We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic hotel....ideal location, a bit small for the $” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Promotional Rates
Ranked #11 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice historic hotel....ideal location, a bit small for the $”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, clean and historic. We didn't have any noise problems (6th floor I think). The room was extremely small (king bed), you might be better off getting a double ,if only for the sq footage. Traveling with a 2 year old in that small of space was trying. It was very crowded when we were there so getting your vehicle wasn't the easiest, but suprisingly quick for the volume of traffic they had. The parking people were by far the friendliest in the hotel, the rest were just ok. Our bed was lopsided.... it seriously sloped to one side. The hotel was full so we were unable to change rooms. The bed would have been fine had it not been uneven. The location is ideal, probably it's strongest point. A little pricey for the size of the room. Overall it's very nice... debatable if it's worth the price. Side note: N.O. had a boil alert on the water while we were there, while not the hotels fault, it would have been nice to comp a few bottles of water to drink since we couldn't even take a shower.

Room Tip: Get a double bed-- bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Brandiok,

Thank you for taking time out to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone with us. We are glad you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We are happy to hear that you found our valet staff to be friendly and the parking process to be smooth. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. Hotel Monteleone is a historic property and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of our building while still providing our guests with a comfortable space to stay. Your comments regarding the bed have been noted and will be brought to the attention of our management team.

We hope that upon your next visit to New Orleans you provide us with the opportunity to display the level of customer service and hospitality upon which our reputation is based.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,538
    760
    224
    109
    59
See reviews for
378
1007
96
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Totally loved this place - loads of history and amazingly furniture.
Lots of stories about ghosts etc so it was exciting to be there.
Rooms well appointed - food great - the bar and entertainment were brilliant.
Central location and great staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Laineysc,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone. We are so happy to hear that you have had such a wonderful stay with us and taht you enjoyed your accommodations, amenities as well as our restaurant Criollo and the Carousel Bar & Lounge.

We hope to see you on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First time back since the renovations completed. Previously very good, now even better with the rework of the Carousel Bar, addition of the second bar, and the new Criollo Restaurant. An old, historic hotel with modern ammenities. Our corner room on the eight floor had a lot of street noise all of the time 2,3,4 AM included. The bars are active, service quite good, prices quite high...same with the restaurant. Room very nice, small marble bath, very clean. Hotel location is ideal within the French Quarter within walking distance to many great restaurants. The business center was disappointing with pay to play ($7 minimum to connect online ) and a dollar a page for printed material. And a 70% upcharge for Friday night vs.previous 4 nights ... big games in town, supply and demand. Overall a very good experience, and we will again stay at the Montelone the next time in town. It is what it is.

Room Tip: We stayed in 845 which is a corner King room, two sets of windows, and it had street noise all day a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear JerryKay,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Monteleone. We are so excited to hear that you love the new renovations to the Carousel Bar & Lounge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, amenities and the ability to walk to so many different French Quarter attractions from our front doors. Your comments regarding the business center have been noted and will be brought to the attention of our management team.

We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely breath takingly beautiful! The staff was amazingly friendly and attentive. I've never stayed in a place(where we were treated like royalty)all 4 days of our visit to new orleans. Thank you all :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Karensospecial,

Thank you for taking time to share you experience about your recent stay at Hotel Monteleone. We are so honored to hear that you had such an absolutely amazing stay with us. We are thrilled that you felt as though you were treated like royalty! We hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to The Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

