great location and to experience the historical aspect of such a stately hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone! Sounds like a great couple getaway weekend. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAMPLONA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for five nights. Honeymoon. The hotel has a perfect location in the Frenck Quarter, all kind of amenities, staff really hepful and kind.

If I ever come back to New Orleans I will surely repeat!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great hotel, great location. The front desk, doormen, concierge and all personnel was very helpful. Delicious breakfast! The rooms were made a bit late (after lunch), so going back for a nap was out of the question. Excepting for that, a great hotel very close to all the action but not quite in the middle of it, which is, of course, a plus for a hotel. Thank you!.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind response! We hope to see you back at the Hotel Monteleone again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Amex, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.