We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Market Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added French Market Inn to your Saves list
French Market Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   509 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$79 Weekday Rates
Ranked #12 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Buda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love This Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in early July 2014 and it was an instant favorite of ours. Its in a great location and has incredible charm and character. We stayed in a "petite" room that had a window overlooking the courtyard. Our room was one of the recently renovated ones so it was very, very nice. The staff we encountered were all very nice and helpful. We felt like royalty.

Pros: People, Product and Price. You can't go wrong here as long as you get one of the renovated rooms. Its also very close to some tasty restuarants, shopping, the acquarium, etc.

Cons: Your overall experience will probably depend on which room you get. Also, its New Orleans and so the parkin situation is not great. I think they hotel charges $35/night and they warned us that it would take upwards of an hour to get our car from the valet due to the event status of our stay.

Room Tip: The petite rooms are very small. Its a challenge to fit two people and luggage into the room. If nat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    75
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
120
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

after a bad experience with bad beds in another hotel, we moved a block to french market inn on decatur street - a great experience with big, comfy beds...and better service...and better accommodations all around...oh, and better prices. i highly recommend this hotel, location, service and price...

Room Tip: some rooms have a terrace view of the river and overlooking the street. surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was immediately greeted and taken care of. The room was nice and cool upon arrival which was a great retreat from the heat. I gave three stars for cleanliness; the bathroom floor had hair on it upon arrival and I woke up with hair on my body from the bed (not my hair). There was also an issue with the wi-fi. On desktop the wi-fi worked great, on mobile, it only worked in the lobby, not in the room. The cell signal was also bad. Business calls and dealings over wi-fi are essential and I was pretty disappointed about this. The receptionist said that it should work fine and when I tried to explain that it didn't, she took out her phone (in the lobby where it works) to show me it was working.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly Area
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Needed one night and found the French Market inn at a very reasonable price. Booked it through a third party, but later found it would have been cheaper to book it direct, have to remember to always check the website first. Room was the size you expect for a major city, small, but very clean, well appointed, and comfortable. As it is a series of buildings attached together, it is an interesting journey to get to your room. Had to go up to the third floor, then out to an outside balcony and then in another door to get to the room. Surprise, my room over looking the courtyard was over looking not much, no window in the room. The location in the French Quarter puts you in the middle of everything. Issues were parking. Website mentioned it but no directions on how to do it. I called and the person who answered connected me to a phone that rang without anyone answering it. The answer is that you find parking by yourself, which I did. Or you pull up and the bellman arranges for a valet to come and get it. That service is about $32.00 plus tips. When I arrived I was told that the front desk person had stepped out and would be back shortly. Really, only one person running the place does not inspire confidence in my choice of hotels. So I gave it a very good because communication with the by phone and in person was rough. All that taken together, I would stay there again and look forward to it. There is a small pool in the courtyard, and know that there are no food facilities at the Inn. However, you only need to go out the front door and there are plenty within a few steps.

Room Tip: If a window matters, ask if your room will have one, also, if walking is an issue be sure to ask how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I have long enjoyed all the Valentino hotels in the Quarter, and having toured this gem in 2011, as renovations began, it was pure pleasure to enjoy the lovely results overseen by manager Tim and his excellent staff. The balcony room overlooking the Mississippi was perfect, as I was in New Orleans to revisit special places and scatter my husband's ashes in the city he loved. Exceptionally clean and comfortable room and bed, and I relaxed in the historic courtyard with resident greeter, cat Patrick. In this most walkable of cities, the central location allows for rambles in the Quarter, down Frenchman Street, and uptown to the streetcar routes. So many nearby restaurants offer endless possibilities for a taste of New Orleans. It was a quick walk to Louis Armstrong Park for the Cajun & Zydeco festival, and I look forward to returning many times for more music with family and friends.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlook Decatur Street, and I enjoyed the nightlife sounds from the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was my second stay at the French Market Inn, the previous being about 20 years ago. I am so glad that I chose this hotel again. You cannot beat the price and location. It is the most convenient for shopping the French Quarter or hanging out in Jackson Square. The hotel is charming and the staff is super friendly. The rooms are a bit small, so it takes some planning and creativity to manage your luggage and to have two people share the bathroom. I was glad that our room had a window to the courtyard, otherwise it might feel a bit claustrophobic. The only negative about our room was the A/C unit blew directly on the bed. I understand there isn't much choice in where to place the unit with the small rooms, but if the A/C will blow directly on the bed (and there is no getting away from it) then a thicker blanket would be nice. The blanket provided is very thin. I found the room quiet, despite other reviews to the contrary. This being said, I would definitely stay here again--we had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed, the staff is so helpful. Location to everything & not over priced. Would highly recommend to anyone. When back in New Orleans this will be the place I stay, just can't say enough great things about our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to French Market Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Market Inn

Address: 509 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — French Market Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your French Market Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Market Hotel New Orleans
Historic French Market Hotel
Hotel Historic French Market
Historic French Market Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Market Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.