We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location and very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Papa Noel Promotion
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
southampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“excellent location and very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights as part of trip including Chicago and Memphis. Excellent friendly staff , particularly on the door. Randy, the concierge very helpful when we had left a bag in a cab. We got it back within the hour, so special thanks to him. We had a 9th floor standard room, no views but very comfortable with excellent bathroom facilities and good coffee maker. Very attractive reception/lounge and bar area.
Excellent restaurant across the street, Mr B's Bistro, Walgreens with an ATM on next corner. Would recommend a stay here for comfort, good service and position. Try the beignets (sort of doughnut and do use the Streetcars, only $3 for all day use. We used the Streetcar to visit the Garden District.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us during your recent visit to New Orleans! We're so glad you enjoyed our accommodations, amenities and found our service to be excellent. We are so glad that Randy was able to help you recover the bag you left in the cab as well. We appreciate you taking time to share your review with us here, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,876
    862
    260
    123
    63
See reviews for
460
1,192
113
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here over the Hotel Sonesta, due to the close location to everything but a block away from all the LOUD noises of Bourbon Street. The concierge service was outstanding. Their attention to detail and concern over our stay qualifies for a 10 rating on service.

Room Tip: Outside rooms still have some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you and your family had such a great stay with us! We appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The historic Hotel Monteleone was the perfect place for our honeymoon! Gorgeous lobby (tho large urn of white roses was a bit "tired" when we arrived...I'm a florist and always notice such things), Johnny and David are super doormen, Marvin, Corey and Giovanni do The Carousel Bar proud...great Bloody Mary, guys! Ann, the concierge, was very informative and, since she's a native New Orleanian, had off the beaten path ideas for food.
Our room was on the 10th floor in a super quiet part of the hotel...great bed and view of French Quarter rooftops. Maid service was great. We attempted to lounge at the rooftop pool on 2 occasions but it was packed...too bad...looked refreshing after being out most of day.
The Monteleone is in the perfect location, too! Plus we met some pretty interesting people while going round the Carousel Bar!
The one negative comment I can make is the bathrooms are compact, to say the least...rather awkward for 2 tho it's certainly not a deal breaker...we'll probably stay there again!

Room Tip: Request a room on higher floor and.go where the doormen tell you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding! We are so honored to have been your choice for your honeymoon! We are absolutely thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us! We appreciate you taking time out to share your review with us, and hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans. Perhaps to celebrate your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan City, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Elegant hotel. Accommodations although a little small make it very quaint and charming. The hotel's refurbishing several years ago really put it over the top in quality of décor. Staff is very friendly especially the doormen, bellmen and room attendants.... and of course Parker the bartender in the carousel bar. Fortunately we got a special summer rate or other wise it would have hurt their value rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share your review of your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The room was nice and clean. The beds very comfortable. Bathrobes are a nice touch. The pool are was very pretty. The staff was very friendly and helpful. (Johnny the doorman). The Carousel Bar was cool. Hard to get a spot on it. The bartenders were really friendly. The only complaint is you spend a lot of money on a room and they still want more money for the WIFI when you can go down the street and for the price of a coffee you get free WIFI.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you found our accommodations, service and amenities to be excellent. Your comments regarding WiFi charges have been noted and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We appreciate you taking time out to share your review with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at Hotel Monteleone for a 2 day work event. I really enjoyed my stay. My room was clean. The maid service was great. The location on Royal street is perfect. My bed was comfortable as well. We had lunch in the hotel twice and the food was very good. The roof top pool spot is very cozy and European-esque with tables in the shade and in the sun. The pool bar is small but can deliver what you need in the way of drinks and food. The gym has newer cardio machines. My only complaint is that the front desk was staffed with only 1 or 2 people upon arrival as I experienced quite a wait to check in and I noticed several other guests at different times of the day waiting in lines to check in. There were a few occasions when there were not any employees at the check in desk but there were several in the office behind the wall but this did not take much away from my great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to share your review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time! Your comments regarding front desk check in time and staffing have been noted and brought to the attention of our management team for review. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Beautiful lobby, great location, helpful and friendly staff. David the doorman was well dressed and always giving us great tips for restaurants. Rotating Carousel Bar was charming and got 2 free drinks using "iPrefer" card. The card also gives you a free upgraded room (which wasn't available) and free internet (which I didn't use). We stayed on the 12th floor away from the street and bar noise (city view/roof tops). We preferred river view but it wasn't available. Front desk said "double rooms nicer than king". Room was very small but comfortable. Comfortable beds (but small double size), small bathroom but strong shower water pressure and toilets. Maid changed linens and towels and took out trash, but didn't seem to clean or vacuum (5 day stay). Noticed few stains on carpets and normal wear and tear of room. Just expected it to be a little nicer room for the money. Tried the breakfast buffet but it was cold and out of everything (around $50 for two). Complained to restaurant manager and he gave us complementary menu breakfast the next morning which was excellent. Roof top area small but enjoyed night views and breeze. Area restaurants pricey but enjoyed Acme Char-grilled Oysters, Brennan's Banana Foster, Deanie's fried platters, Bourbon House BBQ Shrimp Po-Boy, and everything at Redfish Grill. And of course Cafe du Monde for beignets. Favorite tours were Airboat Adventures Alligator Swamp Tour, WWII Museum, Mardi Gras World, French Market river area, Bourbon Street Spirits Bar (dueling pianos) and Free Tours by Foot.

Room Tip: River view and high floor to avoid bar and street noise. Suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Your comments regarding the rooms and breakfast have been noted and brought to the attention of our management team for review. We value your patronage and do hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.