All in all a great hotel with lots of charm and character. The Carousel Lounge was great, and the crab and shrimp beignets were awesome! We arrived at 3:30 but were told that the room wasn't ready and may not be until 5pm. We tried to get our bags checked and waited at the appropriate door but finally had to track someone down to get them to open the storage area and check in our bags so that we could burn an hour or so until check-in. Really? Other than that, the room was nice, clean, and comfortable and the roof top pool was very nice (heated pool!). Paid $30 for valet and we waited 15 minutes for our car. Again, beautiful facility and great location but not sure that the rate charged was worth it though because of the mediocre service elements.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Brett,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and your time in the Carousel Bar & Lounge and your swim in our rooftop pool! Your comments regarding check-in time have been noted and will be brought to the attention of our management team. We hope that upon your next visit to New Orleans you will provide us with the opportunity to show you the level of service and hospitality upon which our reputation is based. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel. It’s is in a great location in the French Quarter. There are so many good restaurants close by for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The hotel always has doormen who are extremely helpful as well. The famous Carousel bar is great and they have a huge area beyond the bar with sofas, tables and chairs along with another bar for cocktails. There is entertainment in this lounge as well. It’s a great space. The hotel has old world feel to it, but it certainly is up to date. I recommend it. Check out the roof top. The pool is up there and it’s a great space.
There are just a few little things that I experienced, but it doesn’t impact my love for the hotel. It’s merely a few things I experienced while there that I thought could have made our experience better had they been address properly or been taken care of as hotel maintenance. This is not an inexpensive hotel and I feel when you pay what we did for a hotel of this caliber things should be just about perfect.
I thought our room was very small and the view was not good. However e had friends in another room that faced the street and they said they heard music to the wee hours of the morning so in that respect we were fortunate because we herd no sounds at night. I also felt the room was not very user friendly. There were several loose tiles on the shower walls. They were not coming off, but they were loose and will be coming off the wall very soon if not addressed. There is a Keurig coffee machine in the room and unfortunately they did not refill the K-cups every day we were there, we had to call and ask for them to be refilled. They also did not replace our soap for the shower when it was getting very small. The desk is small and it had the Keurig machine on it along with a lamp and a phone which made it difficult to have room for my computer.
As I said, I would certainly stay here again, I saw other rooms while I was there and there are bigger rooms. Overall, I am pleased with my stay, but they need to fine tune some of the smaller things to make your experience memorable.

Room Tip: My recommendation here is to see your room first and if you feel it is not up to your expections the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Buchanan913,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, the service of our staff and your experience at our rooftop pool and the Carousel Bar & Lounge. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your accommodations. Hotel Monteleone is a historic property and with that comes varying room sizes. Your additional comments have been noted and will be brought to the attention of our management team.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We just got back from staying 4 nights at the Hotel Monteleone and overall it was a good experience. The check-in process left a lot to be desired. We got to the hotel at 10:30 in the morning and was told that the guaranteed check-in wasn't until 3:00 but it shouldn't be a problem to have our room ready for us shortly and why don't we go and get so lunch and come back and the room should be ready. We did so and went back at 12:00 to find out the room still wasn't ready but it should be ready by 1:00. At 1, we were again told it was not ready and at 2:00 was told it should just be a few more minutes. At this point we were exhausted from traveling and really wanted to get into our room to unwind and relax. at 3:00, the guaranteed check-in time, we were told the room was still not ready and to try back in an hour. At this point, we were very frustrated and asked to speak to someone else to try to rectify this and we understood we were early that morning but at this point it was 3:00 which was check-in time and our room still wasn't ready. A very nice woman came to the front desk (I wish I remembered her name) and apologized for the wait and for constantly being told our room was almost ready. She checked and our room still wasn't ready so she decided that enough was enough and upgraded us to a suite which was ready immediately. This was extremely nice of her as we had booked a preferred room but not a suite and we appreciated her making good on a bad situation and rectifying it. The suite was gorgeous! It was very large and had a living room, bedroom, and two bathrooms. We were on the 4th floor but we were not bothered at all by the noise from the street at any point during our stay. The carousel bar is wonderful and a lot of fun but found the drinks to be pricey ($30 for two drinks). The doormen rarely actually opened the door for us but rather stood around and talked to each other alot. By day two, my husband and I were making jokes at how many times he opened the door for me while the doormen just stood and watched. At one point, we even saw them counting their tips in the lobby which we thought was tacky. Overall, the hotel is beautiful and despite the rocky start, we would definitely stay here again as it is in a great location and close to everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at Hotel Monteleone with us. We are truly sorry to hear about your delay in check-in, but are very pleased to know that one of our friendly front desk staff members was able to fix the situation. Your comments regarding the doormen will be brought to the attention of our management team. We are so happy to hear that you loved your room accommodations and your time in the Carousel Bar & Lounge. We hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.