We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Papa Noel Promotion
Ranked #11 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

As others have noted, the location is perfect, the rooms are smallish but comfortable, the service is polite and attentive. For breakfast, skip the hotel and walk one block to the right on Royal to the Cafe Beignet, which lives up to its name far more than the famous Cafe du Monde. Be warned that the hotel's Carousel Bar is mobbed at night, noisy, and (unless you're seated at the bar) often has terrible service, as well as the worst Pisco Sour my wife (a native Peruvian) has ever tasted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Jonboy439,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, our guest service and the location of Hotel Monteleone relative to the many attractions in the New Orleans French Quarter. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience in the Carousel Bar. We hope that you will provide us another opportunity to display to you the quality of service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,614
    781
    228
    109
    59
See reviews for
393
1,047
100
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Monteleone over Thanksgiving. The hotel is beautiful! Wonderful job on the renovations. From the moment you walk in the lobby you know you're in a very special hotel. I agree with other reviews that the rooms are small but in older hotels I've come to expect that....and when you're in New Orleans how much time do you actually spend in your room?
The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small but well appointed. The best part was how quiet the rooms were! Never heard any other guests....and that's rare in any hotel!
The rooftop pool is heated and there's plenty of seating on the pool deck.
Had breakfast and lunch in the hotel dining room and both meals were very good.
The hotel is in the French Quarter. Wonderful location for shopping, dining, etc..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Colleen,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing stay with us during Thanksgiving. We're so glad you had the opportunity to dine with us in Criollo, enjoy the rooftop pool and explore all of the incredible attractions just steps from our front door. We appreciate that you chose Hotel Monteleone for such a special holiday and we are so glad you had such a wonderful experience. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Monteleone is convenient to all restaurants , and the Quarter. Room exquisite and service excellent. I would definitely stay with them again. Christmas parade did impede access on Royal, basically it shut down all downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Retrxdoc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Monteleone with us! We are so glad to hear that you found your room accommodations to be exquisite and found our guest services to be excellent. We're sorry to hear that a Christmas Parade disrupted your access on Royal Street. Hopefully you were able to enjoy a little time in the French Quarter while it passed.

We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

After my friend purchased and prepaid for our room months in advance, I arrived first of the group and was required to give my credit card, which the front desk said multiple times was "for security deposit and incidentals ONLY." After no damage to the room and no incidentals, the hotel charged me for a night on my credit card, which the group did not make a reservation for and did not use. Even if the group did need that room, why would the hotel charge me instead of the original purchaser and maker of the reservation who prepaid in full? Their customer service's goal seems to be to absolve themselves of all responsibility. There is a huge disconnect between what the front desk says and actual policy. Despite it's great location, there are plenty of honest and competent places to spend your money instead.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone. We are sorry to hear that there was a misunderstanding with our front desk regarding your credit card payment. We hope that you were able to work it out and the proper amounts have been charged to the correct cards. Please do let us know if you are still having an issue. Other than that issue, we do hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable. We value your patronage and hope that you will provide us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Well appointed rooms that are quiet and well decorated. I appreciated the great service at check in and at the door. The carousel bar is a must see! Breakfast in restaurant was yummy. Boutique hotel a few blocks from the French Quarter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Lahelsel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations and our guest service. We're glad you had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant Criollo and take a spin around the Carousel Bar! We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The good thing about this hotel is the location. That said, don't go by pictures of the room. We had king bed with little room to walk past it. Air conditioning was not working, but we called and someone fixed it. The bathroom is very, very small. Two people cannot get ready at same time.
Internet is not free, and it is $30 daily to park your car. Rooms are noisy as you can hear bathroom noise and tv from next door. We have been to New Orleans before, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Zazzy76,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Monteleone. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your accommodations and the size of your room. Hotel Monteleone is a historic property and with that comes a very unique floor plan and varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while providing our guests with a comfortable place to stay during their visit. We value your patronage and hope that you reconsider and provide us with the opportunity to display to you the level of service and hospitality upon which our reputation is based.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My third time staying at this lovely hotel and my boyfriend's first and neither one of us was disappointed. Our room was clean and had everything we needed including a very comfortable king bed. This hotel has a lot of personality including a rooftop pool and fitness room, beautiful lobby with antique displays, interesting facts about authors who have stayed at the hotel and included it in their books, the Carousel bar - best drinks ever!!! I ordered a number of unique drinks all made really well - gin fizz! A must!! They also have some really nice appetizers served in the bar to enjoy with your cocktails. The doormen were always friendly and eager to help. They are doing some renos right now - pulling up the carpets as we left. I would make one suggestion to the decorator - the bed linens in our room were too busy and took away from the elegance of the room decor.

One block from Bourbon and Canal and a couple from Decatur, this hotel provides easy access to all areas of the Fr Qrt and not a long walk home after a busy night of partying. We loved the street musicians right across the street from the hotel. Royal St has amazing shops to window shop in.

Walgreens is right beside the hotel if you need anything during your stay.

No complaints we loved it and felt it was priced appropriately. we will return.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor for a nicer view and be sure to find some time to take a spin on the Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Bladegrl,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone! We are so glad to hear that your third stay with us was just as wonderful as your first two. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities including the rooftop pool, fitness room and the Carousel Bar & Lounge. Great choice with the Gin Fizz cocktail - it's a New Orleans favorite!

Thank you for your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.