We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant refuge from the busy streets of NOLA!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Promotional Rates
Ranked #11 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Elegant refuge from the busy streets of NOLA!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved our stay here. The rooms are small but adorable, and the restaurant downstairs is amazing. They offer a delicious brunch with friendly service. The rooftop workout room and pool was amazing as well, and all of the food that came out of the full service poolside bar looked so good. In the evenings one can sit in the revolving carousel bar and listen to the jazz band. It was nice to have this place so close to our room for a nightcap or a leisurely brunch after a workout. The only thing I had wished for would have been thicker walls...I could hear someone snoring in the next room one night! I would definitely go back, though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are thrilled to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us as well as our fitness center, rooftop pool, Carousel Bar & Lounge and Criollo restaurant. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,538
    760
    223
    109
    59
See reviews for
378
1006
96
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Set in the middle of the historic French Quarter, the Hotel Monteleone is a wonderful old but updated hotel. I liked the fact that it was slightly apart from the craziness of Bourbon Street but close enough to experience it. One of my favorite parts of the hotel is the Carousel Bar. Although it is difficult to get a seat at times, it is an amazing experience. The music in the bar the nights that I was there was great too. I was trying to experience all of the food of the French Quarter and almost neglected to eat at the hotel restaurant. I am glad that I did not skip it as it was one of the best meals that I had during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We appreciate you taking time out to share your review of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay at Hotel Monteleone. We are so happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience and enjoyed our location in the heart of the New Orleans French Quarter, our Carousel Bar & Lounge and dining in our restaurant, Criollo. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to The Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm a fan of historic properties and in the 80's and 90's the Pontchartrain was our go to place. But, alas Katrina and privatization took that away. So now we look for something in the quarter. We drove and found garage access and getting in and out of the area easier than expected. The Carousal was always full, so I'll have to try that next trip. We had 2 issues, our key cards needed to be recharges several times, no matter the precautions taken, and my husband thought the beds were to soft.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to share your review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are glad to hear you love historic properties and are so happy you decided to join us during your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I took a Spring escape to the Big Easy and were not disappointed. We were interested in an adult locale with many options available. Although the weather was cool, we saw many areas of the city and rented a car to drive the river road and see a few plantations, as well.

The food was fantastic at most restaurants close to the hotel, all in a stroll-able distance. We checked in to the luxury hotel, Monteleone. Nestled in the French Quarter and close to many touring options, the Monteleone is a energetic property with fine dining and a carousel bar. If you don't have time to finish your drink, no problem, grab a plastic cup by the door and take it with you! It is packed by locals and tourists alike at happy hour, so arrive early for a good seat.

The doormen had a sense of humor and were extremely helpful. The room to which we were assigned was small but adequate for two adults, since most of our time was spent outdoors. A great beignet shop was directly down the street and adjacent to a police precinct. Numerous antique shops adorned Royal Street. Other shopping was close-by; be certain to purchase some pralines!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, if you are seeking more space. New Orleans is not the place to go in hot summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to share your experience of your recent stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad to hear that you and your husband so thoroughly enjoyed your stay, our location in the heart of the New Orleans French Quarter and the many attractions within walking distance of our doors. We're happy to know that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our company has an annual 2 day meeting in late Spring each year. We have had the event in several different locations in the past. This was our first experience at the Monteleone, and it was outstanding.
Our board met on Saturday in the fabulous board room on the second floor. It was large enough for the 10 of us but also roomy enough to move around if need be. The continental breakfast was great and the afternoon fruit and cheese tray was perfect for our needs.
On Sunday we held our annual shareholders meeting in the Riverview Room on the 15th floor. It was a gorgeous setting atop the French Quarter area with a view of the entire city. The room was large enough to serve a buffet brunch on one side and to hole our meeting for 30 on the other.
Overall experience for the weekend was outstanding.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quieter, you are one block from Bourbon Street. Suites are roomy and well appointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience hosting your annual meeting at Hotel Monteleone. We are thrilled that both meet spaces were perfect the different styles of each day's meeting. We appreciate you taking time to share your review of your experience on TripAdvisor, and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you during future meetings as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had booked the Monteleone for our recent 4-day stay in New Orleans. Upon check-in we learned that they had lost power during a recent storm and that all hotel guests were being relocated to other area hotels. It was very disappointing, but the staff member that was assisting us was extremely helpful and recommended the Crowne Plaza to us as a good fit for our needs and it worked out very well for us. The situation was to their disadvantage though, as I found the Crowne Plaza to be the slightly better experience of the two. The Monteleone regained power for the second half of our trip so we were able to stay there for 2 of our 4 nights. Unfortunately, aside from the amazing historical ambiance, I found it to be slightly lacking in creature comforts. The bed was very comfortable, but the room was fairly small and the bathroom wasn't much larger than what you would find in an RV! (However, the water pressure was AMAZING). The A/C never did get as cold as we wanted, which made it difficult to sleep at night even with the comfortable bed. I'm not sure if this had anything to do with their recent power issues or not. The ambiance is very cool and I would definitely recommend a trip to the famous Carousel Bar (VERY cool), however, I would recommend sleeping somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to share your review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We appreciate your patience and understanding during the weather-related power outage we faced, and are so glad to hear that our staff was extremely helpful in coordinating additional accommodations during the affected portion of your stay. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans, and do hope you will provide us with another opportunity to display to you the level of service and hospitality on which our reputation is based.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

By far the worst hotel experience I have ever had.
Do not stay at his hotel, read my review of the Astor Crowne Plaze, New Orleans.
We were scheduled to arrive in New Orleans on an early Monday morning flight, when we arrived at the airport and found our flight delayed until late afternoon, I called the Hotel Monteleone to advise them I would need a late check in, and everything seemed ok on the phone.
When we finally arrived at the hotel about 7 pm we were informed that the hotel had suffered a lighting strike on Sunday (over 24 hours ago) and they were operating under limited generator power, and had no Air Conditioning, hot water, or food (you think they would have said something when I called). They told us that the power would be on by 9 pm. So we checked in went to our room unpacked than went to dinner figuring that be the time we returned everything would be operational. Returned at about 10 pm, nothing had changed. The front desk had no answers. Because of the late hour and the length of our day we decided to stay the night. Next morning NO CHANGE!!
Went to the front desk and requested to be transferred to another hotel, we felt that no one on the hotel staff, was telling the truth about the power situation.
The hotel was hoping that after you transferred to another hotel you would return when the power was restored. We informed the hotel that because of the way we were treated on our arrival and the subsequent misinformation communicated to us we would not return.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
On behalf of Hotel Monteleone Management and Staff please accept our sincerest apologies for the unfortunate incident you had to endure during your recent stay with us. In the early morning hours on Sunday, April 14, 2013, Hotel Monteleone suffered a massive power surge to our main electrical service lines. As a result of this surge, the hotel lost all electrical power as well as power to our air conditioning system and hot water supply. I know this explanation does not alleviate the distress, discomfort, frustration and annoyance you experienced and I sincerely apologize.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope for a future opportunity to display to you the level of service and hospitality upon which our reputation is based. Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.