We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern charm in the heart of the Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Promotional Rates
Ranked #12 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Southern charm in the heart of the Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Let me preface this by saying the I live on Miami Beach and my sister lives in NYC and my husband and I met her in New Orleans for an eating/drinking weekend. Hip, urban hotels are what we are familiar with so we wanted something more "New Orleansy". If you go to New Orleans, you may as well experience what the South was as far as the architecture and the ambience. The Monteleone is probably the BEST location you will find within the Quarter as it is one block off of Bourbon. Beware of hotels that are right on Bourbon because you will absolutely get no sleep! Bourbon Street for sure contains the most intoxicated people in one place on this planet. It is a 24/7 party!
The Monteleone is a beautiful old world hotel like those found all over Europe. As the other reviews have noted, the rooms are quite small as is the bathroom. So, if you are looking for space in your NOLA accommodations, this is not the place for you. The room does, however, have everything you need: a hairdryer, an in-room coffee machine/in-room safe, comfortable beds, and it is clean as a whistle. We did not have any noise problems from the street but the walls are VERY thin and if you have some party people in the next room, you will definitely hear them (you hear regular talking too).
The hotel itself is hopping ALWAYS! The Carousel Bar has a lot to do with that. It is a very popular place and crowded all of the time. Hard to get a seat in there but it is a great place to go into after experiencing the debauchery of Bourbon Street. It attracts a much more gentile, older crowd (who are still drinking of course!).
The hotel has a nice but small gym. It was completely full when we went on Sunday morning. The hotel pool is lovely and was not all that crowded at the time we were there. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but darn, did it smell good!
We did stop for drinks at the W, which is a few blocks up and was also really well located within the Quarter. It is your typical W that is hip and cool with a very NY/Miami vibe to it. We did not see rooms but would imagine that they would have to be bigger than the Monteleone. If you want hip/cool, this would be a better place to stay. However, if you want to experience a more classic, New Orleans hotel, the Monteleone would certainly fit the bill!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and greatly appreciate you leaving such a positive, in-depth review about our hotel! We hope you and your family will come to see us again for another great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,456
    736
    219
    109
    59
See reviews for
357
964
95
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Hotel Monteleone is an historic Hotel with beatiful charm. We stayed here in February 2012 and enjoyed our stay. The Hotel has a Carousel bar and a wonderful welcoming staff. We ate dinner directly across the street at "The Bistro". Right in the heart of the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. This is a historic hotel so please take in account it has that old charm. I found the accomadations to be comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay away from Elevators. Remember the higher traffic areas will be noisy. You are in New Orleans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to review our hotel! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Carousel Bar and our convenient location! We deeply appreciate your feedback and hope you'll be back to see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Was there with my husband on his management team meeting program from 16th June to21st june'13...beautiful historic hotel..at wonderful location..jus next to very famous bournbon street..had facial spa..daily breakfast n dinners..Mississippi river walk at a very close distance.staff at reception was quite good..though we had to take our bags to rooms by ourselves..lol..on the whole I can say that staying at Monteleone gives you a great royal touch of living in New Orleans..memorable experience..:)

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors gives better city views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel! We greatly appreciate your feedback and are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with your husband. We thrilled you enjoyed our spa, meals and location! We hope y'all will be back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is very nice. Check in and out was easy. The room was a standard king bed room, the room was small but comfortable. The location of the hotel is perfect. The people were very nice especially the door men. They were always so busy but still helpful, I couldn't help but feel sorry for them working in the heat all day long. We ate at the resturant for breakfast one day and it was a nice buffet. My only complaint was that the carousel bar was always so full that we never got to sit and have a drink at it. It seems like everyone from all other hotels came to sit at the bar and we just didn't feel Iike fighting the crowds. We did get a chance to have both of the signature drinks and they were very good. Over all we loved our stay and can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient! We hope you'll be back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Beautiful old hotel. It's in a great position close to shopping strip. The carousel bar is very unique and great fun, contrary to another review we found the rooms were a good size and also the bathroom. We also thought the drink prices were cheap compared to other places we have been too.Totally great experience and look forward to one day returning.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here for a convention and found the hotel and location to be very good for my purposes. I suspect if I returned for pleasure instead of business, I might find a cute, small hotel or b&b in the French Quarter, because the Monteleone, even at the convention rate, was expensive. I've stayed in much nicer large hotels for the price. It does have history and class, though. I found the room very small for 2 people, the beds doubles and not queens, which is the usual case in North America. The carpet was very spotty from years of spills. I could have gotten a room upgrade but had already unpacked. The staff was pleasant, though in the 3 phone calls I had to make to get to the pool, not one person mentioned there were 3 elevator banks on the 8th floor, the change-over floor to the rooftop elevator. There were a few things like that that bothered me, but I never expect much from hotel staff. The cleaning staff was very nice, and thorough. The bartenders in the famous Carousel Bar were attentive, once they got to me. I had a free drink coupon and had champagne, one of the worst I've encountered, but there was really no choice. The pool was filled with children the 3 times I went, reminding me of a Holiday Inn pool. It's outdoors, on the roof, and the the was 95F 35C daily, so being out in the sun wasn't fun. I think they should provide a cover for part of the pool. For the location, for a large hotel, I don't think you can beat this place in NOLA unless you get a really good deal with some of the on-the-edge major hotels. The restaurant is nice, but the food uninspired. The convention services and facilities were good. It's generally more of a winner than a loser but not spectacular.

Room Tip: Check your room before you unpack and if it's not satisfactory, go back to the desk. I know thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad you were happy with your stay overall. We have taken note of the carpet, champagne, pool and other things you feel we could work on and will look to improve them in the near future. Thank you again and we hope you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A lovely corner room (junior suite) with a view of the Quarter, very courteous service, and an opportunity to experience the famous Carousel Bar. Can't wait to go back. The rooms were expensive, but the overall experience was really excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your corner room, the gorgeous view and the Carousel Bar! We hope you will be back soon to do it all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Amex, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.