We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of French Market Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added French Market Inn to your Saves list
French Market Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$79 Weekday Rates
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Newton, Mass
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed here over a long weekend to attend a wedding. The room was very nice, comfortable bed, and lots if ambience as the hotel is in an old building. The location is great, in the French Quarter but not noisy at all. The people at the front desk were very helpful in recommending a tour for the garden district. Close walk to beignets at Cafe du Monde a plus too.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    65
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
100
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sissy in houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was my first stay here at this hotel,but not my last I will contuine to stay at this location when in New Orleans.The hotel is in a excellent location for walking around town.Across the street from the River boat dinner cruises.The staff are so nice and friendly.Nancy the lady at the front desk was awesome.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 4 nights in a lovely room overlooking the courtyard. Front desk staff were so helpful - when we requested a room change away from the elevator, they bent over backwards to get us a nice quiet room. The bellhop provided us with tips and recommendations on interesting places and events. Best of all, the hotel is close to the french market, bourbon street, frenchman street, restaurants and bars, shops, etc - you name it, it's nearby. I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: room 210 is so very quiet. no neighbours. no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in to the hotel at midnight - and wanted to go have a cocktail - the staff (very friendly and courteous) directed us to Bourbon Street (as "Bourbon Street never shuts down") We had a great room with a balcony...which was helpful because in New Orleans people can still smoke in bars, so our clothes aired out on the balcony each night!

Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious. There weren't a lot of extras, but the room was fine and the hotel was quite charming. We didn't go to New Orleans to hang out in our room.

We liked that it was walking distance to the heard of the French Quarter, but far enough away from the madness.

One slight downside was the train whistle at 8am each morning - we had rather late nights so did not plan to be up early. On the plus side, the black out curtains were quite effective!

Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was nice, clean, had a wonderful historic feel. Check in was pleasant and easy. I did request a room with a balcony that wasn't available at check in. Rates were a little on the higher side with no amenities offered. The secure parking was nice. The only downside I had to the stay was the noise from the other rooms, the doors and walls must be very thin. It was very nice to be in walking distance to everything, however the wait time for the smallest elevator I have ever seen was annoying.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the French Market Inn in New Orleans. What an amazing change (and I usually don't like change when I find a cool hotel) that has been made by the Valentino group! Renovations are a success and the staff is above and beyond (especially Jenna at the front desk). One thing people need to understand when staying at these cool boutique hotels in the quarter...they are old buildings, the rooms are small but well worth every penny. Our room had a king bed and that did bode for a tight room but it faced Decatur Street and we just loved everything about the room. I can't recommend this place enough without realizing that I've just given away one of our favorite places to stay in the quarter.

Room Tip: If it is just the two of you and you don't mind a room without windows, the interior rooms are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is just a few blocks from Jackson Square and pretty much everything in the Quarter is within walking distance. Our rooms did not have windows, so be aware that some may not. One room was a little on the smaller side but still plenty of space and the other was nice and big. The hotel has a few different buildings, but all together so you never know what size room you will get. Check in was polite and quick. Parking is a little expensive at $31 but that is pretty average for the Quarter and there is a lot across the street for a few dollars cheaper. Got a deal at $75 dollars a night and it was well worth it. Courtyard is nice but nothing too special. Small swimming pool if you want that. Would recommend for a lower priced but comfortable and clean hotel. Also had no problem with noise.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a window if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Market Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Market Inn

Address: 501 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — French Market Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your French Market Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Market Hotel New Orleans
Historic French Market Hotel
Hotel Historic French Market
Historic French Market Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Market Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.