We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in November” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Lafayette Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$79 Weekday Rates
Ranked #85 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay in November”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in mid-November. We had a lovely stay at a lovely hotel. I had booked a king suite away from the trolley line in the back of the hotel. We stayed in room 509, which had a large "living area" with a sofa, chair, coffee table, wet bar, mini-fridge and two lamps. There was also a flat screen mounted on the wall opposite the sofa. The bedroom area was separated from the living area by a partial wall which had the bedroom closet built into it. The king bed was opposite another wall-mounted flat screen TV. It was a spacious room and certainly covered all of our needs.

The staff was very helpful, especially Dwayne. He made suggestions, gave directions, and gave us coupons for local restaurants. He also volunteered to call cabs for us and suggested someone to pick us us from the airport.

The location was great and we alternated walking to the French Quarter (about a mile) and taking the trolley. When we checked out, we left our unused Day Pass for the trolley at the front desk and we were assured that the passes would be put to good use by the arriving Ophthalmologists, who were there for the annual convention.

I will definitely return to this hotel and if anyone is looking for a 'boutique' style hotel, I would suggest this one. If you are looking for a hotel chain with brand-new everything amenities such as an exercise room or a small 24 hour cafe, this is NOT the pace for you.

Room Tip: Get a king suite in the back on the 5th floor. It is quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    110
    41
    15
    16
See reviews for
40
120
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I am surprised to read other reviews that commend their good service and friendly, helpful staff. Those employees must not work there any longer. We were there for 4 nights and
the only person who was truly friendly and helpful was the security guard/parking attendant
who did not work for Lafayette but sat in their lobby. He/she gave us free tickets for the trolley
and went looking for the clerk when we checked out. Whom we never saw and still haven't received a copy of our bill via email as relayed through this third person.
From check in to check out, the front desk staff was short of despicable.
Usually hotels will offer experienced recommendations and assist with a reservation. Not this one.
They didn't know where to suggest for a jazz brunch and had to be prodded through
the process of making a reservation.
And don't expect free wi fi. It seems preposterous they would charge an additional $5 per day
but they do. They deserve a few points for their location.
The bed was comfortable although, the television was in a ridiculous place for viewing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice old hotel. Old hotels have small rooms, that was true of the Lafayette. But the drain in the tub backed up ever day for a week. The toilet backed up once. Other than that facilities were good.

The hotel staff was very nice and dedicated to good service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here the night of 11/9/13 because our orignal hotel we used for a business gathering was sold out for our last night in town. We ended up in a large suite that was very nice, great surprise for our $230 rate. Room needed some TLC--several things were falling apart: toilet did not flush, hole in the wall, broken desk chair, etc. The hotel itself was lovely, just needed some care. The street car line outside the hotel is loud for sure. Does not run all night but does run late and early. Bellperson nearly caused us to miss our flight--she insisted on calling a cab company and waved off several passing cabs because she wanted to steer our business to a specific company. Driver said he'd be to us in five minutes and 40 minutes later we flagged down a cab and left.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel was clean, comfortable and attractive. We stayed there for 3 nights, with Friday and Saturday prices being almost 3 times what the Sunday rate was. While that may be standard for hotels in tourist areas, I thought the higher rate was too much for the hotel since some details fell short. For instance: the bottom sheet on the king size bed didn't stay tucked in, the bathroom sink was stained, the door had to be pushed closed. Also, our room overlooked the street, which had a trolley running well into the night. Overall, it was above average...just a bit pricey.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

From the point of booking I spoke with "Ron". He have me tips and recommendations and really set me up for an amazing New Orleans experience from the get go. Service was top notch! I was very impressed with the hotel, the location and most of all the guest service. The staff went out of their way to take care of us, and this is what sets it all apart. Talk about Southern hospitality!!
I reserved a suite and I could not have found a better deal. Yes, it is an older hotel but it has the New Orleans charm I was looking for. I had a wet bar, fridge, two separate rooms with lots of space. Updates included flat screen tv's in both the bedroom and "living" room, not that we watched them at all but the room had both updated features and old school charm.
Thank you to Ron and the whole staff for making my visit memorable and top notch!! Highly recommend this hotel for price, location and guest service. Thanks again Ron for providing an amazing trip for us!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Calif.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

After reading other reviews I wonder if I paid a premium for The Lafayette because other places were booked because of two big events in New Orleans ($300/night Sat Sun). It was pretty nice but definitely not worth that price. The trolley doesn't run all night but it runs in front of the hotel and it makes a LOT of noise. It's a bit of a walk to the French Quarter but not too bad. If you are going to Frenchmen Street for the music it's on the opposite side of the French Quarter from the hotel and you might want to take a taxi home if it's late and you have had a few.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Address: 600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lafayette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.