We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel next to French Qtr” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monteleone to your Saves list
Hotel Monteleone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Papa Noel Promotion
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Northfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel next to French Qtr”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Good place to consider if staying in NOLA. Swimming pool on the roof was excellent. Clean and comfy beds. Hard working staffs and good breakfast. Vallet parking was combersome to get stuff out of the car, but they will keep the car until 5 PM which was very nice. Always have good tips handy for the parking staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,780
    832
    249
    118
    61
See reviews for
434
1,144
110
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property with character, charm and spacious guest rooms. The entire staff is courteous, professional, and provides the highest level of customer service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

While the rooms were gorgeous, we were pretty cramped with 2 adults and 3 kids in a 2 bed room. Kids loved the idea of haunted rooms, and the location was great for exploring the French quarter. Courteous staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We loved our stay at the Hotel Monteleone! We are a family of 3 with a teenager. We booked this hotel off the reviews we saw here and were so happy with our choice! The hotel is in the perfect location. It is situated between Bourbon Street (1 block) and the river - about 5-6 blocks (where we booked quite a few tours). We are from the Boston area - so we thought a block would be pretty long- but the streets in the French Quarter are compact and narrow, so you can walk anywhere pretty quickly.
The staff was wonderful and check-in was a breeze! We had a small issue with our bathroom light, but it turned out to be just the ground fault on the outlet. We fixed it ourselves just as the facilities employee arrived. So no big deal. He was great! The rooms are on the smaller side, but they are in every city we've been to. We didn't want to stay at a big chain - we wanted the whole New Orleans experience and a 125 year-old hotel that is said to be haunted fit the bill! We did not experience any visits from beyond....but.... I thought that the fog-free area on the bathroom mirror might be the work of a spirit...my husband convinced me it was the housekeeper....still - a really cool little touch that I have never seen at any other hotel.
There was construction going on, but you'd never know it and the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate. Lucille, part of the breakfast staff was AMAZING!! She was so wonderful and attentive that we would go back just because of her!!
Having a 14 year old, we didn't make it into the carousel bar, but it looked lovely and the rooftop pool was a treat!!

It was really quiet at night and we were so happy to be just that far from Bourbon St., which was crazy...but an experience! Not recommended for small children!!

So my best tips:
1. Cab it from the airport - it was $42 one way for the 3 of us and we tipped $10
We also booked him for the return trip so we wouldn't have to worry about it. We were lucky enough to get Daniel from Amazing Grace cab.
2. Beignets are awesome!! Get them daily just around the corner at Cafe Beignet at Music Legends park. We sat outside and enjoyed the live jazz. You can get coupons for a free small cafe au lait at the tour company by the river. We preferred this cafe to the famous Cafe du Monde - there's were good - but too similar to the fried dough in New England - we preferred the more doughnut like quality of Cafe Beignet's.
3. You really can fit a lot into just a few days....we had 3 full days - Rode the steamboat - don't get the meal ticket - you can get stuff onboard ala carte), visited the WWII museum (tour company by the river provides transportation with ticket purchase), took a Swamp Tour (way better than I thought it would be), went to the State museum, walked all over the Quarter, and heard Jazz at Irvin Mayfield's. Plus....went to tons of great restaurants. So much amazing food and music!!
4. If you can splurge - go to the Pelican Club restaurant....that was our personal favorite and just around the corner from the Monteleone. Dress is business casual.
5. You can follow @hotelmonteleone on Twitter and Facebook and also @VisitNewOrleans to know what's going on around the city and the hotel.

Above all.....we loved the Monteleone!! Safe, quiet, clean, and friendly was our experience. We went on a whim through a vacation package with JetBlue and were so happy that we were able to choose the Monteleone!! If we're ever lucky enough to return, we would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear thatgrl88,

Thank you for taking the time to write wonderfully detailed review. I am sure many people will find it extremely helpful. We are so glad you had an enjoyable time at the Monteleone and in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hotel has the feel of a European continental hotel; it could be in Paris apart from the Monteleon’s superior customer service. Its rooms are small but bright and clean. The hotel’s location is excellent; in the French Quarter and surrounded by bars and restaurants. There was road works going on during our stay but we were not disturbed thanks to our high floor room. Staff were friendly and the Air-con was quiet and effective in the New Orleans steam. The Monteleon is a haven away from the heat and chaos of a good late night/early morning spent in the Quarter!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear RoyalSovereign,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I have to have it cold when I sleep. The room was barley cool. I would say 78. I put the thermostat on 60 and I never cooled down. Pillows sucked. There was a leak under the faucet in the bathroom. Only good thing was that it was quiet at night. No loud noise from the street! Just seemed like an average place to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear dnwarwas,

We apologize that you experienced problems with several things in your guest room and would like to learn more so we can be sure it is fixed. Please email -------------- to discuss further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Have been visiting nola for over 25 years but this was my first stay at Hotel Monteleone. I was able to splurge & spend a couple special nights in a very special place. Have visited the Carousel many times over the years & always wondered how it would be to stay here. Absolutely glad we did! 1st rate all the way. Wonderful service. A great room with a very nice bed (which can be hard to come by in the quarter). We seemed to not have any neighbors because we never heard anybody but ourselves ;-) A very large bathroom with big tub and shower and amazing water pressure especially for the quarter. Wonderful staff from top to bottom. So glad we stayed & can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear sd316,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Monteleone on your most recent trip to New Orleans. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monteleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.