We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay in NOLA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Booking.com
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Luxury & Location
Ranked #14 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay in NOLA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at this historic hotel with my sister. We booked a double standard room and were on the 15th floor with a view of the river. The room was small but adequate for my sister and I. Everything was clean and the beds very comfortable. WIFI worked great in room. Restroom also small but lots of hot water and very clean. Coffeemaker in room was nice (keurig) and first morning we actually ordered a pot of coffee and some biscuits and those were yummy. We spent some time at the rooftop pool which was never crowded and the WIFI worked perfect up there too. Staff was helpful. Never did get a cocktail from the Carousel bar but is was always busy. Doorman was extremely helpful one evening directing us to a restaurant nearby. Really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend for couples/friends, not really suitable for me had I been traveling with the grandkids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay! Please come back again and next time, be sure to stop by the Carousel Bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,270
    665
    204
    104
    58
See reviews for
312
868
90
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

For several years this hotel is the only place we would stay in New Orleans. There is something to knowing that the room will always be clean and you will be greeted with a smile at the door. The carousel bar and criollo add to the value of the location. The recent remodel made this hotel absolutely beautiful. It is a must stay kind if place. It us pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear you like our renovations. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first trip to New Orleans and we were so pleased that we chose Hotel Monteleone. This charming hotel is so centrally located that we could walk almost everywhere. We were especially thankful for the services of Randy the concierge. He knowledgably recommended restaurants for us and was happy to make reservations. Randy also made some great suggestions in terms of sites we should visit and what were the best ways to navigate the city. We will definitely return to NOLA and we will most certainly stay at Hotel Monteleone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We are thrilled you chose us for your first stay in New Orleans and found our hotel location convenient. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff and hope you'll be back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our trip to the south (we're from CA) was actually in an RV. However, we wanted to stay one night in a hotel that was walking distance to the French Quarter, etc. We took a cab there from our RV camp, so parking was not an issue. We did notice that they have a garage with valet parking. The Hotel Monteleone seemed like a great choice, not only for location, but for atmosphere. The rooms were small, but well appointed. All the latest amenities and a beautiful TV (not that we watched). The AC worked great, which was important for sleeping. The bed was just fine. The rooftop pool is quaint, but beautiful and very peaceful. The Carousel bar was fun (we had a drink during the day). Our only complaint (why less than 5 stars) is that the bar closed too early. There also wasn't a place to get a quick bite to eat either. Not too much trouble because there was a breakfast place down the street on Royal. The hotel is on Royal, which is more our style than Bourbon. The other direction is Decatur, which also was fun. The Acme Oyster restaurant is around the corner. HIGHLY recommend it if you love oysters. If we ever come back, we'll probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and atmosphere and hope you'll be back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I spent several weeks reading hotel reviews for New Orleans hotels once I knew I was going. It became frustrating because all of the reviews of all of the hotels I was considering had a lot of bad things written about them and I knew I had to go on and make a reservation. The last one I read convinced me to go with Hotel Monteleone because a guy wrote he was dissatisfied at one place and went to the Monteleone and was happier. After making the reservation and talking to my family members, I found out that my sister, my dad, and my brother in law had stayed there in the past and loved it. So do I now. The location is one block off of Bourbon Street which is a plus and it's located near the Mississippi River and Canal Street. My husband and I had the Preferred Double Double room which was not large but was not small either. The bathroom was a good size and was kept very clean our entire trip. There is twice-a-day maid service which can be good or bad. The second, turn-down-service was a bit annoying because it seemed the young lady wanted to clean our bathroom right as we were trying to shower and get ready to go out to dinner but she quickly learned to service our room last on her shift. The bars are very nice even though the Carousel attracts a lot of tourists who can fill it all times of the day but it's worth being diligent about a good time for a visit to the bar because even sitting at a table by the tall windows overlooking Royal Street can be delightful. I had gone through Hotel.com to make our reservation but quickly cancelled it once I saw that the room was cheaper on the Monteleone's web page. Also, joining the hotel's I Prefer membership while making your reservation gets you advantages as well: complimentary Internet access, priority early check-in/late check-out, a room upgrade, and a free drink voucher per person at the bar. When we go back to New Orleans we will definitely stay at this hotel. I can't imagine another hotel being any better as to location, great service, or price.

Room Tip: The Preferred Double Double room is not small and has a good sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to leave such a thorough review of our hotel. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and that your family stays with us often! We look forward to having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Pirie, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Hotel Monteleone is located in the popular French Quarter on Rue Royal. Only a couple of streets off Bourbon, it allows you to walk to where the action is but without the hustle, bustle and noise of this strip. The hotel itself is stunning, with a magnificent foyer and clean and lovely rooms. The restaurant "Criollo" is exceptional and the hotel is also home to the Carousel Bar and Lounge which plays late night jazz as you sip dirty martini's whilst rotating anti-clockwise on the carousel around the bar. A much classier bar than most you would find on Bourbon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel! We deeply appreciate the kind words and are thrilled to hear you found our location convenient to all New Orleans has to offer. We hope you'll be back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel is Beautiful, Bar is Amazing, Location couldn't be better. Staff was professional and accommodating, always with a smile and very helpful. Room was clean and a lil small but was more than comfortable. Already looking to book another trip to NOLA and staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review our hotel! We're thrilled to see you enjoyed our bar and location and recommend our hotel to others. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Preferred Hotels, BookIt.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list