We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Market Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added French Market Inn to your Saves list
French Market Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$79 Weekday Rates
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is very clean, the service is great and it is decorated very nicely. The pool/courtyard area is also nice & inviting. Even though I didn't get a chance to go in it, the pool is small & most of the time was occupied. The rooms are a bit small but ok, because most of the time I spent outside. The building is a little odd & the room I had, took me through a little maze. One thing I didn't like, some of the employees are loud in the morning. Maybe it's me being grumpy in the AM but I don't like being woken up by loud conversations in the hallway. I love the location. It's right in the center of everything, no need for cabs. Right across the street from the Mississippi river.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    68
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
104
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We rented this hotel and booked a room with a balcony and we loved everything about it. Perfect location, beautiful rooms and friendly staff. We will stay there every time we go to New Orleans now! We took our two young sons (3 and 9 months) and it was walking distance to the Aquarium so it was very convenient for us. Also highly recommend the Gumbo Pot right across the street it was fantastic.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I'm fairly new to Tripadvisor and have never been big on reviews and ratings. This time I used this app and really dug in and read everything. Finding this hotel was like magic. Having down a lot of time staying and walking the French Quarter I know what I've always wanted in a hotel but never received. The French Market Inn delivered the experience I've been seeking for years. Old world style, simple but modern rooms with not a single thing out of place. As perfection goes this place nailed it. I was sad I only stayed the night but am looking forward to staying several nights next visit along with trying out a suite package. Thank you for making your mark on me.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagle, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This reservation was made about 3 weeks before the visit for 2 rooms close to each other. We were travelling with grandkids and wanted to me close. When we arrived, the rooms were in completely different buildings. The reservation office does not know the hotel or room maps. I called the hotel direct just so this would not happen. The desk clerk tried to find other rooms, but the only ones available were completely at different ends of the hall. I even said I would change my bed request to more beds, etc. So, if you are in a group that wants to be together, forget this hotel. When I called the hotel manager a few days later to complain, it was just ....we are a boutique hotel and do not have that many options....so sorry we disappointed you. The reservation person acted like it was no big deal to get rooms next to each other. If I had been told anything else, I would have picked another hotel..............there are plenty in NO. Also, if the weather is cold/rainy, you have to walk through a courtyard to get to most of the rooms. And there is no restaurant/breakfast, so you have to walk to get something to eat. There is valet parking, but there is a Parking Lot directly across the street that would have been more convenient........................NOT a good experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a window. Don't stay here if needing rooms close to someone e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcharlesnola, Owner at French Market Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Our hotel makes every effort to accommodate guest requests for specific room locations, but that is never guaranteed. Room bedding types and rates are guaranteed. Typical of many historic hotels in the French Quarter, large lush brick courtyards are central to the ambiance of the hotel, one of the primary reasons guests love our facilities. Restaurants are everywhere in the immediate area, too many to count, just steps from the hotel front door, so we are puzzled about that aspect of this review. And, room types are clearly described, and confirmed, in the booking process. Many guests prefer the windowless room category for the great value offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here last year when we visited and we really liked it despite the construction/remodeling going on. So this year we decided to stay here again. They had finished all the work and it was beautiful. We loved our stay even more than last time. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly. The rooms are in the small side but in the French quarter you don't really spend much time in it! It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable.
You can't beat the location. It's far enough from bourbon to be quiet but still close to everything you want to see. We will def stay here again on future trips and recommend it to friends planning a Nola trip.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Recently remodeled, very quaint and perfect location to Jackson Sq, cafe du monde, and french quarter. Rooms were clean and I actually liked having inside room w no window bc didn't want to hear noise etc. Staff was very helpful on recs and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you're looking for a chain hotel and lush rooms - this is not the place for you! :) This hotel is super charming and ALL New Orleans. The staff is friendly and accommodating but not over the top. It almost feels like you're staying at someone's house. The best part of this hotel is the location, you walk out your door and you're right on Decatur - you go to the left and you have the French Market and the riverboat and Cafe Du Monde, you go to the right and you have shopping like H & M and Peaches record store, three blocks away and you're on Bourbon St. I chose this hotel base off of Trip Advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. The room was small but just what we needed, a nice king-size bed and a good size bathroom. I would advise taking a room with a window to let in daylight, but just don't expect a view out of it - ours was up so high all you could see was the rooftop. If you're not a sound sleeper this might not be the best choice for you either - lots of old house-type noises, you can hear the water running when people shower - it's not that bad though. We were happy with our 4 night stay and would go back for sure!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Market Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Market Inn

Address: 501 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — French Market Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your French Market Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Market Hotel New Orleans
Historic French Market Hotel
Hotel Historic French Market
Historic French Market Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Market Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.