We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a ride on the Carousal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Promotional Rates
Ranked #11 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Take a ride on the Carousal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Unique bar but bartenders/waitstaff are what make this place. Relax and let them know your preferences. Trained mixiologists will prepare the perfect cocktail or go crazy and let the enhance your experience with a few tricks of the trade and vast knowledge of spirits.

As with many other "nice" places we visited, I was appalled at the low level of tipping I witnessed. People, when a server gives you special service, the benefit of their expertise and goes out of their way to be certain you are well taken care of...it should be rewarded..with money. I tip my landscaper and pool boy and they just do a great job; Many servers contributed/enhanced our overall experience and helped us make a memory.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Debi,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Monteleone and the Carousel Bar. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and found our Carousel Bar bartenders to be knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We hope that you will join us again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,451
    735
    219
    109
    59
See reviews for
356
960
95
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Simply stunning, elegant and gorgeous. The Hotel Monteleone never fails. This is my second time staying here and after the recent renovations, the hotel is even better than before. Everything about the hotel is so clean and comfortable. Even though you are a block away from Bourbon Street, there is no street noise and you can sleep very comfortably. My room overlooked the River and it was fun to watch the barges and boats coming through. The Carousel Bar is so much fun but grab a seat while it is open! I stayed for 7 nights and all day every day it was packed! Try the Gumbo at Criollo, the fried okra bits are amazing!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Allison,

Thank you for taking time out to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone! We truly appreciate your feedback. We are elated to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We're thrilled you were able to join us again after our recent renovations so you could dine in our new restaurant Criollo and enjoy an evening in the updated Carousel Bar! We hope to see you again soon next time you visit New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent two nights and truly enjoyed it. Must enjoy a drink ON the Carousel Bar. Take the time to soak up heritage of the hotel. Restaurant was great as well. It is a historic hotel so don't be upset by small bathroom or ability to hear guests next door. It's the best stay I ever had in NOLA. You'll enjoy it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear RoamingRadioGuy,

Thank you for taking time out to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone. We are so happy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your accommodations, dining in our restaurant Criollo and taking a spin around the Carousel Bar. We appreciate your patronage and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Although this lovely historic hotel is in the French Quarter we never heard the revelry that is constant outside. The lobby and restaurant are refinded and the Carousel Bar quite the novelty attraction. Our room, which was beautifully updated, was always quiet. If you need a peaceful outdoor spot to sit, head up to the rooftop pool. Although there is no food or drink service there in the winter, you can take what you need and just enjoy this area which is well maintained with lots of blooming plants. As others have mentioned, it really is in the best location. I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Monteleone.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor possible (though I've heard that floor 14 is still haunted!) There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear OregonNancy,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, our rooftop pool and the Carousel Bar & Lounge. We're glad you were able to explore all of the French Quarter attractions within walking distance from our doors. We hope to see you again soon on your next New Orleans visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here last spring for a conference. The hotel was very nice and the staff was excellent. The location is great and there are lots of fun things to see within easy walking distance. Don't miss a trip to Preservation Hall. It was the highlight of the trip! New Orleans isn't my bag, but it was a great hotel and an interesting visit overall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Mowens,

Thank you for taking time out to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone! We are so glad to hear that you found our staff, amenities and location to be excellent. We're happy to hear that even though New Orleans isn't your favorite city, your stay with us was able to make your visit enjoyable. We hope your conference went well and you will consider us again upon your next visit to New Orleans. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The location of this Hotel is perfect. Don't rent a car unless you have too. Take a taxi from airport and just walk everywhere. You are steps from great resturants like GW Fins, The Camilla Grill and the Gumbo Shop. The staff is very professional and they are more than willing to assist you with anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Katie,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone. We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you had such an incredible stay with us during your business trip! It sounds like you had a great time exploring all of the wonderful attractions within walking distance of our doors. We hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

In fairness, I found all the previous seven reviews had merit. The bar is a disaster and service is impossible as it is frequently jammed. Location in the FQ is great for all it has to offer. Rooms are quite small and some of the wallpaper in my room was peeling. Understand that this hotel is seldom less than 90-95% full and is frequently sold out. That makes maintenance and upkeep a challenge. The wallpapering was going on in the hall on the 8th floor during my stay...not an inconvenience, but clearly a sign that there are few down periods to perform these tasks. Front desk staff was efficient...and they could have dinged me for an extra reservation made erroneously months earlier, but sold the room and gave me the break. I was solo this trip so the room size was not a problem, but for two it would be a serious challenge...small closet, small bathroom, etc.

The quiche served at breakfast for our business meeting was terrible, dry and inedible...the only negative on this trip. Nice job the doorman as I left shagging down a cab in sending me off in jig time as the street was packed and maneuving was a real challege. I felt like the $220 paid was fair for what I experienced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Anasoll,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your business meeting. We're happy to hear that you found our service and staff helpful and courteous. We are sorry to hear that you found the service in the Carousel Bar to be less than perfect. We hope that you provide us with another opportunity to display to you the level of service upon which our reputation is based and you have every right to expect. Hope to see you soon on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Luxury, Quaint...
Show More
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#4 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,959 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#6 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,517 reviews
Boutique, Free...
Show More
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Quaint, Pool, R...
Show More
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
Quiet, Pool, Ro...
Show More
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.