We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs care” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Lafayette Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Lafayette Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Rates from $89.00
Ranked #73 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Huntersville, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Needs care”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pros:

Al the employees with whom we interacted were all very professional and helpful.
Beautiful, historic hotel.
Clean bedding and bathroom.

Cons:
Fridge did not work.
Carpet needs replacing.
Handle inside tub came loose, weird dripping from ceiling in tub.

We felt this was overpriced for the conditions of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    104
    39
    15
    14
See reviews for
38
113
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hi,
I stayed at this hotel from 7/3/13-7/5/13. It was the nastiest hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel was old and hasn't been maintained. The carpet had worn out areas; the furniture clearly had visible stains. The curtains had holes and stains that looked like blood (not exaggerating at all). I didn't want to touch anything. The hall way smelled like paint or paint thinner. The attached restaurant was closed for renovations (per the sign), but we found out that it was closed due to health violations. Oh and the walls are paper thin. I could hear the couple next door sneeze (not kidding). It was the worst hotel by far and I would NEVER tell anyone to stay there. Don’t let the pictures fool you. It’s nasty.

DON'T STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived to the hotel to find an older vintage hotel that was not like the Internet pictures. Everything appeared grungy and dirty. The Internet pictures did not show that the hotel was run down. The internet pictures showed an older hotel that seemed to renovated with a vintage decor. We reserved a suite with two king beds. We got a dirty pull out sofa and a king bed. The rooms curtains were torn with stains. The carpet was torn. The furniture was old and dirty. We heard the trolley cars all night going own St. Charles street. The hotel still had tube tv's in the rooms. At least the bathroom was half way decent. I did take my shower with flip flops on and I brushed my teeth with bottled water. I felt like I was on a high school trip to Panama City. My friends in another room complained to the general manager and they got a bottle of champagne....really. I can buy my own champagne. Needless to say this was my worst hotel experience in my adult life. I am 41 years old and I do travel a lot and stay in very nice hotels. Be ware the pictures and Internet ratings a deceptive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I loved this hotel! This is the first time I have written a review on tripadvisor and I am glad to do it!
I loved the location of the Lafayette, our room, the staff, the coffee joint around the corner. It sits adjacent to Lafayette Square, which is pretty, quiet and safe. I even loved the building itself! The price of our room was fair and a great value! I look forward to returning to NOLA and equally will be glad to stay right here on 600 St Charles Avenue!!
Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Unbelievable price of $62 a night seemed too good to be true for a last minute booking in June. Stayed a Tues and Wed. which still felt like weekend nightlife in New Orleans. However, after a 15 hr drive from VA, it was a charming, small hotel that seemed to be purely New Orleans. Easy access to the quarter by streetcar. rooms and bathrooms were elegantly decorated. We took a chance for our honeymoon and found no disappointments. Restaurant atmosphere was nice also. Drank at the bar but didn't eat. Nice staff all around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Lafayette Hotel June 8-13, 2013 for our anniversary. The staff was wonderful. Our room was clean, bed comfy, and great showers with great pressure!.I'll offer a little "secret". Request one of the x11 rooms, we had 211. They are between the elevator shafts and isolated from most of the buildings noise. Very quiet and peaceful. We walked everywhere, French Quarter, WWII museum, Civil War Museum, Natchez boat ride, etc. Took trolley rides since we could catch it right out front just for fun.
I was worried after reading some reviews here since this was our first stay. Yes the TV's are older models, but work just fine. And yes there is what some would call a bit of wear and some would call character to the place. However, take a chance and give them a try. I know we'll be back! :)

Room Tip: Request one of the x11 rooms, we had 211. They are between the elevator shafts and isolated from mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently my boyfriend and I drove to NOLA to spend a few days. On the road 2 days out we had not made a reservation yet so got online and tried to find a hotel in a good location without spending too much money. It was pretty tricky, most rooms were booked but then I stumbled across The Lafayette. The price was good, the photos looked cute so I booked it. When we arrived the staff was super! Dwayne at the counter was kind and accommodating (even upgraded our room) and TeRon was friendly and informative. The room was beautiful and clean - had all the NOLA charm you could want. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans
Address: 600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lafayette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.