We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Papa Noel Promotion
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
St. Louis, MO, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Pricy but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is a beautiful old hotel in a great location in the French Quarter. We booked a "Veiux Carre" suite, which had two rooms. The lobby is very nice. The Carousel Bar is something you have to see. We didn't have to deal with the staff very much, but I talked to the concierge and he was very helpful in giving me tips for the St. Charles streetcar, which is only two blocks away (exact fare only, $3 day pass) and finding live music away from the craziness of Bourbon Street (Frenchman Street). The room had high ceilings and cool old-fashioned drapes. This was the olny time I've been to NO, so I can't compare it to the other high-end hotels there, but I know it was pricy, but the location and ambiance made it worth it.

Room Tip: The Veaux Carre suites are two rooms, we never heard another person although they were full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear zgiant1,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to write this review. It appears you had a fabulous time in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,880
    863
    260
    123
    63
See reviews for
460
1,195
113
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My daughter and I stayed one night before and one night after a cruise at this hotel. The room was lovely, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was great - just one block off Bourbon Street. We felt very safe there. Would definitely stay there again. We just loved New Orleans - weren't there long enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear stuey,

You must come back and stay longer next time. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed at the Monteleone in January for a conference. The hotel did not live up to it's own hype owing to several incidents which I would not have expected at an upscale (and expensive) hotel.

Check-in: I arrived later in the evening (9pm) and I was only one of three guests checking in. There were three front-desk staff on duty but only one was working the other two were to the side of the desk talking about their plans for the weekend. I had to say 'excuse me' in order to get their attention. After he rolled his eyes at me, he checked me in and as I found out, gave me two room keys that did not work. I had to go back down and get new ones.

Room: It was tiny...like Europe budget hotel tiny. The king bed took up all usable space (literally 12" around the bed for movement). The bathroom was terrible. I could barely close the door and there was absolutely no counterspace for my 8"x4"x2" toiletry bag. The towels were about as good as you would get at a Hampton Inn (not bad unless you're paying double for the room), and the sheets had holes in them. I had to ask for replacements. My room was also on the front of the hotel facing Royal Street. If you stay here be sure to request a room at the BACK of the hotel. There is NO soundproofing and I could hear street performers and French Quarter revelers until 3am. Requests for a room change were denied.

Room Service: I did order room service one evening so I could be on a conference call. The service was prompt (only waited about 20 min), hot and tasty.

Overall, spend a little extra for a nicer place or spend much less for the Marriott down the street.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear ajnc,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us. We regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

A friend from Baton Rouge arranged for a party of people from different states to stay here over the New Year's weekend. This is a charming, comfortable hotel in a great location in the French Quarter. We had a number of functions to attend and we walked to all of them.

On New Year's Eve the Carousel Bar was reopened after a major remodel. Great space.

Hotel is in the Register of historic hotels. It has a lovely large lobby, a feature which we enjoy.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views and the staff is very accommodating if you ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear KateAptos_California,

Great! We are so happy you had an enjoyable holiday weekend with us this past New Year's and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at the Monteleone during Christmas week. A beautiful hotel right in the middle of everything. Walking distance to everywhere in the French Quarter. Great lodging, wonderful festive lobby and a quiet place away from it all. I would definitely return. Reasonable and well kept and a perfect place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Mariefla,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on future trips to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

we have stayed here on many of our trips to new orleans, it is a wonderful hotel in a great location, within the french quarter, near all the site and great food

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear azbellb,

Thank you! We are so happy to hear you enjoy staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Whenever I come to NOLA I will be staying at the Hotel Moneteleone. On a recent stay at the hotel there was a problem with the reservations. Long story short, every single member of the hotel staff treated me with respect and as a true guest rather than a client. They trusted me to stay in the hotel until the problem was cleared with no stress or jumping through hoops. The hotel bar is excellent and the rooms are above average, but it is the people who make the hotel worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear erriew,

Thank you! We are honored to be your New Orleans hotel. See you again soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.