We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel, Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
south Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Historic Hotel, Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel right in the French Quarter. Right off Bourbon St and walking distance to many great restaurants, bars, shops etc. the rooms and bathroom are on the small side but very adequate. The staff is phenomenal. I accidentally left an item in the room and was able to retrieve it with no problems. All in all a great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciate you taking time out to share your experience of your recent stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful and our location to be ideal. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,433
    730
    216
    109
    59
See reviews for
352
952
95
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ginamina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

didn't like it and I was even in a preferred bedroom on the 12th floor. It was painted yellow and seemed outdated. The lobby and restaurant were both nice, but the actual rooms were below average. It's a historic hotel, but I just did not like the run down, old building. The rooms and bathrooms are really small too. Also, when you stay at a nice hotel, usually bell boys or the hotel at check-in will ask if you want someone to bing the luggage up to the room. Not here! Also, the bathroom and bedroom did not have a really clean feel to it. Would not stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property and we have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity. It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize. We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel's historic flavor was wonderful as was the service. The location was perfect. Near enough to Bourban Street and all the sites that one could easily walk around town yet far enough that you were away from all the craziness/noise if you didn't want to participate or just needed to sleep. My only complaint would have to be the size limited seating at the pool.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciate you taking time out to share your experience of your recent stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so happy to hear you had such a great stay and enjoyed our location and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Your comments regarding pool area seating are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

LOVE this place. We stay here whenever we're in New Orleans The hotel is beautiful,the location is perfect, in the Quarter but the St. Charles streetcar is easily accessible. The restaurant Criollo was fantastic and there isn't another bar anywhere like the Carousel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are so glad to hear you have had such wonderful experiences with us at Hotel Monteleone. We're thrilled to know you love our location, accommodations, the Carousel Bar & Lounge and our restaurant Criollo. We appreciate you taking time out to share your review, and hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel Moneleone is a very elegant family-owned hotel nestled in the French Quarter 1 block form Bourbon St. Standard double-double rooms are a bit cramped, but well appointed. Staff was very friendly, and there were no issues with our stay. Room service was prompt and very reasonably priced (as room service goes). Housekeeping was excellent and hotel lounge (The Carousel) was fun. While a bit pricey, this hotel met all the needs of my family of six. We stayed through the 2012-2013 New Years holiday and had an absolute blast

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your review of Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are happy to know you found our staff to be friendly, our location to be ideal and our Carousel Bar & Lounge to be the perfect way to celebrate the New Year! We hope to see you and your family again soon upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is amazing that the Monteleone has been able to keep its historic flavor and move into the 21st century! The staff is friendly and makes guests feel right at home. The rooms are small but offer amenities and the French Quarter is calling. Cabs are quite easy to get here and all of French Quarter is within walking distance. You must make a stop at the Carousel Bar. It is great for people watching!!! The drinks are quite good and the staff is efficient and helpful. A delightful way to spend an afternoon in New Orleans before it gets too crowded. The decor is superb throughout the bar and hotel lobby....a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are so happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us! We're glad you enjoyed our accommodations and location and found our staff to be friendly! We appreciate you taking time out to share your review and do hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed twice in the hotel over the Christmas holidays and have always found it comfortable, clean, and reasonable. Very well located and enjoy the Carousel bar (when you can get a seat). Have found very interesting people to have a great conversation and the bartenders are knowledgeble/friendly. Never eaten in the restaraunt as there are many places to try. Would reccomend it as a place to stay for your first time in this great city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Monteleone during the Christmas holiday. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our accommodations, Carousel Bar & Lounge and found our staff to be friendly. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.