We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Promotional Rates
Ranked #11 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Modesto, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This classic hotel in the heart of the French Quarter made our stay in New Orleans. Close enough to Bourbon Street to visit if you want and far enough away to avoid it if you want. Our room was small, but not claustrophobic, and it could have used some more storage space. The room was clean and neat and we had a good view of the Mississippi river. If you can find room at the Carousel Bar you need to experience it at least once. The staff was attentive and the short walk to the attractions in the French Quarter made for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We deeply appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have taken note that the rooms could use additional storage and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,536
    760
    223
    109
    59
See reviews for
378
1005
96
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June and from the moment we got out of our taxi we were greeted by a lovely doorman and whisked through check in effortlessly. This hotel is beautiful, lovely old world style. Lots of history and is in a perfect location, easy walk to every main attraction in the quarter. The Carousel Bar was awesome, great place to sit and meet other guests and people watch, the bar staff were wonderful. Rooms were small but extremely clean. Loved this place and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We deeply appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear your experience was such a pleasure and that you enjoyed the history and location. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel was an excellent choice. A lot of history here. The rooms are a little small, but they are clean. The location couldn't be better, close to everything. The staff was nice, and the rooftop pool and fitness center were a plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed the history and location. We hope you'll be back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just two blocks off Bourbon Street so you are close to the action but far enough away to sleep. Rooms are small but it is a historic hotel. Think European sized hotel rooms. The rooms are beautifully appointed and clean. The lobby is beautiful and features a carousel bar.
My only complaint was at the restaurant. We tried to have Sunday brunch at 11:05 and Olga told us that they were closed and would reopen at 11:30. We left for 10 minutes and came back and were seated right away without any problem by a friendly man. We had the breakfast buffet ($50 for two people) and basically had breakfast leftovers. It was disappointing but on a hot Sunday morning (Father's Day no less) your options are limited so we were stuck.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are trilled you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be ideal for your travels. We are very sorry our dining establishment didn't meet your standards and we hope that you will give us a chance to prove we offer the quality you deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friendly welcome on arrival by doorman and reception staff. Entrance: just a few steps to take, there is no ramp. Which is difficult to manage with suitcases. Perfect location one block from Bourbonstreet. Easy to walk to Jackson Square, market, rivier, Natchez-boat and hop on hop off bus and streetcar. We booked à standard double.
Room on the 5th floor (streetview) is small and little space beween bed and cupboard. Little space in bathroom. Also little space in bathroom to put your toiletries. Clean room. Fine beds and plenty of excellent towels. Every second day changing of bedlinnen. We stayed 4 nights from 12 untill 16 june 2013 and booked our room via an hotelbookingsite and saved 30%.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate it and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient to many of the great attractions in New Orleans! We are also pleased you loved our towels! We hope you'll be back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I liked a lot of things about this hotel. The lobby is gorgeous, check in and check out were quick and pleasant, and the rest of the staff were always pleasant and helpful. As many have mentioned, the location is ideal for French Quarter restaurants and attractions. However, I was slightly underwhelmed by the room itself. We'd paid a little extra for a larger room, and while there may have been extra square footage, that was it. There was only one rather lonely looking chair and a small table for seating, aside from the desk. The carpet was a little odd - there was no padding that I could notice in the room (as opposed to the hallway, where the carpet was much nicer). The bathroom was quite small (the toilet was set at a 45 degree angle so that you could get the door open), but attractive. Linens and drapes were nice and new looking, but the furniture itself seemed standard hotel issue, and the desk and armoire were slightly worn-looking. Finally, there was what looked like a mini-bar in the room, but everything had been taken out. It was somewhat usable as a fridge, except that a lot of moisture had leaked/condensed in the bottom, which was unappealing and limited the usefulness.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Monteleone is a fine hotel within staggering distance of Bourbon Street but far enough away to be quiet and safe; very close to some excellent restaurants (including the superb Red Fish Grill); clean, with all the essential amenities (though I don't recommend trying to make tea with the coffee makers in the rooms); with polite and efficient staff and an obviously popular bar downstairs for those wishing to drink in civilized surroundings. The layout of the convention facilities was slightly confusing even for a teetotaller like myself, and while I would normally prefer to stay somewhere less pricey, it did make a truly excellent venue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay for a convention! We will let our team know that the layout was slightly confusing and really appreciate that feedback. We hope you'll come back soon for another stay and a spin on our Carousel Bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.