We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Rates from $89.00
Ranked #73 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Unbelievable price of $62 a night seemed too good to be true for a last minute booking in June. Stayed a Tues and Wed. which still felt like weekend nightlife in New Orleans. However, after a 15 hr drive from VA, it was a charming, small hotel that seemed to be purely New Orleans. Easy access to the quarter by streetcar. rooms and bathrooms were elegantly decorated. We took a chance for our honeymoon and found no disappointments. Restaurant atmosphere was nice also. Drank at the bar but didn't eat. Nice staff all around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    104
    39
    15
    14
See reviews for
38
114
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Lafayette Hotel June 8-13, 2013 for our anniversary. The staff was wonderful. Our room was clean, bed comfy, and great showers with great pressure!.I'll offer a little "secret". Request one of the x11 rooms, we had 211. They are between the elevator shafts and isolated from most of the buildings noise. Very quiet and peaceful. We walked everywhere, French Quarter, WWII museum, Civil War Museum, Natchez boat ride, etc. Took trolley rides since we could catch it right out front just for fun.
I was worried after reading some reviews here since this was our first stay. Yes the TV's are older models, but work just fine. And yes there is what some would call a bit of wear and some would call character to the place. However, take a chance and give them a try. I know we'll be back! :)

Room Tip: Request one of the x11 rooms, we had 211. They are between the elevator shafts and isolated from mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently my boyfriend and I drove to NOLA to spend a few days. On the road 2 days out we had not made a reservation yet so got online and tried to find a hotel in a good location without spending too much money. It was pretty tricky, most rooms were booked but then I stumbled across The Lafayette. The price was good, the photos looked cute so I booked it. When we arrived the staff was super! Dwayne at the counter was kind and accommodating (even upgraded our room) and TeRon was friendly and informative. The room was beautiful and clean - had all the NOLA charm you could want. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and i decided to stay at the lafayette hotel for our anniversary the price was right and the reviews were good. We were not dissapointed at all! We stayed 4 days and traveled to the french quarter with ease with the streetcars being right outside also we walked from bourbon street to the hotel around 9pm and felt very safe. Plus theres a grocery store a couple blocks down also safe! The employees were fabulous!!! They offered champagne for our special day as well as had all the answers to our questions. Everytime we left or entered a friendly staff member would ask about our day or hold the door open. Checking in and out was easy as well i had the same guy and he was very sweet and caring! My boyfriend and i will be back and we will recommend this hotel to everyone we know!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a smaller and older building and I mean that in a good way. Upon arrival I was met by the management at my car, they accommodated my family in two connecting rooms, one with a separate living room and bar/kitchen area. The hotel staff was so friendly and always helpful. There is some wear being that this building is an old one but it is impeccably clean I found that the wear bothered me none because of the other positive factors of this wonderful little gem!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorssel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you don't want to stay in an expensive hotel in the hectic French Quarter, then The Lafayette is a very good choice. At walking distance from the French Quater and the streetcar (3 dollar for a full day pass) to the lovely Garden District stops in front of the hotel in St. Charles Av. The hotel is qiute old and needs some maintenance (paintwork) but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel offers only valet parking (not covered) to 31 dollar overnight, but there are cheaper public parkings close by. It is not sympathetic that the hotel charge you for wifi. They don't do breakfast, but there is a dinner restaurant and a bar on the groundfloor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans
Address: 600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lafayette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lafayette Hotel to your Saves list