We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old stylish hotel in center of French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice old stylish hotel in center of French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friendly welcome on arrival by doorman and reception staff. Entrance: just a few steps to take, there is no ramp. Which is difficult to manage with suitcases. Perfect location one block from Bourbonstreet. Easy to walk to Jackson Square, market, rivier, Natchez-boat and hop on hop off bus and streetcar. We booked à standard double.
Room on the 5th floor (streetview) is small and little space beween bed and cupboard. Little space in bathroom. Also little space in bathroom to put your toiletries. Clean room. Fine beds and plenty of excellent towels. Every second day changing of bedlinnen. We stayed 4 nights from 12 untill 16 june 2013 and booked our room via an hotelbookingsite and saved 30%.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate it and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient to many of the great attractions in New Orleans! We are also pleased you loved our towels! We hope you'll be back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,307
    977
    303
    138
    72
See reviews for
561
1,424
125
725
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I liked a lot of things about this hotel. The lobby is gorgeous, check in and check out were quick and pleasant, and the rest of the staff were always pleasant and helpful. As many have mentioned, the location is ideal for French Quarter restaurants and attractions. However, I was slightly underwhelmed by the room itself. We'd paid a little extra for a larger room, and while there may have been extra square footage, that was it. There was only one rather lonely looking chair and a small table for seating, aside from the desk. The carpet was a little odd - there was no padding that I could notice in the room (as opposed to the hallway, where the carpet was much nicer). The bathroom was quite small (the toilet was set at a 45 degree angle so that you could get the door open), but attractive. Linens and drapes were nice and new looking, but the furniture itself seemed standard hotel issue, and the desk and armoire were slightly worn-looking. Finally, there was what looked like a mini-bar in the room, but everything had been taken out. It was somewhat usable as a fridge, except that a lot of moisture had leaked/condensed in the bottom, which was unappealing and limited the usefulness.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Monteleone is a fine hotel within staggering distance of Bourbon Street but far enough away to be quiet and safe; very close to some excellent restaurants (including the superb Red Fish Grill); clean, with all the essential amenities (though I don't recommend trying to make tea with the coffee makers in the rooms); with polite and efficient staff and an obviously popular bar downstairs for those wishing to drink in civilized surroundings. The layout of the convention facilities was slightly confusing even for a teetotaller like myself, and while I would normally prefer to stay somewhere less pricey, it did make a truly excellent venue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay for a convention! We will let our team know that the layout was slightly confusing and really appreciate that feedback. We hope you'll come back soon for another stay and a spin on our Carousel Bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked through a package on Southwest Airlines. One block off of Bourbon so close, and far, enough. Staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Impeccably clean. Just a real neat hotel. The carousel bar is a trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing experience at our hotel and enjoyed your Southwest package! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hotel Monteleone in New Orleans and it was fantastic! Great character to the hotel, friendly staff, and the carousel bar was an experience in itself. Convienent to everything in the French Quarter and right across the street from Mr. B's Bistro (best shrimp and grits anywhere!). Forget the chain hotels...stay here!!
DM

Room Tip: Get a river view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and a delicious meal at Mr. B's Bistro! We hope you'll be back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

To prepare for a trip to New Orleans , I called the concierge at Hotel Monteleone, where we will be staying. The young man's name is Joseph LeCour and his coordinates are as follows:
Hotel Monteleone
214 Royal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
1-504-523-3341 x4451 Phone
504-681-4413 Fax
JLeCour@hotelmonteleone.com
www.hotelmonteleone.com
His assistance was so outstanding I felt I had to tell others. He was personable, provided professional advice and directed us so that we would have a perfect stay at the finest hotel in the Great City of New Orleans. I have travelled and stayed in the finest international hotels in the world (Dubai, Paris, Buenos Aires, Beijing, Beirut, New Delhi, New York, etc.) but his attention exceeded the service I have ever received.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear Joseph provided outstanding service and will be sure to pass along these kind words! Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and could not have been happier. The location is perfect as so many good restaurants and bars are all in walking distance but just far enough off Bourbon street to get away from the craziness.
The carousel bar was the central meeting spot as we had a large group. The service and cocktails we top notch and they had great music in the evenings. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in the New Orleans French Quarter! We appreciate you taking time to share your review with us here and hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.