We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lafayette Hotel to your Saves list
The Lafayette Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday Rates from $87
Ranked #88 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights to shop and see the sights. We loved our room! Very large and well appointed. Not your average hotel furniture, but reproduction pieces and gilded lamps. Our room appeared recently painted a calming blue color, and new velvet drapes were held back with beautiful tassel rope tie backs. We had a balcony room that looked out on St. Charles Ave. Worth the splurge!

The bathroom was full of NOLA charm too--marble tile floor and old brass fixtures. Even with older appointments, the bathroom was large and clean. The shower head beat any I've used in years! Brand new and perfect water pressure.

This hotel is perfectly located in a quiet, safe area with restaurants nearby. Easy walk to French Quarter, Aquarium, WWII Museum, and Riverwalk. Staff was friendly, and Carla Jane gave us the city lowdown at check-in. As a mom and daughter (age 12) traveling alone, I felt safe the entire trip.

We chose this hotel due to streetcar line running in front of hotel, but it is under renovation now. Also part of Canal Street line is down too. You can get there by bus, but we didn't bother with it.

Down side with this boutique style hotel--no vending or ice machines and no fridge/microwave in room. Didn't bother me too much as we had toted bottled water with us for the room. Good thing as city was under a boil water alert our first day there! TV was small, but we didn't spend much time in room anyway.

My only real disappointment was the bed linens. They don't use fitted bottom sheets, and bottom sheet worked loose every night. I'm not sure why some hotels do this, but I have never liked it! Also no comforter on bed--they had blanket wrapped in sheets like duvet. This also seems to be a trend at many hotels, but I like heavy covers. And our room was freezing! We had to turn a/c off 2 of 3 nights because it was so cold in room. I guess that's a good problem to have in New Orleans! We open our doors to get fresh air too--another advantage to balcony room.

Valet parking was a breeze--seemed expensive but is in line with other hotels in city. I heard there are other parking lots that are cheaper, but I felt safer having my car in a gated hotel lot across the street. There is no on street overnight parking in the area.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay again. Great price and location!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room for the view and ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    131
    50
    19
    18
See reviews for
45
148
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sub vet
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I chose the Lafeyette do it its location being so near the Shell Square complex. The restaraunt and bar were as nice as anyone could expect. The room was comfortable and suited my needs for the two nights I stayed there (Monday night and Tuesday). The furnishings could have been better, the table tops appeared to be damaged by years of abuse, alcohol spills, and general rough service. This did not bother me since I was interested in a clean bed and good shower, both of which they had. The bathroom needs updating but is very functional. The pictures I saw on the website are not representitive of the room in which I stayed. I was never bothered by noise either from the street or the room next door. It was disheartening that the door for the emergency exit to the stairs was half off its hinges (easier escape?). I would stay there again on business, but not for a romantic stay with my wife.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very large rooms for the price we paid! We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. The decor and furnishings were a perfect fit for Louisiana charm. The bed was dreamy! Lots of soft pillows and the comforter felt like a big pillow as well. We had the car valet parked when we first arrived, and we didn't have to move the car once. We walked to every location easily. Since it was an older property, my only complaint would be about the plumbing. The tub was a slow drainer and one of the sinks was a tad leaky. On the other hand, the electricity and air conditioning were perfect.

Room Tip: Don't go for the balony rooms, it's not much of a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel on a weekend trip and found it perfectly suited to my needs. I traveled with my mother, who is a senior, and one of her friends who met us and stayed for a night as well. I had a king suite which was extremely large and well appointed. The suites are set up as two rooms essentially with a split wall divider. The living-room portion had a pull out sofa which our friend slept on with no complaints, several comfortable chairs, a desk, TV etc. Nothing missing. There was a lovely bar entry area, bathroom and of course the bedroom portion. Additionally I had a meeting in the suite which fit 6 people comfortably in the living room portion. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the restaurant downstairs was lovely!

In response to some comments that this hotel is outdated, I would say that it has an old southern charm with lovely design features and antiques. It isn't supposed to look "modern." The Rooms had two TVs, not plasma but still working. The bathroom would be my only complaint, ours had some ceiling tiles missing and needed a bit of repair. The location was perfect for me, however, to get to the center of the French Quarter it is about .8 miles to walk which some people may not find to their liking. The hotel overlooks Lafayette Square which is quite and beautiful if you want to avoid the French Quarter noise.

Overall, the feel of old south and the large rooms won me over. I would stay here again and recommend it to people who want an authentic NOLA stay. If you like all modern elements, this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Whatever you do, I suggest that you NOT make an advance reservation for this hotel. BIG mistake.

I did that, and had to cancel because my reason for coming to New Orleans disappeared at the last minute. I called the night before my intended arrival and asked to cancel and avoid the cancellation fee. My first effort to do this failed because the toll-free number rang unanswered, so I had to look through the web site to find a local number to call. By the time I got through, I learned that they count from 4 PM, and they really could not care less if you miss that deadline even by just an hour or so. And interesting enough, the reservation rates on their web site were LOWER than the price I was charged for an advance reservation.

So, unless you are coming at a high volume time like Jazz Fest or the Sugar Bowl, save your money and bag your room here at the last minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My Fiancee and I were traveling home from NY and had the night to spend in N.O. We had stayed at a more expensive, name brand hotel on the outward bound trip and were not satisfied at all. I was browsing other hotels in the N,O. area for the return trip when I happened upon the Lafayette Hotel. I made the reservation online. Very simple. To say that our expectations were exceeded by our arrival and subsequent stay at the Lafayette would be a gross understatement.

The Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel itself was beautiful, and the suite was impeccable. While we may not travel much, I can with certainty state that when our travels take us through New Orleans again, a stay at the Lafayette Hotel will be at the top of the "to do" list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I will stay here again. Room clean and spacious, a few maintenance issues - but nothing to deter from the pleasure of my stay. Dwayne - night staff person, was very helpful. Great location. Close to convention center, some good restaurants, museums, both uptown and the French Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Address: 600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lafayette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.